Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

My sister has been a resident at NHS Allegheny Valley School since 1992. She receives simply exceptional care. Every member of staff is extraordinary and does a tremendous job of providing a nurturing environment that offers her the opportunity to grow and function at her fullest potential.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

Our son has been a resident of NHS AVS for almost 30 years, and we could not be more pleased with his care. The staff has always shown kindness and compassion in working with Tommy, and his happiness in being there is testimony to their efforts. I also serve on the Human Rights Committee, and visit one AVS facility almost daily,so I have the opportunity to see AVS from many angles, and it an outstanding organization in every respect.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

Even though I have a disability doesn’t mean I can’t have independence in my life. It’s hard for me to do a lot of things on my own which means I can’t live in an apartment like other people with disabilities can. So I live in a group home which is called NHS Allegheny Valley School to help me be more independent. I have learned to do more things than where I used to live like sorting my own laundry into laundry baskets. And put them in the washer and dryer on my own. I have learned to pack my own lunch put my lunch in the fridge, and put it into my lunch box. I have learned to do household chores where I live now. I have learned how to make my own bed in the morning. I also learned how to do my own hair in the morning. I really enjoy having these goal plans to help me become more independent. I have learned to pick out my own clothes the night before for the next day so that I can get dressed in the morning. I have learned to unload the dishwasher for the next meal and learned how to put everything away where it belongs. And I also learned how to put my stuff in the dishwasher after breakfast. I have been going to the grocery store on Wednesdays near where I live and help get groceries for my house. I have been going swimming some months at Main Campus with my friends to help get my legs stronger. I actually was able to walk at the park with my crutches to help get my legs stronger. I am happy at NHS Allegheny Valley School. I am learning a lot and becoming more independent.

Megan – NHS/AVS consumer – excerpts from an essay she wrote about what she’s learned in the time she’s lived at an NHS/AVS home and participated in an NHS/AVS day program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

My sister has been a resident of NHS Allegheny Valley School since July of 1983. She has always been treated with respect and shown kindness, care and patience by both staff and administration. It is the best thing that ever happened to her, and although it took a few years, she now calls it home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

My daughter has been an AVS resident for many years and has always received excellent care. I have always appreciated the timely and accurate communication from the staff and I know my daughter could not be in better hands. In a word or two, AVS' services and concerns are outstanding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Our organization hosts the Pittsburgh Vintage Grand Prix, a 10 day event each July that includes vintage racing through city streets. AVS has worked alongside us for 30 consecutive years to supply volunteers and to help stage the event. We donate the proceeds to AVS and could not be more pleased with the relationship. The professionalism of their staff is top notch and the organization is a model for its peers nationwide. We know that our donation is well appreciated and is put to good use. Many of our sponsors and volunteers have visited the AVS facilities and we have even gotten the chance to form relationships with several of their clients - it is a life changing experience!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

My son has been a resident of NHS Allegheny Valley School for over 20 years. It is his home and they are also like family. We are so grateful for the care he and the other residents receive. Being on the Human Rights Committee as a community member and parent, I can't stress enough how each individual is valued. The staff are so loving and involve the residents in so many activities in the community. Also the programming is suited to each individuals needs and capabilities. The administration surpasses anything I've experienced in its longevity and direct involvement with the residents. With that said, NHS AlleghenyValley School is the most fantastic ICFMR and has surpassed any of my expectations for an alternative living facility for my son!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

Allegheny Valley School is an exceptional organization. Our son has been a client for over 20 years and has received consistent, high-quality care during that time. The organization has a tremendous network of volunteers and supporters that keep it functioning at a very high level. As an CPA auditor I have worked with other group home providers in Western Pennsylvania, but have yet to find one with the positive qualities of Allegheny Valley School. Even with the necessary changes time brings, AVS has remained solid and caring at all levels. Just can't say enough.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I work for a company that delivers holiday gifts to the residents at Allegheny Valley School as part of its yearly charitable endeavors. When we deliver the gifts, it is a joy to see the dedication and compassion of the caregivers in action. They are one committed group of people who love what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Our motorcycle club (The Sunset Riders) have been conducting a charity ride with AVS for nearly 20 years. The staff and the clients have always been a pleasure to work with. The staff volunteer many hours of their free time to assist with the event and are always happy and cheerful - even though they are giving up a Saturday! Everyone there always works hard to help us make the event a success. We applaud both their mission and the professionalism of the staff. Thank you AVS! Dave Gilliss, President, Sunset Riders MC

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers