Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

As President& CEO of a large nonprofit, I am thrilled to highly rate Alluance of Community Assistance Ministries, Inc. The support and depth and breadth of this organization is amazing. What I personally have found importance s its collaborative nature ensuring that best practices and best resources are developed and engaged.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I am an accounting professional who works with many small nonprofit organizations. ACAM is one of the best run organizations that I have seen. Their attention to detail begins in the office and spreads out to the people and ministries that they serve. Good financial controls and best practices are critical for an organization's success and ACAM and their board have done a wonderful job. Donors and other funders should feel confident that their money will be spent efficiently and effectively.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I am a current board member and former Executive that ran a member agency for eight years. The resources and relationships made available to member agencies to build strong infrastructure, best practices, and collaborative partnerships is an invaluable gift to the community and the families that the member agencies serve. ACAM's staff leadership draw from the best non-profit leaders in the community to create a cohesive response to the needs for leadership development, effective and efficient use of human and technological resources, and building a more responsive and connected response to ongoing community need and community-wide disasters such as hurricanes and floods. I am now with an agency that is different in mission and objectives and I could have, if desired, walked away when I moved on. Because of the difference ACAM makes throughout the Houston-Galveston area I determined to make a commitment to continue serving on the Board of ACAM and lending my support to their mission and purpose.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

As I look back, I am amazed at how our agency has evolved due to the nuturing and support provided by ACAM over the past several years - tech nology, personnel, an expanded and active fund-raising Board. ACAM recognizes that outreach ministries do, indeed, too often focus so much activity and resource on "outreach" that they neglect to develop their infrastructure. By providing trainings, meetings where members can discuss best (and not so best) practives with their peers, a variety of resources and constructive evaluations, ACAM helps each of its member agencies to grow to their full potential and beyond.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

ACAM has been instrumental in the growth and development of services within the faith-based community that is providing basic needs to the Greater Houston area. Their deliberate approach to capacity building has not only impacted staff leadership within their non-profit membership, but has strengthened board and community involvement as well. I have been a part of this organization as an Executive Director of one of its members, since its inception under the ZCAM project over 7 years ago. I have seen member organizations expand infrastructure, develop programs, create community collaborations, increase revenue, improve efficiency and effectiveness, and increaes staff knowlwedge - all leading to an overall improve of programs and services. ACAM also evaluates their member's progress, and measures impact through its detailed evaluation process which in turn provide a road map for other funders, and future duplication of the program's model in other communities. I am now assisting by leading internal committees and am a member of the Board of Director's representing the Executive Director membership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

ACAM is a much needed organization. It helps all peoples,churches,and provides opportunity for communication,consultation among funders and resource professionals. ACAM is a SAINT to many people and very much appreciated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I could write about ACAM from many perspectives, but one that is perhaps most profound to me personally is ACAM in its role as an agent for collaboration. Collaboration is a term that is often used in the nonprofit world, but rarely is the concept as fully fleshed out as it is with ACAM and its member community assistance ministries. The kind of collaboration that ACAM inspires and enacts is solves real problems and produces tangible results. It is not collaboration "in name only." Those members that choose to participate (all collaborative projects are voluntary for members) are at the table shaping the project and contributing to its success. ACAM's role as a convener of like-minded organizations is critical because though many organizations have wonderful intentions of working together to develop much-needed programs and enhance organizational efficiencies, many times those intentions are left unfulfilled because it takes significant time, tangible resources and careful coordination to make collaborations successful. Collaborative projects such as providing free mental health services one day a week at various member locations, boosting back-to-school relief for children in need, preventing homelessness for families effected by the economic downturn and others are a tribute to ACAM, its members and the other community partners ACAM has engaged. The results not only help those in the community change their lives for the better, but they also equip excellent organizations to be ready for future community needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

ACAM has taken on an essential but under-appreciatd task of being an intermediary between organizations that have taken on the task of being part of the social safety net for the Houston-Galveston area and a very sympathetic and supportive public that nevertheless does not fully appreciate how much more effective a charitable organization can be when it is financially strong, competently led and networked with other like-minded members. ACAM advocates for these organizations, facilitates their communication, raises capacity-building funds for them and, to use an overused but nontheless true cliche, has the backs of Houston area community assistance ministries. I am priviledged and proud to be part of its story.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

ACAM’s funding allows EFBHNM to take it to the next level. We are better equipped to serve our clients with state of the art computers and a database which allows for a highly efficient screening process and more accurate reporting. The staff benefits tremendously through the workshops and networking made possible by ACAM, while the support I receive, from the ACAM staff and other ED’s, helps me grow professionally. Just knowing I can pick up the phone and call my colleagues for support makes it all worthwhile.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Two years ago, I was appointed Executive Director of Interfaith Caring Ministries (ICM). As an employee of the agency for over a decade, I have watched as my agency became a member of ZCAM (the pilot phase of ACAM), and then watched as ZCAM matured into ACAM, now an independent 501(c)(3). Now, as Executive Director, I no longer watch - I am an active participant in the ACAM collective.

Over the last 2 years, I have realized so much about what challenges an Executive Director. I learned that I can’t make everyone happy, that I can’t get all of my work done in 40 hours a week and that meeting agency budget goals can be difficult in an unstable economy. But increasingly what I’ve come to realize are all the things that I CAN do - much of it due to the incredible support I have received through ACAM.

I can admit I don’t know how to deal with a personnel issue, but more importantly I can find others that have dealt with the same issue and get some great suggestions. Access to the trainings provided by ACAM has helped both me and my staff learn ways to keep lines of communication open.

I can share that our sales are down at the resale shop, but more importantly I can call on my peers to find creative ways to significantly increase the revenue that is vital to sustaining our programming. The ACAM Thrift Store Institute has helped my staff immeasurably with training on pricing, merchandizing, marketing and everything in between.

ICM has received almost $400,000 from ACAM for capacity building projects, professional development and needed services, but just as important as the grant funds is the technical assistance and guidance that allows my agency to leverage the funds and increase their impact in the community. In addition, my agency was awarded funding through the collaborative initiatives program that we were only able to access as part of the collective.

We can't anticipate the next food shortage, hurricane or recession. That's not our job. What we can do is work together through ACAM to create a strong infrastructure whose job it is to respond to crises as they happen.

One of the most valuable and rewarding experiences has been participating in the Executive Director Networking Group. Every month I look forward to sitting around that table of 12 and learning to be a better leader. Maybe it comes from hours and hours of committee meetings or the knowledge that many of them are just a phone call away. Whatever it is, I am a stronger, more confident leader and Interfaith Caring Ministries is a stronger agency because of our affiliation with ACAM.


More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble food boxes for 50 low-income families with children, help seniors with home repair, volunteer at one of our member thrift shops. assist with the annual school supply drive.