Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

Oakland office provided a webinar for non-profits on advocacy and lobbying. Very beneficial!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Nan Aron, head of Alliance for Justice, and I went to the same high school. We shared the same remarkable teacher, Eric Rothschild, as a mentor. Why is that important? Because Nan (who was a bright star among many stars, academically, (whereas I was not), were both getting a college education look and questioning of American History. Rothschild's mother was one of the founders of the New York Civil Liberties Union, which formed at the peril of members, vis-a-vis Senator McCarthy. So our teacher knew first-hand and was also so brilliant, always asking for questions as well as answers about history, civics, civil liberties. Nan, since graduating from law school, dedicated herself to civil liberties. I believe she worked for the NY Civil Liberties Union, the ACLU, and at some point figured Washington, DC is the heartbeat of freedom. Among the three branches of government, each has imperiled our liberty, sometimes by law, sometimes by federal decisions, sometimes by Presidential fiat. Nan's vision propels the AFJ. Her vision is of a Constitution upheld by law and the decisions made over the centuries. AFJ has a huge agenda now: trying to make the Congress, Supreme Court, and President all come to the bar of law with their best understanding of law and justice. AFJ demands what Mr.. Rothschild demanded: to think and act to keep our country solid and free. As Ben Franklin is credited with the response to a lady as he came out of the Constitutional Convention, as she asked what kind of country we will have, Franklin said, "A democracy, if YOU can keep it." That challenge was eternal to America. For AFJ, the existence of a fouled-up republic is also a concern. I know where Nan comes from. And AFJ comes from her live-long work. This is the most upright non-profit I can think of, admiration for Nan aside.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Alliance for Justice presents my homework (on judicial issues) to me comprehensively and simply, and provides me with convenient and efficient tools for taking action on them. This way, I can effectively add my voice to those the President and Congressional members are hearing from, right on time. With such depressing judicial developments as the Supreme Court's so-called Citizens United ruling, members of the general public such as me need exactly what AFJ provides.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Alliance for Justice continues to impress me with their approach of reporting issues, actions, and ongoing activities without making the "request for donation" appear as the primary focus of the newsletter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

i depend on The Alliance for Social Justice to inform me of the pressing issues on social justice and to provide me with the opportunities to act on these issues. I have 40 years in the not for profit sector and strongly believe that this organization is top in its field.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I hope that the Alliance will provoke the nation to demand ethical behavior from each supreme court member. It has certainly aquainted me with this problem.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am a retired strategic planning consultant. I wouldn't presume to make any changes without knowing the organization, clientele and membership goals much better than I do.

May 29, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working in the nonprofit arena for the past 15 years and have had the opportunity to interact with the wonderful staff of legal trainers at AFJ on multiple occasions. Not only are they brilliant and fun, but their ability to make the law accessible to those of us working around the country is unparalleled. Thank you, AFJ!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the media, on the courts, in the legal training of my employees.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers