Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.981825
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am coming towards the end of my first three months of volunteering as a teacher on AIWR's English Program and have found it to be an excellent experience in all respects. AIWR have been quick to respond to any queries and very helpful and friendly. Working with my student has been an incredible experience and I am extremely grateful to AIWR for providing such a wonderful opportunity, and for doing such invaluable work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I worked as a volunteer teacher for AIWR for three months and I found the organisation to be incredibly dedicated, efficient and enthusiastic. Directly speaking to female students in Afghanistan felt like truly making a difference. I can't think of many programmes that are able to form such a tangible link between cultures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working as a volunteer teacher of English for just three weeks and have been most impressed by the friendly efficiency of the organisation. I am a retired teacher and have taught in various contexts, including teaching girls and young women in a developing country, and understand how valuable it is to give women the skills to enable them to be independent and help others. My young Afghan student hopes to become a doctor. I believe that AIWR and my small role may help her achieve her goal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I have been working for AIWR as a volunteer for over a year now and have enjoyed my time with them greatly. Their support staff is excellent, and the cause they work for is a very important one. I've been teaching English to a young Afghan girl over Skype, and I think the experience has changed both our lives. It is quite moving how energetic and optimistic she is about her future in such a hostile environment. I firmly believe that AIWR's program has a great impact on the lives of these girls and brings Afghanistan closer to us voluteers, who know nothing about it apart from images from the media. I continue to work for AIWR, and hope to do so until my other work schedule permits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I've been working as a volunteer English teacher for about six months and have enjoyed every moment of it! I work with both a man and a woman who do amazing work for a non-profit in Afghanistan, and for whom learning English would help their career. Any time an issue has arisen, such as one with scheduling conflicts, the team at AIWR has been very quick to respond and help. AIWR is wonderful non-profit, and I feel honored to be working with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 22, 2011

This is an amazingly well-run, nicely organized non-profit set up to directly help girls and women in Afghanistan (and other east Asian countries) with one-on-one teaching experiences from Western wom... more

April 12, 2013

Alliance for International Women's Rights is a superb non-profit. It is set up to directly impact girls and women in Afghanistan by helping them learn English one-on-one with a teacher in the western world. It is a safe, effective, stream-lined model. Our world needs to do more to help girls and women, and this group is doing it, woman by woman. Thank you to all the volunteers who are making it happen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2011

This is an amazingly well-run, nicely organized non-profit set up to directly help girls and women in Afghanistan (and other east Asian countries) with one-on-one teaching experiences from Western women, all via the internet. It truly makes the other side of the world feel closer and more personal to know that a woman in the Western world can reach out and directly help a woman in the developing world. Educating women and girls is the key to world peace and each country's potential prosperity. Programs like this deserve more attention and support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen how simply and efficiently this group works by having teachers in the US or Europe or Australia run one-on-one tutoring sessions over the internet, which is a safe and more risk-free way to reach women in countries where it may be risky for women and girls to go to school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them more money and support! It's run almost entirely on ideas, idealism, and volunteer energy! This is a group of women trying to help other women to gain a better way of life.

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

Working for AIWR has changed my life in aspects that I continue to discover even after a year and three months. The experience works primarily on two levels: first, the idea that such a strong emotional and educational connection can be made utilizing technology is remarkable. I think AIWR is one among few pioneers that truly mobilizes the revolutionary possibilities of the internet. The second function of being an AIWR volunteer is that I have the privilege of knowing my bright, earnest, and deeply compassionate 15 year old student. She has taught me much more than I could ever hope to impart to her. My family and friends know about this relationship in my life and they too are inspired by this young woman. I am simply grateful to have had this opportunity, and I look forward to more and more people being a part of this extremely relevant project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

A fantastic non-profit organization! I can't recommend it enough and am so grateful to be working with such a wonderful and supportive staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I volunteered as an English teacher for AIWR two years ago and now volunteer as the English Language Program Coordinator. The organization supports girls and women in Afghanistan through long-distance English classes and professional mentoring. Everyone involved in the organization is passionately dedicated to helping girls and women in Afghanistan increase their opportunities and chances for success. The student/teacher exchanges have touched so many lives. I hope to be a part of this organization for a long time to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

Being an active participant in this grassroots, true to life, interwoven tapestry of learning, teaching and growing is a dream come home in my life. Women reaching out to touch other women beyond culture, creed and country lifts up my spirit, lightens my life and encourages my daughters and grand daughters by broadening what they know about relationships and ways they can participate globally with others. The bright light of women helping women shines into every darkness as we learn how to be global citizens.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers