Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

My experience with AIR started with my desire to provide forestry college students from Montana with firsthand experience in the operation and challenge of community-based reforestation in a developing country. A week of volunteering with AIR fit this goal perfectly and proved hugely instructive for our group of 8. Anne Hallum provided skillful leadership, insight, and dialogue; the AIR reforestation staff were friendly, knowledgable and engaging; and all details were meticulously, professionally managed. Working together with AIR and numerous community members to restore Guatemala's was a tremendous learning experience, and one that I intend to repeat with more students for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 1, 2014

As a nonprofit CEO, I especially appreciate AIR's low administrative and overhead costs. Funds contributed are used responsibly and for the benefit of the people and environment of Guatemala. Volunteering for AIR this past summer was a rich and memorable experience, and one I hope to repeat in the future.
August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Dr. Anne Hallum at a North Georgia Presbyterian meeting in Athens, GA. She spoke with such passion about her organization, AIR-Guatemala, a nonprofit that promotes agro-forestry. I knew I wanted to see with my own eyes the wonderful things that her and her team were doing there. After arriving in Guatemala, I was immediately moved by the hard work and the dedication of her staff, who are all native to Guatemala. This, I believe, is the key to AIR’s successful program. The technical staff develop close and trusted relationships with the people they help. We, too, felt that closeness, even with the language barrier and the short amount of time spent with each other. The AIR staff always went out of their way to make us feel part of the team. The people of Guatemala were welcoming and were much appreciative of our presence. The communities are taught how and where to plant and develop beautiful tree nurseries. Each day, we traveled to a new community, meeting new people and working side-by-side with them.
Knowing that the accomplishments of planting trees will directly and immediately improve the lives of the community, this made volunteering for AIR a truly wonderful experience for me. I applaud Dr Hallum and the entire AIR staff for truly changing the world one tree at a time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

My 17 year old son and I volunteered in the summer of 2013 with AIR and it was an amazing experience. We worked side by side in God's good earth, planting trees and helping the native people improve their lives and health by building stoves. More than the demanding physical labor (as satisfying as it was), we enjoyed the ministry of presence. We ate lunch daily with the villagers at the particular site where we were working that day. We were recipients of their gratitude as they cooked generously for us, sharing what they harvested from their land. We will always remember AIR and the tangible good work this organization does for not only the people of Guatemala but for the environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

Volunteering with AIR in Chimaltenango, Guatemala was truly an amazing experience. From interacting with different cultures, to witnessing how dynamic and involved community members (esp. the women) are in protecting their environment was truly fascinating. Their work not only caters to the natural environment but to personal development and whether you are a local community member or an overseas volunteer you get to witness the strengths and beauties of the local individuals you work with and how their commitment to each other produces incredible results and an effective organization.

Many organizations preach sustainability but AIR is by far THE MOST sustainable organization I have ever had the pleasure of working with. Over 20 years strong, this organization is a prime example of how great things come in small packages.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I’ve always possessed a strong desire to travel on a volunteer trip to see how others less fortunate than myself lived and contribute help in any way I am able. When the opportunity arose to do just that with AIR, I jumped on the chance, even though I knew very little about the organization. After arriving in Guatemala, I knew within the first day that I had made the right choice – and that it was going to be life-changing!

Dr. Anne Hallum and her AIR colleagues are the most passionate and kind-hearted people I've ever met. The employees of AIR are all local to Guatemala, fighting deforestation of their country and helping to preserve the future of their people. Not only is AIR helping local farmers and the environment, they are educating children through scholarships and creating a healthier environment for many women by building safer stoves. Being a part of their team for a week with a group of incredible people was a humbling and fulfilling experience.

We were able to see many of the people whose lives were greatly improved and forever changed by the impact of AIR’s work. Although I knew very little about AIR only a few months ago, it has changed the way I view the environment, it has made me into a more conscious and aware shopper, and it has become an organization I will always try to work into any and every conversation to spread the word! I’m forever grateful to Dr. Hallum, the employees of AIR and all of the people I met in Guatemala for this incredible experience. I look forward to next time!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am extremely impressed with the work done by AIR! I had the opportunity to volunteer and help plant trees with a group of wonderful people this June. We also got to observe some of the wood stoves that were built and got to see first hand how they immensely changed the families lives for the better. The staff of AIR live in Guatemala and it is obvious they are passionate and proud of their work. Dr. Anne Hallum has created this amazing organization, and is truly making a huge difference in thousands of lives in Guatemala. I was honored to have the opportunity to be a part of this work, and hope to do it again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 7, 2013

This organization has made a remarkable difference with a skeleton crew and a bare-bones budget in the countries of Guatamala and Nicaragua. The staff goes into villages and helps the residents first... more

May 29, 2014

This organization has been in existence for 21 years working in Guatemala. In that period of time, with a staff of just eight technicians and an annual budget of less than $200,000, it has worked with volunteers to plant over 4 million trees all by hand, establish tree nurseries in 130 communities, and build some 800 stoves which use less wood for cooking thereby saving a half a million trees. In addition, the staff works with 200 schools to teach the importance of conserving and reestablishing the forests in Guatemala. I have served as one of the volunteers in Guatemala planting the trees and observing what this amazing organization does on such a limited budget.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is too successful to make any changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013

This organization has made a remarkable difference with a skeleton crew and a bare-bones budget in the countries of Guatamala and Nicaragua. The staff goes into villages and helps the residents first establish tree nurseries, teaches them how trees benefit their lives including how to farm using the trees to prevent erosion, and then helps them plant the trees from the nurseries. They also help the villagers build ovens that use much less wood for cooking so that fewer trees are cut down. In addition the staff goes into the schools to teach the children the importance of protecting the forests. This organization is definitely worthy of winning a 2013 Top-Rated Award.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2012

I have personally been to Guatemala to see and participate in the work that this organization does to restore the forests there. On a bare bones budget a small, but very dedicated staff, works with farmers and villagers to grow trees in nurseries and then transplant them all throughout the country. Since AIR came into existence millions of trees have been planted and farmers have been taught how to grow crops without clear cutting all the trees on their land. The villagers have been taught how to build energy efficient stoves that don't require as much wood in order to cook their food. The staff also goes into the schools to teach children about tree conservation and how their way of life depends on sustaining the forests. The work that this organization does is very important and deserves much support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 14, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 14, 2013

Very impressed with the percentage of monies going to Guatemala and not for administration fees. Dr. Anne Hallum and her tireless efforts have been an inspiration to me and all those who know her. I strongly urge anyone that is looking for a non-profit that provides the most "bang for the buck," look no further!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Es una organización que se preocupa por el medio ambiente ayuda con la reforestación de siembra de arboles, y al mismo tiempo apoya a varias personas con el estudio de sus hijos e hijas, es una institución que promueve a las familias a desarrollarse en su medio natural y a ser un ejemplo para la humanidad para cuidar el medio ambiente.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers