Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.886795
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I went with AIR to Guatemala in the summer of 2011. We planted trees, built stoves, repainted the AIR office. The trees both prevent mudslides and the loss of family and village agricultural soil as well as reintroduce nutrients to the soil. The stoves save 50% of the wood used where no stove is available, provide more efficient heat and funnel smoke outside the house which helps reduce lung diseases which are a major health crisis in this country. We worked with the local indigenous people on their land, and ate in their homes. What I like best about this mission is who is being helped and what how their lives are improved through their participation. I also appreciate that all the employees are Guatemalan who are trained in agronomy and can speak both Spanish and the indigenous language. It is the best mission I have ever volunteered in and does remarkable work with the very small amount of operating funds. Dr. Radford Rader.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I volunteered my first week with AIR in 2007 and a second week with AIR in the summer of 2012. Great experiences each time! Anne and her team are well organized, pay attention to the details and worked diligently to ensure that our group had a productive and fun week. The camaraderie is great. Working side by side with local villagers we built efficient wood burning stoves and planted saplings on deforested mountainsides. But the best part is eating lunch together with the villagers in their homes. Additionally on each trip Anne arranged for us to spend a night or two in one of Guatemala's historical colonial towns. It was very educational and enjoyable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I had the opportunity to travel to Guatemala this summer with our college age students. I was impressed to see how much AIR and its staff has done for the environment and the people of Guatemala. We planted trees and also helped build stoves that are not only more fuel efficient but also direct the lung infecting smoke out of the kitchen. The staff is incredible, the people of Guatemala are warm and friendly. AIR has taken the environment and the people that depend on it and made them a team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I have led several groups of college students and other adults on trips to Guatemala with AIR. Each time I am overwhelmed by the wonderful and meaningful work AIR is doing. They work on a grass roots level to allow the local people to inform, lead, and guide the work they do. The AIR staff is extemely professional and committed to their work. I am grateful for all the ways that AIR works for good in the world and for the opportunity to share in that work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I was fortunate to experience AIR and taking a part in changing the life's of the people in Guatemala...at the same time it changed my life. It was an incredible experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

My husband and I were blessed to spend 8 days in Guatemala, planting trees and building a fuel efficient stove in a villager's home. AIR Guatemala's Director, Dr. Anne Hallum, exhibits such love for the people that we were warmly welcomed just by being a part of AIR's team. We've been on several mission work teams through our church before, and would have to say that this was one of the best accomodations we've experienced. Although Guatemala is noted for being off limits to foreigners because of the crime, we never felt unsafe. The local staff is not only efficient and hard working, but very caring, meeting the needs of all the volunteers. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to see the real Guatemala and anyone wanting some good, hard physical labor. It's so rewarding to see the difference between the mudslides caused by deforestation and the beautiful older forests that AIR has planted. If you can't go on the trip, donating to this cause really makes a huge impact to the environment and promotes world peace.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have enthusiastically served as a board member for several years, due to AIR's impressive international reputation as a productive and culturally sensitive organization. Through active reforestation programs, scholarship programs, and the construction of stoves that allow families to forego open cook fires for a more healthy and efficient alternative, AIR has earned a reputation as a valued partner in the local communities it serves. Not only does AIR have an exemplary record of accomplishments, but it is even more remarkable that it has achieved them through honoring and respecting the local, largely indigenous, way of life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

As a Ph.D. researcher in the field of public health, I have had the opportunity to work with numerous non-profit organizations both within the U.S. and abroad. The Alliance for International Reforestation without a doubt is a model organization - not only for the highly effective, responsive ways in which it serves and builds capacity across myriad communities, but also for the compassion with which it does so. Other organizations would do well to study AIR and learn from its strategies for effective and lasting community engagement. Truly, I have never encountered a group of more committed individuals. Led by Dr. Anne Hallum and Cecilia Rodriguez, the AIR team exercises the utmost care and compassion in all that they do. And the numbers speak for themselves - with a low overhead budget and a staff of less than 10 individuals, in over 20 years the organization has planted nearly 4 million trees throughout Guatemala and Nicaragua (most of which are still standing today).Given that Central America has some of the highest rates of deforestation and malnutrition in the world, and given that so many populations there depend upon a healthy environment for healthy food crops - it is safe to say that AIR is saving lives as it is saving the environment. It is an honor to continue working with them, and I hope to continue to do so for many, many years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

In'chelawach? (That's K'aq'chikel, it means How are you? :-) ) Yo soy Lester hijo de Elena en San Andres Itzapa, y la verdad les agradecemos muchisimo por la ayuda a nuestra comunidad y AIR in Inglish but en spanish es Aires hahaha! a sido de gran ayuda para todos nosotros en nuestra comunidad ya que capacitan a varios grupos de mujeres organizadas para la siembra y reforestación de nuestros suelos y bosques, esperamos que jamas se olviden de nosotros ya que desde el momento en que ustedes pisan nuestros suelos en Itzapa, ustedes ya tienen unos amigos que jamas los van a olvidar!! Gracias a nuestros voluntarios de Aires ya que tambien han venido a compartir en nuestras familias y la verdad es que ha sido algo bueno y divertido tenerlos, cuando digo divertido es porque junto a ellos tambien hacemos bromas y chistes hahahahaha... Cuando quieran venir nuevamente ustedes pueden, todos son bienvenidos en Itzapa! :-) Mat'iöx Ch'i we'! (Thank you everyone!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Yo soy Lidia Otzoy y AIRES ha sido una bendición en mi vida, ya que he sido beneficiaria de su trabajo, tanto en los viveros forestales y principalmente con una Beca de Estudios que me brindaron durante 5 años, hasta que logre la meta de graduarme en el 2011 de Secretaria. Soy de una aldea que se llama Monte Cristo en Chimaltenango y gracias a AIRES pude seguir estudiando ya que mis padres son muy pobres. Soy la primera en poder graduarme en mi familia, por lo que me siento inmensamente feliz y agradecida. Y ahora una bendición más, desde Mayo del 2012, sigo formando parte de esta linda familia, solo que ahora trabajando como Secretaria de la oficina de AIRES, estoy muy orgullosa de ser parte de este equipo que lucha dia a dia para mejorar nuestro ambiente y que ayudan a mas familias de escasos recursos para que realicen sus sueños. Gracias AIR por preocuparse por mi y por muchas otras jovencitas que tienen metas y sueños de continuar sus estudios para ser mejores cada dia y construir un mundo mejor.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers