Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
144 Reviews
1234.868065
| 1 ... 10 11 1213 |
Write A Review
February 17, 2012

more

February 17, 2012

I worked with All Hands on their transitional schools program in Haiti. I was especially impressed by their apprenticeship program for Haitian volunteers, which saw them partnered up skilled international volunteers. Therefore the legacy was not only the schools they built but the improved outlook for many young Haitians originating from Leogane. I believe this meant All Hands had a far more communicative relationship with the local actors in Leogane; breaking down some of the barriers established by the larger NGOs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 16, 2012

more

February 16, 2012

All Hands clearly demonstrates to successfully make their mission (of gaining a maximum humanitarian aid impact with a minimum bureaucracy) a reality. One example is visible in the town of Leogane, Haiti, that was on the epicenter of the 2010 earthquake. The All Hands program practically entirely cleared the town of rubble within a year and a half, allowing for reconstruction to commence much faster than in other quake striken areas. Powered by a big group of both national and international volunteers, making use of just a modestly sized managerial layer, and mostly light tools and equipment, All Hands truly has managed to become strongly embedded in the local community, whilst outcompeting and outperforming the majority of big budget INGOs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 16, 2012

more

February 16, 2012

I passed through Pisco, Peru in 2007 a few months after the large earthquake there and was so shocked at the destruction that I immediately felt a very strong need to help out in a practical way. Two days later I was welcomed as a new volunteer at the Hands on Disaster Relief (now All Hands Volunteers) compound, set up camp in a small pup tent and was put to work. I thought I would stay for a week but I stayed for a month demolishing severly damaged adobe brick homes and clearing rubble six days a week. Once the sites were cleared families were able to put up a tent to live in or begin construction on a new home. After three weeks I joined a team constructing very simple classrooms to enable local children to return to school. I was instantly struck by the dedication of the 80 or so volunteers already there and those that joined during my tenure, the transparent and egalitarian leadership of the organisation and the easy comradery that unfolded amongst the volunteers. I made friends instantly and this helped me maintain the motivation to keep on with the hard physical and often emotionally charged work. What I liked most about the organisation was that they were offering very practical hands on assistance to people in real need with a minimum of bureacracy involved. People needed rubble cleared so we showed up with wheel barrows and shovels and we worked until the rubble was cleared and then we moved to the next family that needed help. I also liked that there was room within the operation for people with valuable skills to put them to use. Many of the volunteers I worked with were engineers and got to work helping surrounding villages solve difficult engineering dilemas. During my month I met many volunteers from around the world who displayed such a deep sense of dedication to the cause. People who forewent regular wages, comfort and often times their own safety to help people in need. I feel very priviledged to have spent some time with such kind hearted folk and have a real sense of admiration for them and the organisation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

February 16, 2012

more

February 16, 2012

You can't select staff member from the list above so I'm not sure if I'm allowed to vote but I'm giving it a shot! I signed up to volunteer with All Hands in 2009. I committed to three weeks. I have been with them ever since, in one capacity or another. I found something truly magical and just couldn't leave such amazing people, such rewarding work and such fantastic places. There is something about disaster that can bring out the best in people. Volunteers share things, they give away what they don't need, they talk to each other and actually listen to the answers. People from the communities we work in take us in, share their lives and stories with us, give us food and gifts from what little a disaster has left them. All Hands volunteers work harder than anyone I've ever seen before, for no monetary reward, for the satisfaction of helping someone who's found themselves in a tough spot. They work at night, in the rain, and on their days off. All Hands provides a space for people, whoever they maybe, wherever they may be from, whatever skills they may have, to give their sweat and smiles and aching muscles to disaster-impacted communities around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

