Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

As the Executive Director of a small non-profit we are constantly challenged with carrying out the mission more effectively. Project LIFT was the recipient of an ACAM PACE Grant this year. As a participating grantee we received a comprehensive pre-assessment at the start which pinpointed our organizational strengths and specific needs to be addressed. As we viewed our organization through the lens of this remarkable ACAM PACE Assessment, we saw a roadmap that provided us with a new framework for making organizational decisions which is absolutely critical when seeking to build capacity or make adjustments to organizational structure for sustainability. The networking and ongoing training opportunities provided by ACAM staff and consultants have been invaluable and instrumental in encouraging shared resources and collaboration amongst nonprofit organizations. We are most excited that the post-assessment at the end of the grant period will find us on track to becoming a more effective and efficient organization.
ACAM has assisted Project LIFT improve our housing counseling infrastructure strengthening our ability to serve clients. Regardless the size of the non-profit, ACAM understands that we are all solving ginormous problems and filling gaps that otherwise would remain void and they not only hold up our backs but provide the strong backbone so that we can continue our work which is critical to building vibrant communities. Hats off to ACAM!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase their capacity to serve even more non-profits because they are amazing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

ACAM has been a great asset to our nonprofit organization. Their staff is amazing and goes beyond to be of assistance. The Executive Director is excellent. They take a great interest in the ACAM's and recognize our needs in providing for those in need. I am very glad that they exist and have a great interest in the communities in helping the nonprofits to keep people in their homes, providing food, educational services and other areas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

I am a CEO for a small nonprofit that has been a member of ACAM for the past 5 years. ACAM has been an invaluable resource for our organization. They have literally come along side of us, and have provided exceptional capacity building assistance, resource development opportunities, technical assistance as well as networking events and opportunities. The staff are genuinely supportive and go above and beyond to assist members to be successful in providing excellent service to our clients. I personally have benefited and grown professionally from the networking opportunities with other member agencies, opportunities that would not have been available, without ACAM. I truly commend them for the service that they provide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this time.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

As President& CEO of a large nonprofit, I am thrilled to highly rate Alluance of Community Assistance Ministries, Inc. The support and depth and breadth of this organization is amazing. What I personally have found importance s its collaborative nature ensuring that best practices and best resources are developed and engaged.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I am an accounting professional who works with many small nonprofit organizations. ACAM is one of the best run organizations that I have seen. Their attention to detail begins in the office and spreads out to the people and ministries that they serve. Good financial controls and best practices are critical for an organization's success and ACAM and their board have done a wonderful job. Donors and other funders should feel confident that their money will be spent efficiently and effectively.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I am a current board member and former Executive that ran a member agency for eight years. The resources and relationships made available to member agencies to build strong infrastructure, best practices, and collaborative partnerships is an invaluable gift to the community and the families that the member agencies serve. ACAM's staff leadership draw from the best non-profit leaders in the community to create a cohesive response to the needs for leadership development, effective and efficient use of human and technological resources, and building a more responsive and connected response to ongoing community need and community-wide disasters such as hurricanes and floods. I am now with an agency that is different in mission and objectives and I could have, if desired, walked away when I moved on. Because of the difference ACAM makes throughout the Houston-Galveston area I determined to make a commitment to continue serving on the Board of ACAM and lending my support to their mission and purpose.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

As I look back, I am amazed at how our agency has evolved due to the nuturing and support provided by ACAM over the past several years - tech nology, personnel, an expanded and active fund-raising Board. ACAM recognizes that outreach ministries do, indeed, too often focus so much activity and resource on "outreach" that they neglect to develop their infrastructure. By providing trainings, meetings where members can discuss best (and not so best) practives with their peers, a variety of resources and constructive evaluations, ACAM helps each of its member agencies to grow to their full potential and beyond.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

ACAM has been instrumental in the growth and development of services within the faith-based community that is providing basic needs to the Greater Houston area. Their deliberate approach to capacity building has not only impacted staff leadership within their non-profit membership, but has strengthened board and community involvement as well. I have been a part of this organization as an Executive Director of one of its members, since its inception under the ZCAM project over 7 years ago. I have seen member organizations expand infrastructure, develop programs, create community collaborations, increase revenue, improve efficiency and effectiveness, and increaes staff knowlwedge - all leading to an overall improve of programs and services. ACAM also evaluates their member's progress, and measures impact through its detailed evaluation process which in turn provide a road map for other funders, and future duplication of the program's model in other communities. I am now assisting by leading internal committees and am a member of the Board of Director's representing the Executive Director membership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

ACAM is a much needed organization. It helps all peoples,churches,and provides opportunity for communication,consultation among funders and resource professionals. ACAM is a SAINT to many people and very much appreciated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I could write about ACAM from many perspectives, but one that is perhaps most profound to me personally is ACAM in its role as an agent for collaboration. Collaboration is a term that is often used in the nonprofit world, but rarely is the concept as fully fleshed out as it is with ACAM and its member community assistance ministries. The kind of collaboration that ACAM inspires and enacts is solves real problems and produces tangible results. It is not collaboration "in name only." Those members that choose to participate (all collaborative projects are voluntary for members) are at the table shaping the project and contributing to its success. ACAM's role as a convener of like-minded organizations is critical because though many organizations have wonderful intentions of working together to develop much-needed programs and enhance organizational efficiencies, many times those intentions are left unfulfilled because it takes significant time, tangible resources and careful coordination to make collaborations successful. Collaborative projects such as providing free mental health services one day a week at various member locations, boosting back-to-school relief for children in need, preventing homelessness for families effected by the economic downturn and others are a tribute to ACAM, its members and the other community partners ACAM has engaged. The results not only help those in the community change their lives for the better, but they also equip excellent organizations to be ready for future community needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble food boxes for 50 low-income families with children, help seniors with home repair, volunteer at one of our member thrift shops. assist with the annual school supply drive.