Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
144 Reviews
1234.868065
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

When I first signed up for All Hands, my friend asked me, "Why would you sign up for a month of not getting paid and still working"? My Only response was, "To do something bigger then myself". All Hands gave me the opportunity to see first hand both the physical and emotional effect super storm Sandy had on peoples lives in Long Beach, NY. You would think that after a year since Sandy hit that people would be back on their feet and able to move on, but even after a year, asbestos is still an issue that I personally came across multiple times within a month.
There is something indescribable about being alongside people from around the world that have all come together to help give residence of Long Island hope in reconstructing what was lost.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Being a volunteer, I was bounced around from house to house, and wasn't able to see a house from start to finish, which I would have liked to have been able to do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When i think of All Hands, there is sunshine in my soul!!! First volunteered with them in Haiti and then again in New York! And can't wait until I can volunteer with them again!
Reasons why I love All Hands!
1. Very organized
2. They are very educated on how and what needs to be done
to get disaster areas up and going again
3. Very very happy and friendly! when you volunteer you are treated like family!
4. Extremely hard working, but we laugh the whole day through
5. They help wherever they can and whoever they can
6. Your time is used wisely you get to the project and jump in to help!
7. Volunteer with All Hands was a very educational experience! They teach you a lot!
8. They are very appreciative to all the volunteers and create a warm happy environment.
Oh I could write so so much more... All Hands in the best organization i've volunteered with.The funding goes where they say it will go, they are down to earth people just wanting to make a difference in this world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was originally dragged unwillingly to the All Hands Volunteers Long Island project with my family. Despite my belief that I would not enjoy my stay at all hands I ended up having a wonderful time. At the end of my family's week I found myself surprisingly disappointed to go home. In the end I decided to take a semester off and spend my time with All Hands for the semester.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My story with All Hands starts in 2009 in the aftermath of the Sumatra 2009 Earthqauke. Whilst only able to give a month of my life over to this fantastic organisation i knew i would be back for more. Fast forward to 2011 and i'm stepping of of a plane in freezing-cold winter, headed for the Tohoku region of Japan, where eventually i became the projects Volunteer Co-ordinator (all 1100+ of them over 6 months)

The work All-Hands does can be tough both mentally and physically, but there's nothing better than an honest days work helping others less fortunate than yourself. All you have to do is get yourself to project, get out of bed on time, get on the truck, work, eat, sleep, repeat. Bliss!!

I've met some amazing people through this organisation who no doubt i'll see again some day, maybe on project, maybe not. I know my outlook on life has certainly changed since my times with these guys, and has definitely opened up career choices and avenues that weren't available to me before.

If you have the time and opportunity, GO!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with All Hands Volunteers after Hurricane Hanna that hit Gonaives Haiti in 2008 and I became a Project coordinator of a cash-for-work program supported by All Hands Volunteers (Hands on Disaster Response) Following the devastating Haitian Earthquake in 2010, I started as a regular volunteer (in March 2010) by doing rubble removal, well rehabilitation, bio sand filter, community cleaning, and other activities.
After 4 months, I became Crew Leader for an organic garden in the camp. I was responsible to organize teams and train them how to plant trees (and vegetables) care for them – including helping with issue related to soil.
From November 2010 until April 2011, I worked as a project coordinator of a cash-for-work program supported by All Hands Volunteers and financed by United Nations Development Programme. In this program we hired vulnerable family members from the communities and organized them in teams to clear residential homes of rubble. From May 2011 until April 2012, I was Project Coordinator for a “Livelihoods” Business Program. In this program, we trained local businesses about how to improve their business practices and practice social responsibility.

Currently based in Seattle, I am learning about environmental education, restoration, maintenance, and leadership. After I complete my six-month internship with Earthcorps, I hope to apply my skills to a reforestation project back home. Deforestation throughout Haiti has created a severe environmental problem, contributing to erosion and flooding during the rainy season.

“The experience working with All Hands was really great for me. These opportunities helped me grow quickly and I started to see myself as someone who could help Haiti even more. It gave me the opportunity to practice what I learned in university and gain even more leadership skills. It gave me more motivation to think about my education and future plans.”

http://hands.org/2013/08/20/local-staff-and-volunteer-jeudy-djemsons-positive/

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Our family spent a week on Long Island helping All Hands efforts with Super Storm Sandy. Never had done anything like this before and I was nervous. We were shown where we could bunk, and the daily routine of the house was explained. Before we knew it the white board was up with the choices of homes to work in the next day. We signed up and never looked back. I recommend helping make dinners in the evening too. Great time to get to know the other volunteers. So many wonderful people. Hands down the most awesome experience our family has had. Our son came home with us and then went back for more. We will do this again for sure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I've worked with All Hands since 2011. This organization has provided me with amazing opportunities to fulfill needs in communities that are rarely met by larger organizations. This kind of flexibility is one of the main reasons I keep coming back, along with meeting and working alongside amazing volunteers and homeowners around the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I had my first volunteer experience with All Hands (then Hands On) in Leogane in 2010 and the experience changed my life. Since then, I've volunteered with All Hands in Alabama, North Dakota and Long Island, and each time the organization has exceeded my expectations with their simple, no-frills approach to heiping those who need it the most. I am now a All Hands Lifer, and I'll be working with them until my children lock me in a retirement community, and even then, I'll be rocking my AH shirt while schooling the other seniors in bridge.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was originally looking to Haiti when I decided to get into volunteering again. The end phase of the job I was working on coincided with the Tsunami in 2011, so I headed that way instead. What I found on the ground was a group of incredibly diverse people who did their best every day to improve the situation in those towns house-by-house and in public spaces.
I'd looked at plenty of opportunities initially and settled on All Hands in large part because of the small amount of the budget that goes into admin and overhead. This means that money and energy are being spent where it should be. Another part was they are a good match for my skill set, and unlike some other places you can show up without tons of prior experience. Some of the most dedicated, interesting people on the projects have never done anything like this before.
It's a powerful thing to be able to show up at someone's house and expend a little effort with a few people for a day or two; then witness them weep because they were feeling like there wasn't an end of the path and they are now around the corner to recovery.
It's some of the most meaningful work I've ever done. A couple times

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maintain the model of low overhead and quick response, maybe make a place on the web for previous volunteers to check-in and state availability status.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with All Hands since Katrina in Biloxi, Mississippi in 2005. At first I was nervous about volunteering with an organization I knew nothing about, but loved the experience so much I returned to Biloxi 3 different times to volunteer. I have since volunteered with them on 18 different projects. I KNOW they have a direct impact on the homeowners/people of every community we help in times of recovering from a disaster.
All Hands affords everyone an opportunity to volunteer, no hoops to jump through, just get yourself to a project. They provide volunteers with food and housing, (nothing glamorous), and plenty of hard work for as long as you are able to stay. No cost, and no experience necessary to be able to volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep the original vision of All Hands and grow from there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help gut a house damaged by floodwater or help rebuild a house in New York following Superstorm Sandy Volunteer