Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
144 Reviews
1234.868065
Write A Review
April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

When I was looking to volunteer in Haiti in 2010, I explored the web for the best organizations. When I came upon All Hands I knew I had found an organization that was lean, serious and effective. My subsequent volunteer experiences with All Hands in Haiti in 2010 and again in 2011 proved this to be correct. Only a small percentage of their budget goes to pay for overhead while most goes directly to the prohects that benefit disaster survivors directly. All Hands' track record speaks for itself. Paul Burnore

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

I volunteered with AH in Japan after the March 11th earthquake. I was so impressed with the number of hard working volunteers from all over the world coming together to help those so badly affected. The way AH volunteers were able to integrate themselves into the community had as big an impact as the hard work carried out between 8-5 six days a week. The model for AH, allowing volunteers with various different skill sets to come together on a project, while only asking for you to get to the affected area and to give your time and effort, is for me, the way a non profit should be run. Thanks for the amazing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

I worked for All Hands Volunteers for a month in Tohoku, North-East Japan. The scale of the work done in the time i was there was phenomenal, touching the lives of thousands and bringing them back to their feet. I can offer nothing but my highest respect to the project leaders who instilled the friendly mood of comradeship and team spirit throughout the project in the face of the overwhelming workload and daily struggles of living in a disaster zone. I'll see you again this summer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

After volunteering on two projects, I joined All Hands as staff for five years. I love the organization for its flat and flexible model, which means that volunteers can very quickly be engaged and productive in the community. All Hands also actively cooperates and coordinates with the local government, UN agencies, and other NGOs, giving volunteers an inside perspective on how humanitarian aid works in the field, warts and all. Most importantly, All Hands is made up of amazing people. I never knew who would turn up at each project but I knew the people who did would be just the people we needed, and that we'd learn, grow, and have a lot of fun along the way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

I had the opportunity to volunteer twice with All Hands. My first experience was in Gonaives (Haiti) and my second was in Sungai Geringging (Indonesia). Both experiences were extraordinary. The staff and volunteers are very friendly and welcoming and the work done is extremely rewarding. I highly recommend All Hands to everyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

I've been following these guys around for four years and have loved each of the projects I've worked on. The work is hard but meaningful, it's great to get involved in the community we're helping and I've met some amazing friends working with All Hands. I really can't say enough about how much of an impact working with All Hands has had on my life. So I'll shut up and let you read the rest of the reviews. :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

I have volunteered twice with All Hands. My first experience with the organisation was in 2010 when I joined Project Sungai Geringging in West Sumatra Indonesia. It was a wonderful life changing experience for me, my fellow volunteers and the community in which we worked. I still have very close friendships with volunteers and locals from this project and have returned to the area twice already. My second volunteer experience was in Project Tohoku Japan. It was so rewarding to be able to work on a second project, that was much larger than the first. Once again I made friends for life within the organisation and the community. Both projects have given me more faith and confidence in myself and with humanitarian and aid projects around the world. The staff do an incredible job of co-ordinating the incredibly diverse array of volunteers and do a fantastic job working with and supporting the local communities recover from unimaginable disasters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

I volunteered with Hands On (now All Hands) down in Biloxi, MS back in 2005. The group is well run, effective, and provides much needed help to communities, based on what the community says it needs. All Hands attracts truly extraordianary volunteers, and I have nothing but glowing things to say about the organization. And as soon as I finish grad school I'm going back to volunteer again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

I have volunteered with All Hands both in Leogane, Haiti and Ofunato, Japan. In both of my experiences I was most impressed by the respectful immersion of All Hands into the community that was being served-- truly listening to the community and addressing the problems people were facing. In Haiti, the successful local volunteer program was integral in achieving a supportive and collaborative relationship with the community of Leogane, with a shared goal that brought together the international and local volunteers. I had the opportunity to do a variety of work with the encouragement and support to take on more responsibility—an aspect of the organization that creates a collaborative environment among staff and volunteers in which an idea can be voiced and heard. All Hands brings together hard working, dedicated and passionate people ready to jump in, get dirty and work towards a change. Although hard work happened every day, leaving the community and friends (both local and international) on an All Hands Project was the most difficult part.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

An organisation that immerses themselves within the community to ensure the various programmes they set up to help, actually help address the real problems and the people that need it. It's transparency is rare, and as a volunteer you feel integrated into the decision making processes. 

Those in charge are there for all the right reasons.

Gives everyday people the chance to go and help people, where other organisations make it so difficult. No jumping through hoops. 

Life changing experience. A platform to do amazing things day in and day out and really make a difference in the lives of so l many no matter which project you find yourself. 

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help gut a house damaged by floodwater or help rebuild a house in New York following Superstorm Sandy Volunteer