Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
144 Reviews
1234.868065
| 1 ... 8 9 10...13 |
Write A Review
February 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 16, 2009

I have volunteered with Hands On Disaster Response on two different occassions. The first time was in Iowa, where they were responding to flooding. I spent 2 weeks in Cedar Rapids. The second time was... more

February 29, 2012

It was back in 2008 when I heard about All Hands. I wanted to find a more meaningful way to spend my fourth of July vacation and All Hands (HODR at the time) was responding to the flooding in Cedar Rapids. I had the opportunity to first hand see the effects of the disaster and help out in a meaningful way. Working side by side with other volunteers and families to help the community recover was a truly amazing experience. I had never felt to welcome and valued and helpful in my life. The organization spends its money directly supporting volunteers to help communities recover from disasters and not on some cushy office or 6 figure salaries for its staff - the money is spent well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2009

I have volunteered with Hands On Disaster Response on two different occassions. The first time was in Iowa, where they were responding to flooding. I spent 2 weeks in Cedar Rapids. The second time was in Haiti when they responded to hurricane & flooding. I spent three weeks this time with them in the city of Gonaives. On the projects, if you volunteer, they had dorm style housing free of charge to volunteers and the also provided meals at no cost. This made it easy to stay for more than a day or two to help in a disaster area. I felt I was making an impact in the community, meet lots of great people. When I volunteered in Haiti, it was amazing to see volunteers from all over the world on the project. The one night we counted, there were people from 12 different countries. I would recommend them for volunteering both in the US and Worldwide.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the projects. You actually spend time working. I have volunteer with a lot of other organization, and you show up wanting to help and work, and then they have all of 2 hours of work for you to do. They are very organized and make sure help gets to where it is needed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spread the word about what they do.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

being able to make a difference and make lasting friends with other volunteers.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

friendly and from such a diverse background. I meet people from all over the US and all over the world.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make a huge impact.

Ways to make it better...

it was great, no complaints.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

people don't know about them yet.

One thing I'd also say is that...

you guys are awesome!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I first volunteered with All Hands on Katrina in 2006, and then again in Haiti in 2010 with my dad. This organization is best for those who want to make a long-term volunteering commitment on a disaster - many volunteers stay for months to see the sponse and recovery through. So, you get to serve alongside people who are commiting their lives to helping others, and this comes through in the whole experience. There are also volunteer opportunities for shorter term volunteers, but a week is considered short term here. I highly recommend this group for someone who is willing to make a big commitment to service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I first worked with All Hands in the summer of 2010 in Haiti and was inspired enough by the people I met and the work we did, to return the following summer. Since the first time I went, two siblings, a cousin and a friend have all gone as well. Even now multiple other friends are applying for the opportunity. The reason I have and will continue to recommend All Hands to anyone looking to do disaster response is, although the work is mostly hard manual labor, the relationships that are fostered between volunteers as well as the local population you work with on a daily basis are stronger than anything I have experienced before. All Hands effectively does their job and has a true sense of purpose for the work they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I worked alongside All Hands Volunteers during the Rhode Island flood recovery effort in 2010 as an AmeriCorps NCCC member. I was so impressed with the efficiency and professionalism of All Hands. I've followed their activities since and hope to get more involved after Peace Corps. You guys are great!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I worked with another NGO in Port au Prince and it was a horrible experience. Then I contacted All Hands, and I saw how things were done correctly. People helping people and done the right way!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

I worked in Philippines with All Hands in early 2012. I count myself as eternally lucky to have found the organisation whilst researching what was going to be a typical vacation to the country. What resulted from contacting them, means more to me, and did more for me as a person, than any other action I've taken in my life. As with many NGOs, the work being done is massively important to the local community and that is the most important thing. However, the organisation itself is so tremendously run, and is infused with such passion and dedication that it has left a lasting mark on me, my actions, and my philosophy in life. It makes you a better person just to witness the fervor with which people tirelessly work for people they have never met. And the local people damaged and knocked down by atrocities can see this more so than anyone else. They have suffered more than most will ever witness in a lifetime, and for a light as bright as All Hands to appear and begin the healing process with such consideration and care, is probably the most lasting effect of an NGO determined to work IN the community, not just for it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

As a 'stay-at-home' mother with older children. I had been longing to volunteer. In January of 2010 the devastating earthquake in Haiti provided just that opportunity. I searched the internet for relief organisations and came across All Hands Volunteers. I thoroughly looked over the website and information they were reporting (safety concerns, lodging, food, working conditions) was so thorough, I knew in my heart this was the organisation I wanted to be a part. All Hands does not sugar coat the hazzards associated with working in a disaster region, so one knows exactly for what they are signing up. Not having many skills, I still felt confident I could be of service. Who knew the effect that not only the people of Leogane, Haiti but also the staff and other international volunteers would have on my life. The staff made sure you knew what was going on by keeping all volunteers up to date on the days progress and future projects through nightly meetings. Working with local volunteers, All Hands does not just arrive to help and get out, but quip locals to continue the work by taking what they learn into their villages and continue the work long after All Hands has left. Had it not been for obligations back home, I would certainly have extended my stay longer than the 2 weeks I was scheduled to work with All Hands. I fully intend to return and work again with All Hands on another project in the near future. Two years have past and the people of All Hands I met/worked along side of as well as the lessons learned are still shaping me. I highly recommend All Hands Volunteers as a trusted organisation that truly desires to help people when they have lost everything and return faith in humanity and hope into their lives through comprehensive local and international dedicated volunteer working teams coupled with compassion for the people. In addition, they also take care of the volunteers that come to aide them in their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This experience greatly effected me through meeting volunteers from all over the world. I worked harder than ever and made life-long friends. It was a fantastic opportunity to learn about other cultures, including the one in which I was working. I learned new painting techniques i never thought I could do and came to understand how buildings in one country can be left standing from a disaster and other countries buildings can be leveled.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

The experience I had working with All Hands in Leogane far exceeded my expectations. The work was difficult yet rewarding. I felt I was making a difference in someones life. Upon returning home, I feel the experience has carried over into my daily life. Paying it forward has been more prevalent. Little things really do mean a lot.

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

I worked with all hands in Haiti 2 years ago. The group was awesome! So kind, helpful, and generous. Wonderful people, I look forward to more work with them in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

All Hands is such a fantastic organization. Putting volunteers to work doing work that needs to be done, with safety and efficiency, is a difficult task, but one that All Hands Volunteers does exceptionally well. If you want to meet amazing people and give something of yourself to a community in need, volunteer with All Hands.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

I had the opportunity to serve with All Hands through an organization I volunteer with called Young Professionals in Foreign Policy. All Hands accepted a group of us to come down for an international service project which we then shared with our thousands of members. It was a great experience and the commitment of the staff and volunteers is touching, which speaks nothing of the value that the community clearly places on their contributions and commitment to sustainable development and community driven recovery efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help gut a house damaged by floodwater or help rebuild a house in New York following Superstorm Sandy Volunteer