Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
144 Reviews
1234.868065
| 1 ... 12 13 14 | Next
Write A Review
February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

I've been a volunteer, donor, and Board member for All Hands Volunteers, and think the organization does a great job filling its niche; allowing volunteers to help families affected by natural disasters. In the past year alone 3,500 people volunteered with AHV, and we were able to be effective in Haiti, and Japan, as well as across the US. The smiling faces at the school dedications in Haiti, where we'll finish our 20th beautiful 3 classroom school in March, or the touching "Thank You All Hands" signs that spread across Ofunato, Japan, were wonderful tributes to the value of the engaged volunteer model. The personal relationships formed with communities and among volunteers are priceless.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

I went with 15-20 friends from business school to Haiti and the experience was seamlessly organized and very worthwhile. The folks at Hands On were professional, helpful, efficient, and compassionate. They also tried to optimize our own skills (for some of us, accounting, inventory management, strategy, etc.) and match them to projects where they could make the most impact, while still giving us a high degree of choice. I recommend the organization as highly as possible!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

I first volunteered with All Hands in March 2010, only a few weeks after the devastating earthquake in Haiti. Because of my job at the time, I could only stay for about 2 weeks. Even in that short time, I was able to see what a special place All Hands is. I was immediately accepted and was taught the skills I needed in order to make a meaningful contribution. I left feeling inspired, like I had truly made a difference, and sad that I could not stay longer. In November 2010, I returned to Haiti to volunteer with All Hands for about 3 months. One way that All Hands really excels is that it encourages volunteers to take the reigns and develop projects. I became very involved in the local volunteer project, and was able to create workshops and English classes for local Haitians. I experienced All Hands as both and long and short term volunteer, and have gained meaning from both. I feel that my time at All Hands allowed me to develop my own skills while making a meaningful change on the local community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen the happy faces of kids who now have a school. I have been thanked by families who had rubble cleared off of their land so that they could start to rebuild. I have noticed the improvement in English language skills among the local volunteers who were taking my English class.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Try to decrease the dissonance between long term and short term volunteers

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My time with All Hands changed me in profound ways. It convinced me that going to medical school was the right thing to do. It showed me I was capable of things far beyond what I knew and challenged me to push my comfort zone. Beyond these emotional changes, I learned basic Creole and gained other basic construction skills which I never thought I would learn. Further, I met many interesting, like-minding individuals through All Hands, many of whom have remained close friends who I know will be in my life for a long time.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

My time with All Hands left me feeling inspired and fulfilled. I felt like I was doing meaningful work and was surrounded by a strong community.

February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

I worked with this organization in Japan, in the spring of 2011. It was very well set-up. It was easy for me to get started with them, I met some amazing people via this organization. And most important, I got as much out of the experience as I put into it. To me, that says so much about this extremely important group. They do great stuff. End of story.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 9, 2012

more

February 9, 2012

I love All Hands for the simple fact that it gives anyone who wants to help a place to do so. You can be old, young, skilled, unskilled, seasoned, or not seasoned it doesn't matter, all you need to have is a wiliness to do what it takes. I thank All Hands for accepting me into Project Tohoku, I never worked so hard and felt more satisfied.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 9, 2012

more

February 9, 2012

I met allhands, then Hands On, in Biloxi, MS three weeks post hurricaine Katrina. I had my own thing going on trying to fix a house for a woman with no insurance, and no money. The long and the short of it is, they are awesome and helped me to do the job on time. They fed me, made me laugh sometimes, made me cry when seeing all the good things they did everyday. They came faster, stayed longer, and helped more people than you can imagine. Imagine this; Because of the Tons of debris still lining the streets of Biloxi, halloween was not safe for children this year. Someone from Hands On had a "reverse Halloween idea", which was to have the volunteers dress up in any weird garb they could muster, and go put into the community and bring bags of candy to the children. BTW, this was after they sweated for 10 hours gutting the contents from many a' flooded home in Biloxi. That's what I'm talking about! Changed me forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

February 9, 2012

more

February 9, 2012

Looking for a change, I found All Hands (then HODR) working on projects in Pisco, Peru in 2007 after a massive earthquake there. I had practically no experience of disaster relief work, although had volunteered before in Europe, and upon arriving I was reassured and made to feel welcome. HODR became an extended family to me. I started doing work I never thought that I would be able to do. And the most important thing - the most rewarding thing - was seeing how small changes really affect and improve the lives of the people around you who had lost so much. All it needed was some organisation, some direction, lots of elbow grease and lots of dedication. The 4 months volunteering with HODR in Peru convinced me to return to studying architecture after a long break, and to shape my future career around humanitarian and relief work. I have now been living and working in Kosovo for almost 2 years, working with the resettlement of refugees after the wars of the 1990s, and am looking forward to my next posting. None of this would have happened without HODR showing me that hard work pays off. And the friends I made in Peru - well, they've been the closest every since. The best part is visiting them in far-flung places across the world and learning about the work they are all doing there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 31, 2011

more

July 31, 2011

I signed up to volunteer for two months with All Hands on Project Leogane, Haiti. I stayed for five. My time there was amazing, life changing. It was not just the hands on work we were doing to help the Haitian community, but the friendships that will last a life time. All Hands volunteers are some of the most inspiring people you could ever come across. They drop their lives to help others, travel around the world to work tirelessly in the hot sun, sweating and exhausted by day's end. Then the next morning, they get up and do it again.

Besides the amazing people that sign up to volunteer, the greatest thing about All Hands is that their projects revolve around the affected community's needs. They talk with the community, find out how they can help, then they enable people to come in and respond.

I would recommend All Hands to anyone thinking of embarking on a volunteer experience. As I said, it changed my life...I wouldn't trade my experience in Haiti for the world.

Thank you, All Hands.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

every way. It was not just time in Haiti that changed my outlook on life. I definitely view things in a new light since submerging myself in a third world country. But, my experience with All Hands has impacted my life in huge ways as well. I have now been exposed to a fantastic group of giving people. The staff, the volunteers, everyone involved is full of a contagious passion that I look forward to passing on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way for the staff and volunteers to really connect. They are all so passionate for the same thing. They all want to do the greatest amount of good and sometimes get caught up with the work and forget to connect with one another. Other than that, more projects so more people can volunteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Taught me many new skills. I can now render a wall, build a roof, shovel shovel shovel. I'm handier than I ever thought possible! I also had an opportunity to challenge my leadership skills in new ways.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

:)

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 6, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
April 6, 2010

HODR is unique and unparalleled. It's volunteer-driven: the volunteers find what's needed in a community and propose the projects. HODR provides the infrastructure to support the volunteers and doesn't charge a fee for this.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Haiti (twice), Bangladesh, Philippines, Peru, Indonesia (twice), Mississippi (Katrina), Missouri (tornado)

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Being embedded in the local culture and working with some super volunteers.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Exceptional, hardworking.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Do a lot more rebuilding and provide a life-changing experience for even more volunteers.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

| 1 ... 12 13 14 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help gut a house damaged by floodwater or help rebuild a house in New York following Superstorm Sandy Volunteer