Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.985075
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I volunteered with AIWR for 5 months. The experience was far more life changing than I would have ever imagined to have working from my own home two hours a week. The support and question response I got was beyond that of any in-person, not online position I have ever held. As a volunteer, I was sent thank you letters and beautiful hand-crafted gifts at least twice a year. In thse five months I gained a relationship with an amazing student, an understanding of the Afghan culture, a deeper understanding of the conditions that currently exist in the Kandahar region of Afghanistan, the potential that online classes and technology offer to changing the world division of education, and so much more. I got so much out of the experience that I recommend the organization to all of my friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 12, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
March 22, 2012

AIWR had a very good year mentoring, supporting and educating Afghan women. This work is even more important with the difficult political climate for Afghanistan women. more

April 12, 2013

AIWR continues to do amazing work through the internet by helping teach and mentor young women who need a way to educate themselves. By using the internet and Skype volunteers that work through AIWR have reached out to help in meaningful ways. Check out the AIWR website to learn more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2012

AIWR had a very good year mentoring, supporting and educating Afghan women. This work is even more important with the difficult political climate for Afghanistan women.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2011

Alliance for International Women's Rights (AIWR) was ounded by my daughter Lisa Herb. I am so proud of her work helping Afghan women obtain education , English language skills and computer skills. Please go to their website, www.aiwr.org to learn more.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

learning the struggles an Afghan woman has obtaining an education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to give it more publicity.

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I volunteered for AIWR for about a year as an English teacher (via Skype) to young women in Afghanistan. The whole procedure, from the interview to the information given and the regular follow-ups was very professional. As an EFL teacher, I found this experience extremely worthwhile as it gave me a feeling of being in a situation where I was needed - how else were these young women supposed to learn English from a native speaker? I felt like I developed a good relationship with my students and we still communicate when possible. The staff at AIWR were always helpful and provided such a positive energy no matter what the situation was - you could feel it even through e-mail! I am doing my master's now; however, I will definitely volunteer with AIWR in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 31, 2011

I work with AIWR's English Program in Afghanistan to offer long-distance ESL classes to Afghan women and girls living in Kandahar. Using Skype, I meet twice a week with my student, a bright and bubbly... more

May 29, 2012

AIWR's English Program in Afghanistan is a life-changing program, both for the Afghan women and girls who are empowered through the education it provides and the female ESL professionals around the world who teach these remarkable students. Over the past year, my student and I have developed a such a close, meaningful relationship, it's hard to believe we've only communicated digitally. Every class I am amazed by how grateful my student is to learn English and for this wonderful program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2011

I work with AIWR's English Program in Afghanistan to offer long-distance ESL classes to Afghan women and girls living in Kandahar. Using Skype, I meet twice a week with my student, a bright and bubbly 13-year-old girl, to practice English conversation, promote cross-cultural understanding and simply talk about life. For me, and I hope for her, the experience has been nothing short of incredible.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing from my student how much she enjoys our classes and how much she is learning. It's a wonderfully satisfying feeling, and it lets me know that the AIWR's English Program is making a positive difference in her life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

suggest that the AIWR expand its English Program to other countries with traditionally disadvantaged women, so that they too can empower themselves through education. Then, students of each country's English Program could have the opportunity to network with one another and develop an international community of women.

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

I have been volunteering with the organization for over a year now and have found the experience invaluable. The director, Lisa Herb, puts forth an incredible amount of time, energy, and effort in order to run AIWR and fulfill its mission. The organization is entirely volunteer-based, with so many people, literally from all corners of the Earth, volunteering their time and expertise to working with and for women in Afghanistan (while also gaining so much from their interactions with girls and women in Afghanistan). It is truly remarkable.
Another great quality of the organization is that it is so accessible in terms of volunteering. A volunteer can make an impact in Afghanistan from their own hometown. Every day that I volunteer (my role is to reach out to the organization's volunteers and let them know they are appreciated) I am amazed by the places all these women come from and all of their experiences, that are brought together by other women in Afghanistan. I feel like AIWR is creating a significant network of women around the world that care about other women, women's issues, and are willing to act.
I feel sincerely privileged to help and be a part of an organization that is truly focused on its mission, and is accomplishing so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2012

more

May 20, 2012

This organization has been phenomenal. I have been a volunteer for the organization for over three years now and I think it is one of the very most worthwhile things I have done in a lifetime of service. They have made all the difference for Afghan women attorneys and legislators, in tems of furnishing them the tools to succeed in their nation and to serve as role models of talent and courage for other women in that country. The organization serves as a lifeline of hope and strength, a develops the critically needed talent to make the difference in the lives of all Afghan women. We are also allying with the American Bar Assocation for a Middle East project for women that will be part of this program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 7, 2012

more

May 7, 2012

I am writing on behalf of the Alliance for International Women’s Rights (AIWR) and in support of the 2012 Women’s Empowerment Campaign Award.

