Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.912285
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I became more involved personally as an usher when the company I work for started sponsoring the Alley Theatre many years ago. The staff and actors are amazing. Because I try to usher once a month, I've seen plays which I would not have chosen on my own to see but thoroughly enjoyed, which has made it quite evident that the selection of plays is so varied that everyone will find something to "must see". Volunteers are treated with respect and like one of their own. I've recommended friends who have become ushers too. I am their biggest fan! Monika B.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

The Alley theater not only provides good quality programming for the community as a whole, they have many out reach programs for children and artists. As a volunteer, I have been part of these opportunities. To see a child attend their first live theater performance is wonderful. They are so excited and learn so much. I have ushered at The Alley for years. I have always been treated with respect, courtesy and a level of professionalism rarely found in a volunteer arena. The Alley is a treasure to the entire Houston community and all who walk through their doors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have been an Alley Volunteer for 16 years and have enjoyed my relationship with the Alley very much. The theatre is small enough to be able to have a good seat anywhere one wishes. The actors are fantastic, the stage props awesome, and there is an array of plays to please all patrons. Come to the Alley for a very enjoyable time of entertainment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I spent 15 weeks at the Alley as a Bettye Fitzpatrick Intern in the Marketing department and then was given the opportunity to extend my stay. My time spent at the Alley Theatre could not have been more positive. I was very lucky to be given the chance to explore my love of the arts and find out that there is a place for a young professional with no theatre experience to speak of in the world of professional theatre. The people I interacted with on a daily basis were always ready to help me learn and advance as an intern and the entire company is filled with people ready to help others at a moment's notice. Everyone I encounter at the Alley is genuine and honest in their love of theatre and their desire to offer their skills and talents in creating premiere theatre experiences.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Alley Theatre is a treasure. It is one of the few independent theatres in the country and is one of the few theatres in Houston where people can see an original, quality production. My husband and I started volunteering at the Alley about a year ago. The staff of the Alley always treats us with respect and appreciation. I feel that by volunteering at the Alley, I am helping to provide quality artistic entertainment for the Houston area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I love the Alley Theatre! Each season they offer an excellent selection of plays. Sometimes the material is thought-provoking, sometimes just plain fun, but always quality productions. I look forward to their offerings at Christmas time - can't wait to see Todd Waite as Crumpet the elf!! :-) Have been volunteering since 1999 and will continue to volunteer every year. The house managers work hard to keep us trained and informed, and urge us to make each performance a good experience for the patrons. I think this is the best theatre in Houston.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I've been a volunteer since the 90's and have enjoyed the experience and appreciated the opportunity I was given to see wonderful plays, both new and classic. The student matinees are fun to help with because of watching the reactions of the students. Even those who have obviously come only because it was required of them become caught up in the magic of live theater and find themselves enjoying the whole experience. What a wonderful way to introduce students to classic literature, experimental plays and the wonders of language.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

After a friend invited me to become a volunteer years ago, I went the first time and loved the Total experience. All performances are first class!! What a great place to to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

You're missing out if you don't see the Alley's plays: a wide variety of classics, new debuts, hilarious, drama, historical, modern, timeless, musical, and just plain weird - all well acted and staged in creative imaginative ways. As an usher I feel privileged to get to meet and greet Alley patrons and enjoy a top show to boot.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I feel honored to have the opportunity to support the Arts in Houston by ushering at the Alley Theater. The Alley is an institution integral to making Houston the world class city it is today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers