Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
322 Reviews
1234.88825
Previous | 1 2 3...31 |
Write A Review
September 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 28, 2011

My husband took his life less than 2 weeks ago. The alliance of hope has been a Godsend to me. To share what you are going through with others going through the same horrendous experience lets you kno... more

September 29, 2014

I lost my husband just over 3 years ago. I found the alliance of hope about a week or so following my loss. Loss to suicide is devastating. I didn't know where to turn. I couldn't find a support group in my area and desperately needed to talk with those that could relate.
Having a support
group that are available 24/7 was exactly what I needed. I can come here day or night and know that someone is listening and reaching out.
I was helped and comforted by so many people. They gave me the strength to keep on keeping on. Pulled me up when I could barely stand.
I now serve as a volunteer on the forum in the hopes I can give back a little of what I have, and continue to receive. Thanks to the Alliance I have learned we CAN and DO go beyond just surviving:)
June 28, 2011

My husband took his life less than 2 weeks ago. The alliance of hope has been a Godsend to me. To share what you are going through with others going through the same horrendous experience lets you know you are not alone. Within a couple of hours of my initial post I had responses of encouragement and knew I had found an invaluable support system. My world is torn apart right now, visiting this sight helps me put one foot in front of the other...baby steps.Through the alliance I have found someone going through a very similar situation to mine and we e-mail each other day. I feel I am free to say anything, uncensored to her as she "gets it" We are unfortunately, kindred spirits, we share our pain, talk about our kids, encourage when we can. The Alliance of hope is my life line.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

canada

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

After the loss of husband to suicide I was frantically trying to find more information and support on the internet, it was then when I came across the Alliance of Hope and I'm so glad I did. It helps to share the excruciating pain and confusion with other survivors who have been through this before. It is a truly healing place, especially for those who may not have many support systems nearby or are not ready yet to access them.
September 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 23, 2011

This site has helped me to feel like there are others out there who have been through this horrific experience and understand what I have gone thought. It has helped me to know that others have felt t... more

September 27, 2014

I found the forum a few weeks after the death of my partner. Words can not express the pain and sorrow that I felt. To read about others losses and what they felt was a great comfort in the sense that I was feeling similar emotions. A survivor can feel many things and sometimes all at once. Guilt seems to be an emotion common to most and one of the most difficult. Through the forum, I understood that it was a part of the journey, not particular to me. This freed me to let go of it and open the path to healing. Another important aspect of the forum is reading how others heal. The Alliance has a healing compassionate space where we all truly can understand the depths of each others pain and encourage each other to heal. I have been coming to the forum for three years and engage weekly on the forum. I volunteer my time because of how much other volunteers helped me through the very difficult beginning days and weeks. Only survivors really know and understand the many issues associated with losing someone they love by suicide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2011

This site has helped me to feel like there are others out there who have been through this horrific experience and understand what I have gone thought. It has helped me to know that others have felt the same things that I have felt.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping me to understand the stages of grief.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know what to do to improve.

September 27, 2014

more

September 27, 2014

I lost my son to suicide about 5 months ago. I found out about the Alliance of Hope after attending a workshop help by the founder, Ronnie Walker. While I'm also seeing a therapist, this forum, the connections, the information has helped me more than anything else. It's a safe, loving place for those of us grieving such a complicated loss. We all wish there would be no need for such a thing but it's become an invaluable part of my day-to-day life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 27, 2014

more

September 27, 2014

I lost my sister to suicide June 23 2014 I was needing to be able to grieve without feeling judged by my family and have found that her the forum has been very helpful.This forum needs to be funded to keep helping more people.There are new people on here everyday looking to talk.People know what I'm going through.
September 27, 2014

more

September 27, 2014

I lost my wife to suicide 12 weeks ago. I can honestly say I probably wouldn't be here writing this review if this website and forum was not here. God bless the people who keep this going- it is a tremendous help to people who need it.
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I came upon this forum 7 weeks after losing my son to suicide. Here I found others who not only cared about what I was experiencing, but understood.

At this point, it's been almost 4 years since losing my son. I continue to visit the forum nearly everyday. The forum community has stood by
me and supported me while I walked my healing journey, welcoming joy and purpose into my life again.

Life is once again very good for me, and I credit this forum, the powerful community that participates with that healing.

Namaste,
Sandy
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is an organization of compassionate people who have all lost loved ones to suicide. The support I received there after losing my husband was the most valuable part of my healing journey. I continue to volunteer my time because so many people have said that the Alliance of Hope forum is their "lifeline" during the most difficult time of their life. Three years after my loss, and I still receive encouragement to continue healing as well.
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

not what I expected, a waste of time. took too long for responses then everyone says the same things like they are programed to only say certain things
September 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I lost my partner to suicide on Dec 14, 2012. I live in South Africa and THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE I could find to turn to. I thank the UNIVERSE every single day for this forum. The people here are LOVING. I had friends etc but it was here that I found and find my solace and a place where everybody UNDERSTANDS AND EMPATHISES.

I am crying as I write this because this Forum truly saved me from suicide. Even today 21 months later, I still go there almost everyday. Sometimes I share and sometimes I just be there BUT EVERYTIME I LEARN AND HEAL AND GROW.

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. TO THE FOUNDERS AND FORUM MEMBERS AND EVERY ONE OF US THERE... YOU PROVE THAT ANGELS DO EXIST.
Previous | 1 2 3...31 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers