Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
293 Reviews
1234.907855
Previous | 1 2 3...28 |
Write A Review
March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This forum was like a beacon of light in my dark world since the death of my son last August 2013. I clung to the wonderful people on this site and consider them to be life-savers to the lost, broken folks who find their way to this site. The moderators quickly respond and embrace all participants, greeting them warmly and assuring them that they are always there to help. Participants feel comfortable and confident in sharing their innermost fears, knowing there is no judgement here. It is the best feelings. Since the I joined the forum, I have been able to respond and offer words of encouragement to others who have experienced the horrific experience of losing a loved one to suicide. I have found it very healing to participate and provide support and encouragement to others. I have looked at multiple websites but I always come back to this one. It feels like one big hug each time I sign in and read and respond to others who are hurting and need to know someone cares. I cannot thank this site enough for giving me peace and restoring my faith in humanity. The people who come to this site are simply amazing and they continue to support me and always make me feel that I just may be able to survive this extremely painful event in my life. I am forever grateful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 25, 2013

more

December 25, 2013

I found the alliance of hope thourough a friend, after my son just 8 weeks today took his own life. I found the forum to be of great help. Knowing there are others who have similar experience is of the greatest help

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 24, 2013

more

December 24, 2013

I lost my husband this year without any warning. He did not have any physical illness or mental illness. Everything was normal. I came home from work and found him. I tried so hard to save him, but after 3 days of sleepless false hopes...he was gone. My son found thenote the next day saying his life had been good and this was rational because he said the next part of his life might bring disabling illness. He walked 3 miles a day and drove into new Y ork at night. My daughter lost her job, her apartment and had 2 breakdowns.This forum was the only thing that saved me.3therapists did not help me as much as this did.This was my safe place. I could cry and they understood, ask questions that obligation in order

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Campaign for more recognition for the survivors, because people only focus on the illness that leads to the loss of life and are not aware of the EXCRUTIATING pain the ones left behind have to deal with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

My boyfriend took his life November 3, 2013. I was alone that first night, unable to sleep, when I came across the Alliance for Hope website. I began posting that night. This is such a tragic and traumatic experience. The support that I receive and the connection to other survivors and moderators has been a lifeline for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Of all of the websites that I have found regarding suicide, this one has, by far, the most active forum. Find ways to reach even more survivors so that they can benefit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

I searched the internet for a forum that would address what I was going through and the selection was very small. The others had very little activity and I needed to talk to someone, right then. This forum has been active and very responsive to questions I've had. Suicide is a complicated situation, more so than a death from natural causes, in my opinion. It drags your heart and soul down so far that you think you will never get back up. The loss of a parent is a loss of part of you too. They have been with you all your life, now they are gone. It's so important to have forums like this for people sharing the same grief can talk. They are the only ones that really understand the magnitude of what you are going through. I'm still struggling, but knowing there is a place and people to reach out to is so important. Thank you Ronnie and all the forum moderators for providing this safe place for us all. Trace

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any changes that need to be made.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

I found this forum less than a month after the suicide of my child. Until that point, I felt so lost, as if no one understood what I was (and still am) going through. Through sharing with others I have learned that I'm not alone, I'm not lost...I am just on a journey to get through to the other side of this horrible tragedy. In this place, my child is not stigmatized, we are not judged, we are simply helped along the way to our new life without our loved one.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

I found this website about two months after I lost my husband to suicide. It has been invaluable to me. The moderators of the forum are amazing and it seems like someone always responds to posts, which is so helpful. This forum has shown me that I am not alone and I turn to it at various times throughout the week to get me through. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes recommended

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was lost and reeling from the death of my 27 year old brother this past summer. I was desperately searching for help, community, and someone to pull me up from where I was. I didn't find one person, I found this forum full of love, support, understanding and compassion. On my worst days the site saves me, and on my best helps me help others. I honestly don't know where I'd be without this amazing place and space full of so much love, grief, strength and unconditional support. It can be so hard for people to discuss suicide, and support for survivors is invaluable to our ability to recover.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd love to help upgrade the site design, but I find it to be just as much as it needs to be for what we're all going through.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

I found this forum a few weeks after my beloved son took his life. I can honestly say that this is the only place where I have met people who truly understand the devastating catastrophe of losing a loved one to suicide. Participating in this forum. and the contact with the caring and understanding members, has truly kept me going through the aftermath of this devastating tragedy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

I found this forum 5 weeks after my son ended his life on July 27 and it is the best support system anyone could hope for. It is truly a lifeline for me as I navigate this unwanted journey, and people on the forum are like guideposts who light the way and offer me hope that I will survive this pain. I don't know what I would do without it: it's ALWAYS there for me, even during the very darkest times, and I am very appreciative for that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...28 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers