Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.583335
Write A Review
March 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Charmaine Burnsworth, & very much so involved with the "Ferrell Cats", that live out in the wild. Back 9 yrs ago, I moved here to Brown City, Michigan, and in a Apt Complex. Over a period of time I had gotten involved with havibng a Cat for my Service Animal. I had gotten to know much of cats, not just as a animal, but how much Love they bring into one's life.

After a yr or two, I had gotten acquainted with the Ferrell Cats, those who live within the wilderness. What I had noticed, the way the Ferrell Cat lives, as a family, and of protection, nurturing the young when born, and how devoted they are as a family. I also had noticed how loving they are, but that many had been dumped off after being tamed at one time, and left in the wild, and had been abused.

I than got involved with a Org." Alley Cat ASllies", and gained much knowledge that any money donated to this Org, would go forward to helping these lovely Ferrell Cats, to help with food, medicines, those who had been abused & finding them homes. Now I knew that God gave me the ability to help these beautiful creatures. So, Come on all, Please Let's help save These awesome Cats, who live out in the wild, and to not torture them. They have a life too.

Any Animal Rescue, or Humane Soc, Peta, of the sort, Please help donate even if a dollar, towards the safety of the Ferrell Cat. Alley Cat Allies>>> address>> PO BOX 98179>>> Washington DC, 20077-7140. Please Let's HELP!! I give always to them, the winter months are tough, but there is always a way to help them along. Love them, and they Love us back.

Sincerely Charmaine Burnsworth

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been donating for several years and this is a great organization - they use their money wisely and focus on what I care about - helping cats!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There is a feral cat problem in the small towns in Northern Nevada with some towns not having vets. Alley Cat Allies seemed genuinely concerned with helping solve the problem while helping the cats. We'll see what transpires because they seemed interested in only working with long term people so I gave them the Animal Shelter's phone number although in the past the Shelter only helped with dogs in the area. We are all hoping for some progress and help for the feral cats. Mining is the main industry and the mine's have trailer's etc for their workers and then they get laid off with no notice and many times the people leave their cats behind.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

December 30, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 30, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I live in a wooded area on a road that people typically abandon their unwanted cats. Fall brings an influx of cats as people returning from the shore often abandon their "summer house" cats before moving back home. One year there were sixteen cats and I reached out to Alley Cat to see if they would assist with low cost spaying and neutering by either negotiating with a clinic or providing some funds to help defray costs. Several letters to them went unanswered, but they did put me on their mailing list in an attempt to solicit donations. I found a neutering clinic willing to provide the service at a discounted rate and needless to say I file Alley Cat fundraising letters in the trash.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Alley Cat Allies is one of the first charities I began giving to several years ago (and continue to do so). They are a wonderful organization that truly advocates for feral cats, helps cats with hands-on/on-the-ground actions, and helps to educate the populace about these wonderful animals. They inspired me to start caring for a feral cat colony in my own hometwon, which I do every day with feeding and watering as well as TNR. PLEASE support this fantastic charity that is making a huge difference for cats all over the country!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Pet overpopulation is a terrible problem all over the world. Alley Cat Allies seeks to help neuter, spay and protect homeless cats, which is beneficial for the cats, the local human communities and the environment. Other organizations have proposed (and have carried out) killing strays, but if that were a solution to abandoned pets, it would have solved the problem a long time ago. It hasn't and Alley Cat Allies is taking a caring, compassionate stand to educate, assist and advocate on behalf of homeless cats. They are a wonderful group that I will continue to support (as I have for quite a few years now).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 11, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This organization helped my family over 10 years ago with education and affordable services, and they still send us information. We were able to afford to trap, neuter, vaccinate and repair the shattered leg of a local stray cat. Due to his need for indoor recovery from surgery he became part of our family and is still bringing us immeasurable joy today. We ONLY adopt our pets and we always do so through local animal welfare groups. If we still lived in the Washington, DC area we would be supporting this charity with monetary donations and volunteer time, as it is, our physical and financial support goes to our local organizations serving similar purposes on the upper Eastern Shore of Md., but we are happy to provide support through this endorsement of Alley Cat Allies. I suspect their Charity Rating will improve as their efforts stabilize and they can bring their organizational and fund raising expenses down as a percentage of donations. I heartily recommend supporting this organization in whatever way you can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I do look to Charity Navigator at times but I do not always agree with them or their methods. I look to what good is done by an organization and how their money is spent. I do not agree with the rating they have given here and to some others also. I may be wrong but I am a strong advocate of the Alley Cat Allies and will continue to support them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In the work my neighbor and I did and the feral colony in our two backyards were well managed and numbers are smaller now. I have since moved to a different state but receive reports from my old neighbor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would do not one thing!!!!

May 8, 2010

more

May 8, 2010

Tell your story here and help others understand this charity Alley Cat Allies is a great resource and support system for those of us who take care of feral cats.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

they're experts

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

n/a

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

practice CBSM all over the country

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 8, 2010

more

May 8, 2010

Absolutely outstanding resource, the most comprehensive (and realistic) I've found on how to help both feral and socialized, free-roaming cats that would benefit from indoor homes.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Previously ignorant as to what a feral cat even was, I learned how to best feed, shelter & spay/neuter (TNR) ferals; how to help free-roaming cats who were comfortable with human interaction & how to handle the discovery of kittens. Priceless info.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers