Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
146 Reviews
1234.869865
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 29, 2012

I heard about All Hands from a few former volunteers in Biloxi, MS and they had nothing but good things to say! After my own experiences volunteering with 1 domestic project and 3 international proje... more

November 30, 2012

I have volunteered with All Hands 4 times over the last 3 years and every experience has been great! My favorite thing about All Hands is their commitment to the community in which they are working. I think All Hands genuinely trys to understand and meet the communities needs. Not only do they meet the needs of the community, but, they also meet the needs of their volunteers, providing a very meaningful and productive experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012


I heard about All Hands from a few former volunteers in Biloxi, MS and they had nothing but good things to say! After my own experiences volunteering with 1 domestic project and 3 international projects, I know exactly what they were talking about! I love to volunteer, but All Hands has been
by far my best volunteer experience. I went into my first international project a little uncertain, but as soon as I arrived I found myself in a house shoveling mud with a group of friendly and welcoming volunteers, and I knew it was going to be a good experience. Then, the first time a home owner brought us coffee and spaghetti I felt like we were really helping people, she wanted us there and we were going to help her get back into her home. They are great at balancing the expectations of the volunteer and the needs of the community. I think this creates projects where everyone can contribute and amazing things get done! This is a great organization that has forever influenced my life. I recommend volunteering at All Hands to anyone who is looking for a chance to help others, work hard, learn something about a community and about themselves, and meet amazing and inspiring people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 30, 2012

money wasted. didn't even tell me how it was being spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 18, 2012

My first encounter with AHV was a year ago when I volunteered in Haiti. Retired and looking for something to do, I found All Hands on internet. It was easy to apply to volunteer and the response tim... more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered in Haiti January 2011...3 months later I was on board and working with All Hands. Great organization, does great things with great people. I continue to work with All Hands.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 18, 2012

My first encounter with AHV was a year ago when I volunteered in Haiti. Retired and looking for something to do, I found All Hands on internet. It was easy to apply to volunteer and the response time amazing...a month after applying I was in Haiti gutting, removing debris and helping out at a local orphanage. Life changing experience, even after, a lifetime ... and I am no longer retired. The work I have seen and the enthusiasm of volunteers from around the world made it easy to say yes when asked if I would like to work with All Hands.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Never imagined an NGO could do more than feed a man, however, all hands attempts to teach men how to fish.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with All Hands first in 2011, when I spent three months working in Haiti. Let me tell you, it was hands down the greatest experience I've ever had abroad. The organization did an amazing job at making me feel comfortable and safe since i was arriving alone and didn't know anyone there. and the work! Not only were we doing incredible things, but we were having the time of our lives doing it. The staff was amazing, the other volunteers were amazing, and all of the locals were AMAZING. overall, well, i'm sure you know how I feel about them. More recently I volunteered with them in the Philippines. This time for a shorter period of time, only a month, but my experience was just as great. Getting to build brand new houses for people who have been stuck in a hot, cramped tent for months after losing their home is a great experience. All Hands is doing wonderful things for even more wonderful people all around the world who definitely need the assistance. I will definitely be back in the future!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

When I was looking to volunteer in Haiti in 2010, I explored the web for the best organizations. When I came upon All Hands I knew I had found an organization that was lean, serious and effective. My subsequent volunteer experiences with All Hands in Haiti in 2010 and again in 2011 proved this to be correct. Only a small percentage of their budget goes to pay for overhead while most goes directly to the prohects that benefit disaster survivors directly. All Hands' track record speaks for itself. Paul Burnore

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

I volunteered with AH in Japan after the March 11th earthquake. I was so impressed with the number of hard working volunteers from all over the world coming together to help those so badly affected. The way AH volunteers were able to integrate themselves into the community had as big an impact as the hard work carried out between 8-5 six days a week. The model for AH, allowing volunteers with various different skill sets to come together on a project, while only asking for you to get to the affected area and to give your time and effort, is for me, the way a non profit should be run. Thanks for the amazing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

I worked for All Hands Volunteers for a month in Tohoku, North-East Japan. The scale of the work done in the time i was there was phenomenal, touching the lives of thousands and bringing them back to their feet. I can offer nothing but my highest respect to the project leaders who instilled the friendly mood of comradeship and team spirit throughout the project in the face of the overwhelming workload and daily struggles of living in a disaster zone. I'll see you again this summer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 3, 2012

more

March 3, 2012

I have been an active board member for 5 years and a donor from the inception of the concept supporting the Thailand Tsunami response in 2006. It has been a pleasure to watch the organization grow & help so many people in need. The staff is amazingly dedicated and talented. The volunteers i have worked with have found it extremely rewarding and have been a big part of the positive experience for me. I love the flexible business model that does whatever the community needs - maximum effectiveness/minimum bureacracy works! I also love the leverage that the volunteers provide as a donor - I know my donations are making a big difference in the communities that we serve. In short, it is the best NGO I have been associated with and I know hundreds, if not thousands of other volunteers feel the same way. Mike McQueeney

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

After volunteering on two projects, I joined All Hands as staff for five years. I love the organization for its flat and flexible model, which means that volunteers can very quickly be engaged and productive in the community. All Hands also actively cooperates and coordinates with the local government, UN agencies, and other NGOs, giving volunteers an inside perspective on how humanitarian aid works in the field, warts and all. Most importantly, All Hands is made up of amazing people. I never knew who would turn up at each project but I knew the people who did would be just the people we needed, and that we'd learn, grow, and have a lot of fun along the way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help gut a house damaged by floodwater or help rebuild a house in New York following Superstorm Sandy Volunteer