Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.860475
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

Nos enseña muchas cosas buenas, es una mano amiga para todas las personas hemos aprendido atravez de ella a ser solidarios con las demás personas que nos necesitan, especialmente a personas pobres que viven en el área rural , por que nos incita a cuidar nuestro medio natural y nuestro planeta, por que los beneficiados somos todos cuando se siembra un árbol que a lo largo del tiempo ayudara a nuestro planeta para que ya no se destruya mas, recordemos que" si Convertimos un árbol en leña, podrá arder para nosotros ; pero ya no producirá flores ni frutos y mucho menos nos dará el oxigeno. "

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

AIR is an amazing organization. I learned much and am in awe of the things we experiences while we were in Guatamala. Planting trees on steep hillsides was a real task, for me at least and I am sure others of our team. I especially enjoyed our day at the school and the excellent program they put on for us. wish I could see some of that dedication and structure in our schools.
Overall the trip was was a great experience for me, and your staff was the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

Although this was my fist volunteer experience with an organization outside of the United States, I was pleasantly surprised at how hassle-free our whole experience was. The AIRS staff run an extremely efficient operation, and it is amazing how much is actually accomplished with minimal staff. They are a committed, dedicated and enthusiastic bunch, and their commitment to the important goals of AIRS is quite obvious. In less than a week, our small volunteer group was able to plant over 2000 trees and build 3 stoves, thanks to the planning and organization of the AIRS staff, and the hard work of volunteers, staff and people in the local villages. And, since the AIRS staff continues to work and follow up long after volunteers leave, the work we did will have a true lasting impact. I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to participate in such important work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013

more

August 18, 2013

This was my first time as a volunteer for a non-profit outside of the US. I have not traveled very much outside the US, but have always been interested in environmental causes. Reforestation in Guatemala is approached by AIR not only by planting trees, but also by involving the local Mayan communities in the value of reforestation and in educating students in the science of aggro-forestry and conservation. By contacting and organizing local farmers to grow the plants, they help instill in the villages a sense of community, responsibility, and achievement that can be passed on to the next generation. Both volunteers and villagers work together, promoting common goals of conservation and community service. We planted 1,842 trees in 4 days and formed a wonderful bond with the people.
The AIR staff were so amazing in making sure all details of our stay were taken care of. The staff is also responsible for the curriculum in the school and the level of conservation education that they demonstrated in the programs was impressive. The staff are very dedicated to the mission of AIR and to making our stay a most amazing adventure. I will definitely be back and hope to bring my son with me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a thing. They were very accommodating.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2013

more

August 11, 2013

This was my first nonprofit I have ever volunteered for and I hope that I can volunteer for them again. It was an amazing experience that I am so grateful to have. I couldn't offered my time or money to a better place. Thank you AIR for allowing me to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only recommendation I have for AIR is that they incorporate more studies that find out how much the stoves decrease the amount of wood needed and the exact seedling survival. Also, to have a study that looks at how to make a stand more healthy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

As a former scence and biolby teacher, this is my most meaningful volunteer mission trip to Guatemala. AIR offers a wonderful win-win concept of helping both the Mayan people and the world enviornment, by participating in reforestation projects. This is a win for the local highlands inhabitants who benefit by prevention of their hillsides from washing away, as well as give them a sustainable fuel source for their cooking fires. AIR's constuction of more fuel efficient stoves which use less than half the amount of wood needed to prepare their family's meals is good for the environment as well as health benefits to the women and children by safely directing the harmful smoke out of their dwellings. Yes, there is some down right hard and dirty work to be done...but eveyone leaves knowing this is indeed a long lasting work for good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

I spent a week this past summer working with AIR this past June. I was so impressed with the dedication they showed to engaging communities in the conservation process. I have always been a big proponent of the idea that for conservation to be sustainable, it must have the support of those local communities that live on the land. This seemed to be the primary principle observed by AIR. AIR is staffed by local, indigenous folks to work closely with each community in which they plant trees. It seems to be working as every community we visited seemed grateful for the work that AIR had put into their community and had a real interest in re-planting the forests around their community. I have nothing but praise for every member of this non-profit and the work they are doing. Keep it up!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

I heard of AIR in January and volunteered in June. The staff in country were professional, personable and very interested in their work and helping their fellow countrymen and the environment. The technical staff develop real bonds with the people they help and we were made a part of the group, even with a language difference. We were made to feel welcome, useful and part of the team. The office staff kept every part of the time we were there organized and useful. They even planned adventures for fun with the same efficiency as the work we did. The technical staff goes into mountain villages and develops real relationships with the people. When we came in to do the volunteer work, we worked with some of the villagers and were fed very well by them. They seemed to be very pleased we were their. It was such a good experience that we are planning to return next year. We were very impressed with the entire AIR operation and look forward to a long relationship with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be at a loss to know where to begin. The operation is run in country by locals who are trained and care about their country and the people withwhom they work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

The week I spent with the technicos in Guatemala was personally rewarding. We planted tress and built stoves. Each step of the way the families and communities worked with us. The technicos helped explain the concepts we implemented and also helped with the communication. Knowing that the accomplishments of the past week directly and immediately improved the families' lives was worth the aches and pains.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add a new category to the funding requests to include general operations. A.I.R. does an excellant job promoting the trees and stoves but they also need to increase the number of technicos to service more communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I had the pleasure of working with AIR in June, 2011. Simply put, the work done by this relatively small group of dedicated individuals is just amazing. AIR reaches out to the community, teaching farmers the benefits of agroforestry, forming co-ops to grow tree nurseries, building fuel efficient stoves, and digging post hole after post hole to plant thousands upon thousands of tree seedlings. During my time there I dug post holes, planted seedlings, helped to paint an office, and one day helped to install chimnies on two stoves. This involved cutting a flue into the concrete, sealing the two pieces of the chimney together, then to the stove itself, and cutting a hole in the roof (with tin snips) to allow the chimney to pass through. I speak precious little Spanish, but one does not need a translator to understand the smile on the face of a happy and proud stove owner. The staff of AIR is hard working, and dedicated to improving the lives of the people of Guatemala one family, one community at a time, and I am very glad I had the opportunity to meet and work with them on this, their life-long mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers