Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

AFJ has been a supportive resource for our association. Their templates, brochures and feedback on current issues have provided a strong foundation to such a small nonprofit. AFJ has given them a voice to help position their message and provide more visibility on a local and national level. Their accessibility has been beneficial to the association.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

AFJ is a much need nonprofit in a society that is far too apathetic. We must never give up our Constitutional rights to a trial by jury, to the right to legal counsel, to refuse to be dragged from our homes in the night, never to be heard from again. If we give up our freedom to fear, corrupt politicians, and the military-industrial complex, then the terrorists will have won. They will have destroyed what is unique and glorious about our country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Push Obama even harder. He is destroying our freedom, just as surely as any warmonger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

Oakland office provided a webinar for non-profits on advocacy and lobbying. Very beneficial!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

The staff in Oakland provided us timely and personal feedback that meant we were ready meet reporting deadlines without panic or doubt. Thank you, AFJ!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

"Alliance for Justice believes that all Americans have the right to secure justice in the courts and to have their voices heard when government makes decisions that affect their lives." This quote aptly reflects the hard work of AFJ over the past 30 years and Nan Aron's exemplary leadership. AFJ has often ingeniously shown a light on how Supreme Court decisions have potentially profound effects on economic inequalities and social justice. At a time when corporations are viewed as people and income inequality has skyrocketed we need AFJ more than ever.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

The Alliance for Justice is a donor's dream: smart, savvy, strategic, sophisticated and relevant. Its top-quality staff are always on top of the latest developments in the field and often LEAD the field. Its work to build and promote the civic and philanthropic sectors' voice in critical public policy debates is outstanding; AFJ is simply the best in the field. Its work ensures that voices that are typically left out of critically important public debates get heard. That is a powerful mission.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Nan Aron, head of Alliance for Justice, and I went to the same high school. We shared the same remarkable teacher, Eric Rothschild, as a mentor. Why is that important? Because Nan (who was a bright star among many stars, academically, (whereas I was not), were both getting a college education look and questioning of American History. Rothschild's mother was one of the founders of the New York Civil Liberties Union, which formed at the peril of members, vis-a-vis Senator McCarthy. So our teacher knew first-hand and was also so brilliant, always asking for questions as well as answers about history, civics, civil liberties. Nan, since graduating from law school, dedicated herself to civil liberties. I believe she worked for the NY Civil Liberties Union, the ACLU, and at some point figured Washington, DC is the heartbeat of freedom. Among the three branches of government, each has imperiled our liberty, sometimes by law, sometimes by federal decisions, sometimes by Presidential fiat. Nan's vision propels the AFJ. Her vision is of a Constitution upheld by law and the decisions made over the centuries. AFJ has a huge agenda now: trying to make the Congress, Supreme Court, and President all come to the bar of law with their best understanding of law and justice. AFJ demands what Mr.. Rothschild demanded: to think and act to keep our country solid and free. As Ben Franklin is credited with the response to a lady as he came out of the Constitutional Convention, as she asked what kind of country we will have, Franklin said, "A democracy, if YOU can keep it." That challenge was eternal to America. For AFJ, the existence of a fouled-up republic is also a concern. I know where Nan comes from. And AFJ comes from her live-long work. This is the most upright non-profit I can think of, admiration for Nan aside.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Alliance for Justice presents my homework (on judicial issues) to me comprehensively and simply, and provides me with convenient and efficient tools for taking action on them. This way, I can effectively add my voice to those the President and Congressional members are hearing from, right on time. With such depressing judicial developments as the Supreme Court's so-called Citizens United ruling, members of the general public such as me need exactly what AFJ provides.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Alliance for Justice continues to impress me with their approach of reporting issues, actions, and ongoing activities without making the "request for donation" appear as the primary focus of the newsletter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Alliance for Justice is a very helpful resource for all nonprofits. They are an invaluable source of information on legal and governance issues, and its staff is consistently accessible, knowledgeable, and friendly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I received helpful guidance on nonprofit governance issues from the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers