Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.985075
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

I volunteered with AIWR as an English tutor. The program is a truly unique, yet much-needed, way to use language teaching as a bridge across cultures. I loved my student who showed me how spirited and lively women in far-reaching places can be and I looked forward to our weekly meetings. The staff at AIWR is also amazing - you can really see how dedicated and passionate they are about the organization and its objectives. In particular, I really appreciated that everything was laid out, bare-bones, and that anything potentially difficult was addressed head-on. This is a wonderful organization with fantastic people on both sides.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 7, 2012

I first began volunteering with the Alliance for International Women's Rights in 2006, as an in-country volunteer placed with one of our partners in Mongolia. My placement in Mongolia with the Liberal... more

July 10, 2014

I have been involved with the Alliance for International Women's Rights for eight years, and I am proud to support such an incredible organization that makes a significant impact on the lives of our students and volunteers. I am inspired by the women and girls in Afghanistan who participate in AIWR's English Program and I love learning about the interactions and connections that our English teachers and students make with one another.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2012

I first began volunteering with the Alliance for International Women's Rights in 2006, as an in-country volunteer placed with one of our partners in Mongolia. My placement in Mongolia with the Liberal Women's Brain Pool was undoubtedly life-changing. Several months after my return to the US, I joined the volunteer staff as the Program Manager. My experience with AIWR was a huge factor in my decision to return to graduate school 12 years after I received my B.S., to get a degree in International Studies so that I could focus my career on women's human rights. Volunteering with AIWR continues to be one of the most important activities in my life. I love every bit of the work I do, from developing and managing the website, to preparing and analyzing data from our English Program evaluations, to working with volunteers to support our partners. When I read quotes from our English Program teachers and students about their experiences with the Program, I get goosebumps—it is so exciting. I love being a part of something that has such a tremendous impact on the participants.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience inspired me to go to graduate school to study International Studies, where I focused on Gender, Human Rights, and Development. The intention is to dedicate my career to women's human rights.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

The experience makes me feel that I'm contributing something incredibly worthwhile to the world.

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

I have been a volunteer since 2006, teaching and now coordinating. I have learned so much about another culture, about teaching ESL, and now learning more about how a great volunteer organization is run. The students in Afghanistan face many challenges by even attending school each day. The English Program, offered through AIWR, allows them to consider and prepare for opportunities of the future.

The coordinators and Executive Director, Lisa Herb, have always been supportive, and made certain that the time and effort given by a volunteer is well placed.

What I really enjoyed while teaching was that we used everyday topics to study and practise the skills of English. We shared information about food, chores, etc. A student might be applying for a job and so, we would use ‘job search’ as a theme to practise skills. When I learned that a student liked art, for example, then I chose material about art. I learned a bit about the arts in Afghanistan!

Volunteering with AIWR has been a very eye-opening and rewarding experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 22, 2011

So many people talk about their desire to change the world. My sister, Lisa Herb, is actually doing it. After spending years working and traveling throughout Central Asia, Lisa was determined to help ... more

July 7, 2014

The Alliance for International Women's Rights is a powerful example of how one person can truly change the world. Its founder, Lisa Herb, has worked tirelessly for years to help connect Afghan women and girls, as well as others from throughout Central Asia, to their Western counterparts in the USA and Canada. Thanks to her and the dedicated team of Alliance volunteers, countless young women have now had the opportunity to safely connect with teachers and mentors half a world away through the Internet. The Alliance's work is invaluable - and a shining example for any one else who longs to make our world a better, safer place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 22, 2011

So many people talk about their desire to change the world. My sister, Lisa Herb, is actually doing it. After spending years working and traveling throughout Central Asia, Lisa was determined to help women in that region improve their worlds. Despite being a busy wife, mother and attorney, she still found time to create and run the Alliance for International Women's Rights (www.aiwr.org), which is dedicated to furthering women's rights throughout Central Asia, and primarily Afghanistan. The beauty of the Alliance is it safely connects Afghan women with their Western counterparts by utilizing Skype and the Internet for the majority of their training and mentoring programs. I hope you'll take the time to explore the powerful work being accomplished by the Alliance, and learn what one woman with one computer can do to change her world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...hearing one incredible story after another of how one Afghan woman or girl's life has been forever changed by the training, mentoring and educational opportunities provided by Alliance volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...try to secure more funding for more staff, computers and volunteer coordinators to better serve the overwhelming needs of women leaders and future women leaders throughout Central Asia...and hopefully the world.

July 6, 2014

more

July 6, 2014

I volunteered with AIWR a few years ago while I was living in South Korea. I had been looking for a way to use my ESL teaching skills to volunteer and I thought AIWR was too good to be true when I found out about it. With the time difference between Afghanistan and Korea, it was perfect. I developed a really great relationship with my student and was really heartbroken when my personal life prevented me from continuing. AIWR is a fantastic non-profit organization providing so many opportunities for young girls in Afghanistan.
I hope that when I finish grad school next spring I'll be able to find some time in my schedule to volunteer again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

start a scholarship fund for extraordinarily motivated students to study in an English speaking country in person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 4, 2014

more

July 4, 2014

The Alliance for International Women's Rights has a theme of helpfulness and action. It's primary focus is to encourage women to become educated in mind and body. I was invited to volunteer as an English teacher but was teaching in a remote location in China, with no access to the Internet. In the meantime, I have caught up with their action and love everything this non-profit organization represents. I'm sure the orchestrators would be grateful to have more volunteers with open hearts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its purpose to encourage more volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2013

A fantastic non-profit organization! I can't recommend it enough and am so grateful to be working with such a wonderful and supportive staff. more

July 4, 2014

I volunteered through AIWR from 2011 to 2013 and I cannot recommend this organization enough. It is truly the perfect example of how an NGO should operate: A dedicated and compassionate staff who are committed to making a difference and who work tirelessly to make a difference in the lives of many Afghan women. I am so amazed and impressed by their level of professionalism, their support, and their care, and their willingness to dedicate time and energy to the many projects that they offer with limited outside funding. I am so honored and grateful to have work for such an outstanding organization.
I cannot recommend this organization enough!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

A fantastic non-profit organization! I can't recommend it enough and am so grateful to be working with such a wonderful and supportive staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2014

more

July 4, 2014

I volunteered as an English teacher with AIWR for three months in 2012 which was an incredible experience for me. I enjoyed teaching my student twice each week in Afghanistan, and learnt more of her culture as we shared not only the lessons, but aspects of our daily lives, cooking, recipes, holiday trip experiences etc. My student herself is a teacher and so the language that I was able to share with her will be shared with other women. Although I have needed to stop volunteering for the moment, she still calls me for a chat which is really rewarding.
Sometimes we experienced challenges like the line going down all the time, and difficulties for her to connect, but she patiently overcame these problems to concentrate on her language structure and pronunciation, which was very hard for her. We came a long way in a short time I felt.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change the organisation. It works well, and spreads education to women in countries where perhaps they have not had the chances that we have experienced.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

AIWR is a great non-profit organisation which helps women all over the world, with a current focus on Afghanistan. I am honoured to be a volunteer English teacher. Every week, I learn something new from my student, and I am more than happy to help her improve her language. If you want to put your skills into use, contact AIWR. The directors and coordinators are always there to help us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

The Alliance for International Women's Rights is an outstanding Volunteer Organization. It is a great opportunity for women in developed countries to teach, mentor, educate, and befriend someone in a less fortunate and dangerous situation. It opens the door for communication, understanding, and heart-felt relationships that could be lasting. The experience is enriching and what AIWR does for the young women in foreign countries - is amazing.... despite the challenges and how dangerous this all can be. If you ever have a chance to be a part of such an amazing organization, then do so, because... the opportunity to work as a volunteer with AIWR - is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe the organization is outstanding. I would not make any changes at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers