Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
144 Reviews
1234.868065
| 1 ... 12 13 14 |
Write A Review
February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

The best decision I've ever made was to volunteer with All Hands in Haiti following the earthquake in 2010. As someone with no prior experience working for an NGO I really had no idea what to expect, but my experience working with the local and international volunteers was truly a life-changing event. All Hands is unique in that they welcome unskilled workers, giving everyday people a chance to do extraordinary things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

How do I give All Hands six stars? Seven? I joined this NGO in Indonesia in the fall of 2009 and I keep getting my foot stuck in the door disaster after disaster because the people I found feel like home. I was going to stay in Indonesia for three weeks. I stayed there for four months, then Haiti for four months, and then Alabama for three months. I worked primarily as a demolition team leader, taking down damaged homes using sledgehammers, ropes, and homemade scaffolding. In other places, I helped on rubble teams, making immense piles of debris and clearing slabs so families could rebuild. Often scarred and bedraggled looking, our volunteers can best be described as "rabid." Their insatiable need to run with wheelbarrows in challenging conditions to serve complete strangers across the globe is inspirational. They work hard, play hard, often forget to bathe, and are some of the most selfless and compassionate people I've ever encountered. Their resourcefulness in the face of social, cultural, and logistical adversity amazes me. AH's uniqueness stems the organization's ability to channel that passion (skilled or unskilled, experienced or crispy green) into constructive projects fully integrated within a community through strong relationships with local public figures. Even globally-recognized NGOs commented in Haiti that All Hands had an outstanding relationship with the community, initiated by the sight of our volunteers eagerly clearing debris from properties. This group has built schools in places where there are no trees or cement and toilets in places where there is no plumbing. They've turned an abandoned cow pasture into a hotbed of manufacturing that will benefit hundreds of Haitians for years. They've provided potable water for the next five years to thousands in the midst of a cholera epidemic. They've redefined how domestic recovery efforts are organized technologically. Writing this review makes me so mad that I'm sitting in a Starbucks in Tennessee and not a bunk in the Philippines where, just last week, thirty volunteers ran to the IDP camp across the street in the middle of the night to dig ditches in a torrential rain storm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I volunteered with All Hands after the 2008 Hurricanes in Haiti. All Hands was working there well before the worldwide media attention from the earthquake. Immediately upon arrival I was blown away how well organized and incredibly efficient the All Hands team was - and is. For a group with such a wide reaching and lasting impact to be able to constantly support a robust and ever-changing volunteer base is incredibly impressive. As I continue to work for other non-profits in this field, and as I've worked on my masters in International Development, I am constantly reminded of how well All Hands does things. They use their volunteers as real workers, getting the most out of them and insuring that they have a deep, broad-reaching impact. A truly distinctive organization worthy of recognition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first encountered All Hands Volunteers as a volunteer in Pisco, Peru in the wake of the devastating 2007 Earthquake. I found their hands on approach to disaster relief both refreshing and inspiring, though most importantly, measurably effective. Their model of volunteer empowerment based within the local community is made even more attractive as it offers opportunities for everyday people from all walks of life. I have personally witnessed the real difference made to people across the world whose lives have been shattered by natural disasters and people whose suffering has been alleviated in their time of most need by All Hands Volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

Volunteered in Haiti following the Earthquake. It was an amazing experience. The staff were ever so helpful, driven, dedicated and professional. There was a true contact/medling happening with the community which made our work there ever more so valuable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

I started out as a volunteer in Thailand and moved on to directing our Biloxi, MS Katrina Relief efforts. Since then we've seen our small organization grow into a lean, but effective change agent around the world helping thousands of people recover from natural disasters. Helping others should be easy to do... we provide the food, tools & housing to volunteers who want to help others recover from natural disasters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

I've joined with All Hands twice in Haiti and will be leaving later this week for Project Cagayan de Oro in the Philippines. This is a stellar organization led by dedicated young adults, leaders without hierarchy, nomadic, adaptive and prepared, politically motivated without dogma. All Hands is an amazing mix of gender, age, background, experience, passion, wisdom and future dreams. I wish I had more time and strength to give them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

As a previous volunteer for AHV I have nothing but amazing things to say about this organization. Their community involvement is at a such an intimate level with the localities they work in as their operations begin at the grass roots level. The project planning is creative and always aware and inclusive of their surroundings. The relations provided through this experience bridge the extremes of socio-economic conditions and that perspective is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

grow. grow. grow. AHV Global!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

shed more focus upon the empowerment of the volunteer in their marketing campaigns.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Tremendously!!!! Life Changing experience for sure. It taught me skills that I had no clue I had. It taught me that I am a competent leader and this is something I will for ever be grateful for. Volunteering with AHV provided me with such an amazing insight into human condition as it brought about perspective and personified it within a global context.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel amazing. I've never felt better. I've never felt more productive with life. I miss it greatly.

February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

I have been fortunate enough to work on three different projects for AHV over the last four years, and am heading to a fourth. I definitely consider them to be life changing experiences. As an American it's frequently possible to be "bubbled" from the rest of the world -- particularly from nations and cultures so different from what we know. While I appreciate the amazing amounts of help All Hands was able to contribute to each of the communities we served, I felt that I gained equally in return through experiences and interaction both with the local communities and with the many varieties of volunteers. The time was not always easy as amenities are rather spare due to circumstances, and the physicality of the work can be exhausting. Yet in every instance I found the ability to be able to serve another nation, community, and people in need exhilarating. I'm extremely grateful to AHV for the experiences I've had, and I hope to be able to continue to volunteer for them long into the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

I've spent 5 months on three different trips working with All Hands. It does everything a disaster relief organization should do and avoids all the thing such an organization shouldn't do. It is very effective, integrates with the community and devotes a very large percentage of donations to direct relief.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help gut a house damaged by floodwater or help rebuild a house in New York following Superstorm Sandy Volunteer