Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I serve as development director for an ACAM member organization. As a member organization, we benefit from organizational assessments and consulting, opportunities to apply for grants to build our internal capacity and human service programs, collaborative projects to enhance our services, training and networking sessions, advocacy and more. ACAM is a place for us to learn and share, to give support and receive it. It is a place for us to be part of something bigger than our own ministry, and thereby, benefit our own ministry while also achieving results for the larger community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

This organization provides organization, evaluation, development, program development and financial grants to it's members who are providers of homeless prevention services. ACAM board members from the member organizations provide a reliable gauge for effective board policy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand membership when financially and operationally feasible

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

One will look long to find as effective a collaboration as ACAM. Its talented, enthusiastic and skilled staff, along with the Board of Directors and participating agencies, make this organization superior. I have spent many yeas involved with the nonprofit sector in other large cities, and ACAM provides timely and welcomed resources to agencies, who in turn, serve the impoverished.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

The non-profit I work for received a grant from ACAM to implement a new program. In addition to the financial support we received, the grant came with the opportunity to network, receive training, and consulting from this fine organization. This training has been invaluable to our organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

As the Executive Director of a small non-profit we are constantly challenged with carrying out the mission more effectively. Project LIFT was the recipient of an ACAM PACE Grant this year. As a participating grantee we received a comprehensive pre-assessment at the start which pinpointed our organizational strengths and specific needs to be addressed. As we viewed our organization through the lens of this remarkable ACAM PACE Assessment, we saw a roadmap that provided us with a new framework for making organizational decisions which is absolutely critical when seeking to build capacity or make adjustments to organizational structure for sustainability. The networking and ongoing training opportunities provided by ACAM staff and consultants have been invaluable and instrumental in encouraging shared resources and collaboration amongst nonprofit organizations. We are most excited that the post-assessment at the end of the grant period will find us on track to becoming a more effective and efficient organization.
ACAM has assisted Project LIFT improve our housing counseling infrastructure strengthening our ability to serve clients. Regardless the size of the non-profit, ACAM understands that we are all solving ginormous problems and filling gaps that otherwise would remain void and they not only hold up our backs but provide the strong backbone so that we can continue our work which is critical to building vibrant communities. Hats off to ACAM!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase their capacity to serve even more non-profits because they are amazing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

ACAM has been a great asset to our nonprofit organization. Their staff is amazing and goes beyond to be of assistance. The Executive Director is excellent. They take a great interest in the ACAM's and recognize our needs in providing for those in need. I am very glad that they exist and have a great interest in the communities in helping the nonprofits to keep people in their homes, providing food, educational services and other areas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

I am a CEO for a small nonprofit that has been a member of ACAM for the past 5 years. ACAM has been an invaluable resource for our organization. They have literally come along side of us, and have provided exceptional capacity building assistance, resource development opportunities, technical assistance as well as networking events and opportunities. The staff are genuinely supportive and go above and beyond to assist members to be successful in providing excellent service to our clients. I personally have benefited and grown professionally from the networking opportunities with other member agencies, opportunities that would not have been available, without ACAM. I truly commend them for the service that they provide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this time.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

As President& CEO of a large nonprofit, I am thrilled to highly rate Alluance of Community Assistance Ministries, Inc. The support and depth and breadth of this organization is amazing. What I personally have found importance s its collaborative nature ensuring that best practices and best resources are developed and engaged.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I am an accounting professional who works with many small nonprofit organizations. ACAM is one of the best run organizations that I have seen. Their attention to detail begins in the office and spreads out to the people and ministries that they serve. Good financial controls and best practices are critical for an organization's success and ACAM and their board have done a wonderful job. Donors and other funders should feel confident that their money will be spent efficiently and effectively.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I am a current board member and former Executive that ran a member agency for eight years. The resources and relationships made available to member agencies to build strong infrastructure, best practices, and collaborative partnerships is an invaluable gift to the community and the families that the member agencies serve. ACAM's staff leadership draw from the best non-profit leaders in the community to create a cohesive response to the needs for leadership development, effective and efficient use of human and technological resources, and building a more responsive and connected response to ongoing community need and community-wide disasters such as hurricanes and floods. I am now with an agency that is different in mission and objectives and I could have, if desired, walked away when I moved on. Because of the difference ACAM makes throughout the Houston-Galveston area I determined to make a commitment to continue serving on the Board of ACAM and lending my support to their mission and purpose.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble food boxes for 50 low-income families with children, help seniors with home repair, volunteer at one of our member thrift shops. assist with the annual school supply drive.