Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
145 Reviews
1234.868975
Write A Review
February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

I had the opportunity to serve with All Hands through an organization I volunteer with called Young Professionals in Foreign Policy. All Hands accepted a group of us to come down for an international service project which we then shared with our thousands of members. It was a great experience and the commitment of the staff and volunteers is touching, which speaks nothing of the value that the community clearly places on their contributions and commitment to sustainable development and community driven recovery efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

I simply can't say enough about All Hands volunteers. My original plan was to join them for five days on their Minot, ND project. That lasted nearly two months and then I immediately joined their project in Haiti upon leaving. If that doesn't say enough about the organization then I'm not sure what will. In every aspect, from the project managers, to the upper level staff, to the work itself, and the impact it has on people's lives, I could not envision a better group of people going out and changing the world the way that All Hands does.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

I volunteered with All-Hands back in April of 2010. Besides being an incredibly well run organization that looks to help where the need is greatest, it also allows volunteers to help out who would be rejected from other disaster relief agencies. As a poor ski bum, I would never have been able to afford the mandatory donations that some of the other agencies required to help. It seemed backward that in order to volunteer, you needed to pay. All Hands takes advantage of the volunteers who have heart, but not necessarily money. Their staff is incredibly directive, and treats every person like a family member. With such a relationship in place, actions are able to take place with high efficiency. You work hard for those around you, under the careful direction of those in charge who know where the need is greatest, and you do it not because you could afford to donate, but because you want to donate your time and effort and heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

I volunteered with All Hands Volunteers in Leogane, Haiti, in March 2011, when I led a team of young professionals from NYC and Washington DC. Our whole team was deeply impressed with the impact that All Hands was making in Leogane, especially in terms of community building and empowering local residents. The same day our team returned to their homes from Haiti, the earthquake and tsunami disaster hit northern Japan, and the friends that we had made at AHV mobilized for an assessment trip to Japan by the end of the weekend. I highly recommend All Hands from both a donor and volunteer prospective.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I lived in Japan a few years so of course I wanted to volunteer after the tsunami. I saw lots of postings around the 'net from various people with no experience wanting to rush off to Japan and I discouraged them from doing that because I knew the substantial language and cultural obstacles. All Hands really impressed me with how they were able to integrate local volunteers and foreign volunteers in a way that everyone could have a job to do and learn from each other. I heartily recommend them to anyone who wants to volunteer but worries they lack experience or knowledge of local language/culture. I'm hoping to volunteer with them again in the Philippines but I don't know yet if their project Cagayan de Oro will continue until my vacation time.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Touhoku, Japan

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

If possible, arrange for smaller sleeping spaces so the snorers don't disturb the sleep of so many.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

New friends, new perspective.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great! I really wished I could have stayed longer.

February 19, 2012

more

February 19, 2012

The earthquake in Haiti disturbed me and I wanted to do something "hands on". I had volunteered in the UK and other parts of the world but never following a disaster. Being an old geezer with no skills or experience to help with medical or reconstruction work, I really did not expect to be of any use. But I found All Hands on the internet and they said I could join their volunteers in Haiti - lack of experience and age no problem. I found a multinational team of committed, hard working, and respectful people of all ages and backgrounds, but with an outstanding common sense of purpose. I was in tears when I had to leave, and went back 3 more times during 2010/11 shifting rubble, clearing mud and rebuilding schools. I have worked with many nonprofits, large and small, but AHV is the most effective organisation I have encountered by a long, long way. AHV's ability to squeeze everything out of its resources, to mix skilled and unskilled, local and international volunteers, to manage with a tiny team of the most amazing people I have ever had the privilege to meet, to innovate and empower in its approach to work and, above all, to dedicate itself to responding to the real and immediate needs of local people...makes it a remarkable organisation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Leogane, Haiti

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The biggest effect on me was to realise that there are so many hugely talented young people who are prepared to give up a "normal" money-based life and career in order to dedicate their time, energy and often health to make a positive difference to the lives of others.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Proud to have been part of the AHV team in Haiti. Privileged to have had the opportunity to be there. Humbled by the resilience of the Haitian people in the face of such a hard existence. I came away each time with much more than I could contribute.

February 18, 2012

more

February 18, 2012

I was planning to go to Japan to live and work and then the earthquake and tsunami struck. I decided to volunteer and looked for opportunities to do so. I couldn't find anything as everyone required emergency response training and the like which makes total sense. I found All Hands later and applied. Their strategy is simple and almost contrary to most other volunteer/charity organizations. They help one person, one family at a time using unskilled labor paired with skilled labor. I went for 2 weeks and that turned into 4 months. I really like this organization and would definitely do this again with them as they kept things simple. I didn't have to worry about $ other than to get to Japan or about shelter. 6 days I week I got to get up and work all day to help the people here and I was surrounded by likeminded people seeking to do the same thing. Many thanks All Hands.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 18, 2012

more

February 18, 2012

I was initially planning on staying with All Hands for only two weeks on their St. Louis, MO project and ultimately ended up staying nearly 3 months on 3 different US projects (a common story among volunteers who fall in love with the organization). All Hands is a family, and it is comprised of some of the hardest-working, most well-intentioned and dedicated people I've ever had the pleasure of knowing. From top to bottom, the organization is obsessed with creating the largest impact with the least amount of bureaucracy, and I believe they go above and beyond in accomplishing that goal. Never have I encountered another organization so fully engaged in and dedicated to their work. I can't wait to get to another project again, and to see how far All Hands can go in their mission to help those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 18, 2012

more

February 18, 2012

Like everyone else, I stumbled across All Hands because I was overwhelmingly compelled to do something...that desire 'to do' changed the course of my life. As a Volunteer with All Hands I was given the freedom to be as involved as I wanted as quickly as I could demonstrate myself as a competent and trustworthy individual. By the end of my second week I was team-leading crews responsible for gutting homes affected by Hurricane Katrina. That experience lead me to quit my job and follow All Hands around the world and the US helping communities affected by disaster.

All Hands provides a platform that enables good people to do good things often times for complete strangers. For me, it's the mix of like-minded and passionate individuals coming together for the sole purpose of helping that has led me to want to strengthen and support All Hands.

I believe in what this organization does and as its current Director of Operations it is my goal to continue to provide opportunities to Volunteers to have a tangible and meaningful impact in communities affected by disaster.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012

more

February 17, 2012

My wife and I had been volunteers for All Hands on 3 different projects. Japan being the last one. We were impressed until we came to Japan, after our experiences there, with the staff that was in charge, we will never volunteer with this organization again. We are also going to pull all our funding's and have our friends do the same. We had never seen so many unqualified disrespectful people in charge, who not only abused their positions but the people we were supposed to helping, too. The volunteers were great and respectful, but the staff was a disgrace. The atrocities we witnessed performed by the male in charge and his boss were unfathomable and I had not seen such a disrespect and ignorance towards a culture and people in such need. We heard from friends that the management had changed for a short time, to a Japanese resident, but that was just for a short time. This resulted in a slight change of staff but still some of the new staff were as bad as the old staff. We prayed everyday that the stories we heard weren't true.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Actually hire qualified staff, apparently from the top down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Hire experienced staff and contractors to be there at all times.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

New friends we have acquired and some them will no longer volunteer with this group. We all are looking fr new groups now.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Saddened and disappointed.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help gut a house damaged by floodwater or help rebuild a house in New York following Superstorm Sandy Volunteer