Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.984855
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 7, 2012

I first began volunteering with the Alliance for International Women's Rights in 2006, as an in-country volunteer placed with one of our partners in Mongolia. My placement in Mongolia with the Liberal... more

July 10, 2014

I have been involved with the Alliance for International Women's Rights for eight years, and I am proud to support such an incredible organization that makes a significant impact on the lives of our students and volunteers. I am inspired by the women and girls in Afghanistan who participate in AIWR's English Program and I love learning about the interactions and connections that our English teachers and students make with one another.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2012

I first began volunteering with the Alliance for International Women's Rights in 2006, as an in-country volunteer placed with one of our partners in Mongolia. My placement in Mongolia with the Liberal Women's Brain Pool was undoubtedly life-changing. Several months after my return to the US, I joined the volunteer staff as the Program Manager. My experience with AIWR was a huge factor in my decision to return to graduate school 12 years after I received my B.S., to get a degree in International Studies so that I could focus my career on women's human rights. Volunteering with AIWR continues to be one of the most important activities in my life. I love every bit of the work I do, from developing and managing the website, to preparing and analyzing data from our English Program evaluations, to working with volunteers to support our partners. When I read quotes from our English Program teachers and students about their experiences with the Program, I get goosebumps—it is so exciting. I love being a part of something that has such a tremendous impact on the participants.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience inspired me to go to graduate school to study International Studies, where I focused on Gender, Human Rights, and Development. The intention is to dedicate my career to women's human rights.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

The experience makes me feel that I'm contributing something incredibly worthwhile to the world.

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

I have been a volunteer since 2006, teaching and now coordinating. I have learned so much about another culture, about teaching ESL, and now learning more about how a great volunteer organization is run. The students in Afghanistan face many challenges by even attending school each day. The English Program, offered through AIWR, allows them to consider and prepare for opportunities of the future.

The coordinators and Executive Director, Lisa Herb, have always been supportive, and made certain that the time and effort given by a volunteer is well placed.

What I really enjoyed while teaching was that we used everyday topics to study and practise the skills of English. We shared information about food, chores, etc. A student might be applying for a job and so, we would use ‘job search’ as a theme to practise skills. When I learned that a student liked art, for example, then I chose material about art. I learned a bit about the arts in Afghanistan!

Volunteering with AIWR has been a very eye-opening and rewarding experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 6, 2014

more

July 6, 2014

I volunteered with AIWR a few years ago while I was living in South Korea. I had been looking for a way to use my ESL teaching skills to volunteer and I thought AIWR was too good to be true when I found out about it. With the time difference between Afghanistan and Korea, it was perfect. I developed a really great relationship with my student and was really heartbroken when my personal life prevented me from continuing. AIWR is a fantastic non-profit organization providing so many opportunities for young girls in Afghanistan.
I hope that when I finish grad school next spring I'll be able to find some time in my schedule to volunteer again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

start a scholarship fund for extraordinarily motivated students to study in an English speaking country in person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2013

A fantastic non-profit organization! I can't recommend it enough and am so grateful to be working with such a wonderful and supportive staff. more

July 4, 2014

I volunteered through AIWR from 2011 to 2013 and I cannot recommend this organization enough. It is truly the perfect example of how an NGO should operate: A dedicated and compassionate staff who are committed to making a difference and who work tirelessly to make a difference in the lives of many Afghan women. I am so amazed and impressed by their level of professionalism, their support, and their care, and their willingness to dedicate time and energy to the many projects that they offer with limited outside funding. I am so honored and grateful to have work for such an outstanding organization.
I cannot recommend this organization enough!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

A fantastic non-profit organization! I can't recommend it enough and am so grateful to be working with such a wonderful and supportive staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2014

more

July 4, 2014

I volunteered as an English teacher with AIWR for three months in 2012 which was an incredible experience for me. I enjoyed teaching my student twice each week in Afghanistan, and learnt more of her culture as we shared not only the lessons, but aspects of our daily lives, cooking, recipes, holiday trip experiences etc. My student herself is a teacher and so the language that I was able to share with her will be shared with other women. Although I have needed to stop volunteering for the moment, she still calls me for a chat which is really rewarding.
Sometimes we experienced challenges like the line going down all the time, and difficulties for her to connect, but she patiently overcame these problems to concentrate on her language structure and pronunciation, which was very hard for her. We came a long way in a short time I felt.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change the organisation. It works well, and spreads education to women in countries where perhaps they have not had the chances that we have experienced.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

AIWR is a great non-profit organisation which helps women all over the world, with a current focus on Afghanistan. I am honoured to be a volunteer English teacher. Every week, I learn something new from my student, and I am more than happy to help her improve her language. If you want to put your skills into use, contact AIWR. The directors and coordinators are always there to help us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

The Alliance for International Women's Rights is an outstanding Volunteer Organization. It is a great opportunity for women in developed countries to teach, mentor, educate, and befriend someone in a less fortunate and dangerous situation. It opens the door for communication, understanding, and heart-felt relationships that could be lasting. The experience is enriching and what AIWR does for the young women in foreign countries - is amazing.... despite the challenges and how dangerous this all can be. If you ever have a chance to be a part of such an amazing organization, then do so, because... the opportunity to work as a volunteer with AIWR - is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe the organization is outstanding. I would not make any changes at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I've been volunteering with the AIWR English Program for almost 6 years. While it often presents challenges, it is always rewarding. The women and girls who access this program in Afghanistan are pretty amazing. Despite the serious deterrents they face they are totally determined and committed to pursuing education. A small portion of time volunteering comes with the constant reminder of the enormous value embedded in this mutually educational relationship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2013

I volunteered as an English teacher for AIWR two years ago and now volunteer as the English Language Program Coordinator. The organization supports girls and women in Afghanistan through long-distance... more

July 1, 2014

I have had the great honor to work as English Language Program Director for AIWR since January, 2013. I am continually amazed by the courage and motivation of the Afghan girls and women who study English with our volunteer teachers, and I'm constantly impressed by our teachers' dedication and commitment to the program. We have all learned from each other that education and international understanding are key to making our world a better place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 12, 2013

I volunteered as an English teacher for AIWR two years ago and now volunteer as the English Language Program Coordinator. The organization supports girls and women in Afghanistan through long-distance English classes and professional mentoring. Everyone involved in the organization is passionately dedicated to helping girls and women in Afghanistan increase their opportunities and chances for success. The student/teacher exchanges have touched so many lives. I hope to be a part of this organization for a long time to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am coming towards the end of my first three months of volunteering as a teacher on AIWR's English Program and have found it to be an excellent experience in all respects. AIWR have been quick to respond to any queries and very helpful and friendly. Working with my student has been an incredible experience and I am extremely grateful to AIWR for providing such a wonderful opportunity, and for doing such invaluable work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers