Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
144 Reviews
1234.868065
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I will follow this organization for the rest of my life because their projects provide people with the opportunity to impact communities affected by disaster. The focus of the organization is not to make money, nor is it to fulfill the volunteer's ego. They change the lives of those who they work in aid of and, as a result, change the lives of the volunteers who come to help.
Corporate brands all over the world would kill for the kind of customer loyalty All Hands Volunteers have from people such as myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

It was truly an amazing experience having to work hand-in-hand with other ALL HANDS volunteers in making a difference in other people's lives. A privilege to be under various amazing team leaders and heads who constantly inspire me to do my best, Gutting moldy spaces, basements and attics and the like. Vacuuming, scrubbing and brushing surfaces with anti-fungal soap and then drying them all out with big fans and dehumidifiers. Thank you ALL HANDS for the privilege. Mabuhay!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteered with them in Philippines - the best organization I ever volunteered or work with. I have a chance to learn so much, having no experience with disaster relief before they were great. Patient, make you feel appreciated and we really did some great work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

don't change anything (well maybe even more projects)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I worked with All Hands in Haiti in 2010. The experience definitely changed my life, and it was incredible to see how well loved the organization was throughout the community of Leogane.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 16, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2012

All Hands Volunteers leverages the power and passion of individual volunteers in to help communities in dire need (typically in the aftermath of natural disasters) and, in the process, transforms live... more

October 16, 2013

From the beaches of Thailand to the villages of Haiti to the neighborhoods of Long Island, I've volunteered with All Hands, and seen the profound impact the organization has on the lives of disaster survivors (and on the lives of the volunteers themselves). And as a founding board member, I know that you'd be hard-pressed to find an organization that makes more effective use of donor contributions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Establish a significant endowment so that the organization can focus 100% of its efforts on the core mission of helping communities in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

All Hands Volunteers leverages the power and passion of individual volunteers in to help communities in dire need (typically in the aftermath of natural disasters) and, in the process, transforms lives. An on-the-ground volunteer presence (and the "do-power" of those volunteers) makes this organization incredibly effective at delivering real and appropriate assistance in environments that are often inherently chaotic and often not very amenable to the top-down decisionmaking characteristic of traditional nonprofits. AHV's model uses volunteers in an innovative and amazingly effective way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012

I have been a board member of All Hands Volunteers since its inception, I have volunteered with All Hands in Thailand, in Mississippi, and in Haiti, and I am a faithful yearly donor. When a disaster happens, some people will never be content to stand by while others undertake the physical work of recovery. Some people want to do that work in person. These are the people that get on planes and go to disaster zones. When they do, they find All Hands. They come to our base, we give them a place to eat, sleep, and bathe and tools to work with, and they become part of an incredible community. It's a community of volunteers who take matters into their own hands, and with the field-tested methods of All Hands Volunteers, that impulse to help becomes stunningly effective community-based recovery. The organization, through its volunteers, assists individuals and families in rebuilding homes and schools, helps other organizations by becoming an ad hoc on-the-ground labor force, and facilitates innovation in recovery by having a multitude of passionate, hard-working people working- and creatively thinking- on the ground. All Hands Volunteers is an exemplary organization for its impact, its efficiency, and its innovation, and I am privileged to be associated with it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I am a traveller from New Zealand and heard about the work All Hands was doing in New York with the Sandy relief. The more I read about them, the more interested I became vs a lot of other volunteer organizations out there. They don't charge, they provide the tools, food and a roof over your head as long as you're willing to get to the site. Awesome.
I signed on and went to Colorado to help out following the recent flooding. Their hearts are dedicated to fantastic causes and make working accessible to anyone with the desire to help.
Really enjoyed my time and enjoyed meeting some of the team out there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I volunteered in August in the Philippines and was incredibly impressed with their organization, valuable work and appreciation of volunteers. I have volunteered with lots of other groups and All Hands definitely surpasses them all! It is one of the only groups that doesn't charge you to volunteer. You find your way to them and then they provide food and somewhere to sleep.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After researching the charity and looking at their financials I met their CEO and he was extremely motivated and knowledgeable. A real-world ex-CEO who decided to commit his time on helping others. Where there is will and experience the results cannot help but follow!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 29, 2012

I heard about All Hands from a few former volunteers in Biloxi, MS and they had nothing but good things to say! After my own experiences volunteering with 1 domestic project and 3 international proje... more

November 30, 2012

I have volunteered with All Hands 4 times over the last 3 years and every experience has been great! My favorite thing about All Hands is their commitment to the community in which they are working. I think All Hands genuinely trys to understand and meet the communities needs. Not only do they meet the needs of the community, but, they also meet the needs of their volunteers, providing a very meaningful and productive experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012


I heard about All Hands from a few former volunteers in Biloxi, MS and they had nothing but good things to say! After my own experiences volunteering with 1 domestic project and 3 international projects, I know exactly what they were talking about! I love to volunteer, but All Hands has been
by far my best volunteer experience. I went into my first international project a little uncertain, but as soon as I arrived I found myself in a house shoveling mud with a group of friendly and welcoming volunteers, and I knew it was going to be a good experience. Then, the first time a home owner brought us coffee and spaghetti I felt like we were really helping people, she wanted us there and we were going to help her get back into her home. They are great at balancing the expectations of the volunteer and the needs of the community. I think this creates projects where everyone can contribute and amazing things get done! This is a great organization that has forever influenced my life. I recommend volunteering at All Hands to anyone who is looking for a chance to help others, work hard, learn something about a community and about themselves, and meet amazing and inspiring people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 30, 2012

money wasted. didn't even tell me how it was being spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help gut a house damaged by floodwater or help rebuild a house in New York following Superstorm Sandy Volunteer