AHV is, quite simply put, like a giant, borderless, family. One that does not care about age, gender, colour, or creed. The only common thing that they ask all volunteers to have is the desire to help. And help, they do. Post disaster, they are among the first on the ground to assess....to see if the model of manpower, of volunteers, can assemble far from their own homelands and find a way to HELP. To dig, to smash, to build, to clean. All Hands fosters the kind of experience for volunteers in disaster response that allows them to become selfless heroes, stronger, smarter and more experienced members of humankind. The personal reward is unspoken and the warrior bond of these volunteers, these human freaks, this giant family, carries you through all your days after the journey ends. And, like family, for many, one disaster leads to another, and good-bye is simply, 'until we meet again'.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I discovered this organization in 2007 in Pisco, Peru while I was backpacking through South America. I planned on trying it out for a week, but believed so much in the services we were providing that I stayed on for another 2 months and then traveled to Bangladesh to help with Project Rayenda. With All Hand's, then 'Hands On', style, volunteers could express their opinions and ideas openly and could be assured that they would be considered, without the huge bureaucracy that is present with other organizations. I feel that in this way we could respond much more quickly to the various needs of the communities we served. This gave us a sense of empowerment and allowed us to feel more than just temporary volunteers, but in a way take ownership of and to always feel a part of this great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

The best decision I've ever made was to volunteer with All Hands in Haiti following the earthquake in 2010. As someone with no prior experience working for an NGO I really had no idea what to expect, but my experience working with the local and international volunteers was truly a life-changing event. All Hands is unique in that they welcome unskilled workers, giving everyday people a chance to do extraordinary things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

How do I give All Hands six stars? Seven? I joined this NGO in Indonesia in the fall of 2009 and I keep getting my foot stuck in the door disaster after disaster because the people I found feel like home. I was going to stay in Indonesia for three weeks. I stayed there for four months, then Haiti for four months, and then Alabama for three months. I worked primarily as a demolition team leader, taking down damaged homes using sledgehammers, ropes, and homemade scaffolding. In other places, I helped on rubble teams, making immense piles of debris and clearing slabs so families could rebuild. Often scarred and bedraggled looking, our volunteers can best be described as "rabid." Their insatiable need to run with wheelbarrows in challenging conditions to serve complete strangers across the globe is inspirational. They work hard, play hard, often forget to bathe, and are some of the most selfless and compassionate people I've ever encountered. Their resourcefulness in the face of social, cultural, and logistical adversity amazes me. AH's uniqueness stems the organization's ability to channel that passion (skilled or unskilled, experienced or crispy green) into constructive projects fully integrated within a community through strong relationships with local public figures. Even globally-recognized NGOs commented in Haiti that All Hands had an outstanding relationship with the community, initiated by the sight of our volunteers eagerly clearing debris from properties. This group has built schools in places where there are no trees or cement and toilets in places where there is no plumbing. They've turned an abandoned cow pasture into a hotbed of manufacturing that will benefit hundreds of Haitians for years. They've provided potable water for the next five years to thousands in the midst of a cholera epidemic. They've redefined how domestic recovery efforts are organized technologically. Writing this review makes me so mad that I'm sitting in a Starbucks in Tennessee and not a bunk in the Philippines where, just last week, thirty volunteers ran to the IDP camp across the street in the middle of the night to dig ditches in a torrential rain storm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I volunteered with All Hands after the 2008 Hurricanes in Haiti. All Hands was working there well before the worldwide media attention from the earthquake. Immediately upon arrival I was blown away how well organized and incredibly efficient the All Hands team was - and is. For a group with such a wide reaching and lasting impact to be able to constantly support a robust and ever-changing volunteer base is incredibly impressive. As I continue to work for other non-profits in this field, and as I've worked on my masters in International Development, I am constantly reminded of how well All Hands does things. They use their volunteers as real workers, getting the most out of them and insuring that they have a deep, broad-reaching impact. A truly distinctive organization worthy of recognition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

Volunteered in Haiti following the Earthquake. It was an amazing experience. The staff were ever so helpful, driven, dedicated and professional. There was a true contact/medling happening with the community which made our work there ever more so valuable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help gut a house damaged by floodwater or help rebuild a house in New York following Superstorm Sandy Volunteer