I have been involved in the AIWR for over a year and have to say it is one of the most rewarding experiences I have had in my professional life.
The woman who I have worked with in Afghanistan is truly remarkable and her commitment is nothing short of inspirational. My goal is to help empower her in some small way, so that her ability to communicate in English provides a chance to expand her options in a country with extremely limited opportunities for women. Our one-on-one time via Skype is valuable to us both.

As Westerners, I think we cannot always understand the depth of challenges and obstacles Afghan women face. Custom and culture requires specific permission from a father or husband to even attend the English language computer sessions. And physically getting to the center places them in serious harm’s way since the culture holds women in very low esteem. It is a fact that women have been killed and maimed trying to become educated in Afghanistan.

Unfortunately, the challenges do not end with safe arrival, since we often experience technical difficulties. Very low bandwidth means that classes are held via Skype with audio only (or instant messaging), but intermittent electric power and malfunctioning of low tech equipment such as headsets, means that a class may have to be cancelled. These disappointments happen all too often and it is our hope that funding for new devices will alleviate the problem.

At the same time, it is so rewarding to hear the joy in her voice when we are able to successfully connect and make progress. These women are so committed to the program that it becomes an inspiration to me to work even harder to ensure success. The language lessons and cultural exchanges encourage these women to succeed in so many areas of their lives. This is a wonderful organization and I am very pleased to be a part of this important work and fully support the AIWR and its goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012

more

May 7, 2012

I began volunteering with AIWR's English Program for the first time in September of 2011 and just recently started volunteering with the program again this May. AIWR is the most unique and exciting nonprofit organization I have ever had the chance to work with. Its English Program allows for ESL educators around the world to really make a difference in lives of and empower the key population of Afghan communities today- women and girls. I am very excited to continue volunteering with and watching AIWR grow in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012

more

May 7, 2012

As the Executive Director of AIWR, I have seen first hand the tremendous impact that both our volunteers and the Afghan participants have on each other. Our volunteers are all professional teachers and attorneys, who donate their time and skills to educate and mentor Afghan women and girls via Skype. The relationships that are formed through these weekly meetings are life changing for both students and teachers. The Afghan women and girls in our programs, who risk their lives to educate themselves, soak up every drop of knowledge and encouragement offered by their teachers and mentors, and directly apply their new skills to obtain employment or seek further education. I am constantly humbled by their tremendous courage, tenacity and unconquerable spirits. The teachers and mentors often report that the experience of working directly with their Afghan students has forever changed their view of not only Afghanistan, but of women's rights and what it means to strive every moment of every day to try to obtain basic human rights. If I could, I would award each and every volunteer a five star rating. As for the Afghan women and girls in our programs, there are simply not enough stars to reflect their achievements and strength of spirit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 23, 2011

AIWR is an amazing organization that connects women experts in the United States with women leaders in Afghanistan who have requested additional English language instruction or mentoring. As an attor... more

May 7, 2012

My first contact with AIWR several years ago involved their arranging for me to mentor a woman senator in Afghanistan who needed assistance with mastering legal English. The senator was a very impressive person who worked tirelessly to help improve the situation for women in her country. Together we reviewed international human rights standards, international criminal courts, and women's rights issues. More recently AIWR has arranged for me to mentor attorneys working with Justice for All, a women's rights organization in Kabul. While helping my students master legal English, we delve into discussions on international human rights laws, comparative constitutional rights, the role of religion and government, and other fascinating topics. I have learned so much while "teaching" these brave, dedicated attorneys, and am inspired by the work they do to help their female clients and the cause of women in Afghanistan. Soon we will be embarking on a project to translate into English all the Afghan laws which affect women, to be included in an international database sponsored by the American Bar Association. The opportunities AIWR has provided to me as a volunteer are always fascinating and very rewarding, and the brave individuals it connects me with are truly inspiring. I feel honored and fortunate to be a part of the organization's mentor program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2011

AIWR is an amazing organization that connects women experts in the United States with women leaders in Afghanistan who have requested additional English language instruction or mentoring. As an attorney with background in women's rights issues, the organization connected me with women attorneys and senators who requested mentoring and assistance with English legal and political terminology. On a weekly basis, we have reviewed together the Afghanistan Constitution and International Law, and have discussed matters of relevance to their work. The weekly one-on-one contact (using Skype to talk over the internet) has been very enriching for me, as the women AIWR works with are all very inspiring individuals. It has been an honor and pleasure to work with these women, helping them gain the tools and skills they need to perform their important work even more effectively. After watching the crisis for women in Afghanistan from the sidelines for so many years, it is very fulfilling to finally be able to offer assistance to these women who are working so hard to improve the situation for all the women in the country.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being connected with, and allowed to serve, very impressive and heroic Afghan women who are working to help improve the situation for all women in Afghanistan. It is very rewarding to observe, over the course of months and years, these women's understanding and English expertise flower.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help it grow larger and have the funds to connect even more mentors and ESL instructors to the deserving women in Afghanistan.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers