Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
144 Reviews
1234.868065
| 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I will follow this organization for the rest of my life because their projects provide people with the opportunity to impact communities affected by disaster. The focus of the organization is not to make money, nor is it to fulfill the volunteer's ego. They change the lives of those who they work in aid of and, as a result, change the lives of the volunteers who come to help.
Corporate brands all over the world would kill for the kind of customer loyalty All Hands Volunteers have from people such as myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

It was truly an amazing experience having to work hand-in-hand with other ALL HANDS volunteers in making a difference in other people's lives. A privilege to be under various amazing team leaders and heads who constantly inspire me to do my best, Gutting moldy spaces, basements and attics and the like. Vacuuming, scrubbing and brushing surfaces with anti-fungal soap and then drying them all out with big fans and dehumidifiers. Thank you ALL HANDS for the privilege. Mabuhay!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteered with them in Philippines - the best organization I ever volunteered or work with. I have a chance to learn so much, having no experience with disaster relief before they were great. Patient, make you feel appreciated and we really did some great work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

don't change anything (well maybe even more projects)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I worked with All Hands in Haiti in 2010. The experience definitely changed my life, and it was incredible to see how well loved the organization was throughout the community of Leogane.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I am a traveller from New Zealand and heard about the work All Hands was doing in New York with the Sandy relief. The more I read about them, the more interested I became vs a lot of other volunteer organizations out there. They don't charge, they provide the tools, food and a roof over your head as long as you're willing to get to the site. Awesome.
I signed on and went to Colorado to help out following the recent flooding. Their hearts are dedicated to fantastic causes and make working accessible to anyone with the desire to help.
Really enjoyed my time and enjoyed meeting some of the team out there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I volunteered in August in the Philippines and was incredibly impressed with their organization, valuable work and appreciation of volunteers. I have volunteered with lots of other groups and All Hands definitely surpasses them all! It is one of the only groups that doesn't charge you to volunteer. You find your way to them and then they provide food and somewhere to sleep.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 29, 2012

I heard about All Hands from a few former volunteers in Biloxi, MS and they had nothing but good things to say! After my own experiences volunteering with 1 domestic project and 3 international proje... more

November 30, 2012

I have volunteered with All Hands 4 times over the last 3 years and every experience has been great! My favorite thing about All Hands is their commitment to the community in which they are working. I think All Hands genuinely trys to understand and meet the communities needs. Not only do they meet the needs of the community, but, they also meet the needs of their volunteers, providing a very meaningful and productive experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012


I heard about All Hands from a few former volunteers in Biloxi, MS and they had nothing but good things to say! After my own experiences volunteering with 1 domestic project and 3 international projects, I know exactly what they were talking about! I love to volunteer, but All Hands has been
by far my best volunteer experience. I went into my first international project a little uncertain, but as soon as I arrived I found myself in a house shoveling mud with a group of friendly and welcoming volunteers, and I knew it was going to be a good experience. Then, the first time a home owner brought us coffee and spaghetti I felt like we were really helping people, she wanted us there and we were going to help her get back into her home. They are great at balancing the expectations of the volunteer and the needs of the community. I think this creates projects where everyone can contribute and amazing things get done! This is a great organization that has forever influenced my life. I recommend volunteering at All Hands to anyone who is looking for a chance to help others, work hard, learn something about a community and about themselves, and meet amazing and inspiring people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 18, 2012

My first encounter with AHV was a year ago when I volunteered in Haiti. Retired and looking for something to do, I found All Hands on internet. It was easy to apply to volunteer and the response tim... more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered in Haiti January 2011...3 months later I was on board and working with All Hands. Great organization, does great things with great people. I continue to work with All Hands.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 18, 2012

My first encounter with AHV was a year ago when I volunteered in Haiti. Retired and looking for something to do, I found All Hands on internet. It was easy to apply to volunteer and the response time amazing...a month after applying I was in Haiti gutting, removing debris and helping out at a local orphanage. Life changing experience, even after, a lifetime ... and I am no longer retired. The work I have seen and the enthusiasm of volunteers from around the world made it easy to say yes when asked if I would like to work with All Hands.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Never imagined an NGO could do more than feed a man, however, all hands attempts to teach men how to fish.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with All Hands first in 2011, when I spent three months working in Haiti. Let me tell you, it was hands down the greatest experience I've ever had abroad. The organization did an amazing job at making me feel comfortable and safe since i was arriving alone and didn't know anyone there. and the work! Not only were we doing incredible things, but we were having the time of our lives doing it. The staff was amazing, the other volunteers were amazing, and all of the locals were AMAZING. overall, well, i'm sure you know how I feel about them. More recently I volunteered with them in the Philippines. This time for a shorter period of time, only a month, but my experience was just as great. Getting to build brand new houses for people who have been stuck in a hot, cramped tent for months after losing their home is a great experience. All Hands is doing wonderful things for even more wonderful people all around the world who definitely need the assistance. I will definitely be back in the future!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help gut a house damaged by floodwater or help rebuild a house in New York following Superstorm Sandy Volunteer