Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

Life is a daily struggle for alot of people, but more so for those living with Down Syndrome and their families. Since the inception of the L.I. Buddy walk in 2007 my family and I have been showing ou... more

October 7, 2013

Seven years ago my niece Allie was born with Down Syndrome. Alexander's angels has helped us meet others going through the same things. It is a family, one that I am proud to be a member of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, it is terrific

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

Life is a daily struggle for alot of people, but more so for those living with Down Syndrome and their families. Since the inception of the L.I. Buddy walk in 2007 my family and I have been showing our support by walking, donating and volunteering our time for this terrific organanization. Esther Gomez and her team (Alexander's Angel's) do a fantastic job every year. Not only are they raising money and awareness for this cause, Alexander's Angel's help bring together families that are going through the same issues. It allows them to bond and share there problems and concerns with each other, it is a family of sorts and I am happy to be a part of it. Maria Polizzi

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I am happy to be a part of Alexander's Angels. I have been a co chair for the Fundraising committee for 7 years and I am happy making a difference each year raising money for adults and children with Down Syndrome. My daughter Alexandra is seven years old and has Down Syndrome she is an active spunky girl and I wouldn't change her at all. Thank you to everyone for helping make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Alexander's Angels is a non-profit organization that helps raise awareness and acceptance with people with Down Syndrome. When I had my daughter that's when I found out she has Down Syndrome. With Alexander angels I feel like it is a day where we can celebrate everything that our children have accomplished. It is a day where the community can all be together celebrating our sons and daughters. I honestly feel like this group really brings people closer together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I began volunteering with Alexander's Angels for their 4th Annual Buddy Walk. I am a student at SUNY Old Westbury, majoring in Special Education. As my interest in my field of study grew, I began researching ways to reach out, volunteer, and learn more. I found Alexander's Angels, agreed with their purpose and goals, and instantly became interested in getting involved. I first began behind the scenes, helping out here and there. This past October we held the 6th Annual Buddy Walk, and I am now the Co-Chair of the Events committee. My commitment and interest has only grown with each year I have been involved with this organization. I've watched the fundraisers and events grow year by year, feeling a sense of pride to be involved in such a caring and growing organization. Not only has this organization made great strides and reached many fundraising goals, but being a part of the experiences has provided me with so much knowledge and a sense of fulfillment. Being a part of this organization has given me the feeling of being part of an extended family. Every person involved has been nothing but warm and welcoming to me since day one. I am very honored to be involved in such a great cause with a great team of support. Alexander's Angels has touched so many lives, including my own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

As a museum professional, always looking for new ways of engaging new audiences and displaying art that represents a broad spectrum of artists, cultures and times, Alexander's Angels provided me with the opportunity to learn about and work with Down Syndrome artists and advocates in an inspiring and creative way. The opportunity to display art at museums and galleries, to invite the artists and their families and to sell their artwork is an example of necessary practices that show the world the value of the work of the artists' involved and creates new ways of understanding Down Syndrome. It has been a privilege and pleasure to work with a small organization that works so hard to present to the world in a very professional way the contributions of individual's with Down Syndrome. Examples of the different exhibitions are • Hutchins Gallery, LIU/C.W. Post - January 14 - 31, 2009, Reception, January 18, 2009. • Casa Frela, NYC - March 14 - April 4, 2009. Reception, March 14,2009• Soapbox Gallery, Brooklyn - April 2011 • Community Gallery, Port Washington Library - Sept. 1 - Sept 30, 2011. Reception Sept. 2, 2012 • 28on27, NYC, March 21 to 29, 2012. Reception, March 21, 2012. Article on this exhibition at http://www.stayclassy.org/stories/a-small-all-volunteer-organization-makes-a-difference-for-down-syndrome

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I am a mother to Maximus, a 5 year old boy with Mosaic Down Syndrome. Until I became involved with the Buddy Walk or Alexanders Angels, the only Down Syndrome support we could find was what was written in articles or Doctors. We firts joined the Buddy Walk 3 years ago and fell in love with all the participants and more importantly the Down Syndrome children they were there to support. The Buddy Walk is all about acceptance and just being around people who can relate to some of the issues a family and Down Syndrome participant face. Alexanders Angels brings advocacy groups to the walk where we are able to get tons of resources for Down Syndrome programs, they display artwork made by Down Syndrome individuals and live performances by Down Syndrome children and adults. They create a forum where these individuals don't stand out because of their DISABILITY but stand out because of their incredible ABILITIES!! I have met so many great families through the Buddy Walk and my friends and family look forward to the Buddy Walk every year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have been lucky enough to be involved with Alexanders Angels since the beginning, in once capacity or another. I can truly say that helping, even in such a small way, has made me a better person and helped me to be thankful for all that I have every day. The people, and especially the kids, whom I have met are all wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

what can i say but alexanders angels has been the most amazing thing to us. every year we look forward to the buddy walk. the feeling of support and love is in the air...........and may be one of the only times our family is all together. we look forward to it and always have such an a fun day. my son is now 6. we have walked every year and plan to do it many more.alexanders angels has brought so much awarness to our community. it helps people to see that these kids can do anything! i am honored to be a part of this wonderful organization, and truly think the people that make it happen are selfless blessed people.thank you alexanders angels..for taking us all under your wings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012


I am the care-giver of Max, a young child who has Mosaic Down Syndrome. We learned of Alexander's Angels several years ago and our circle of extended family and friends love getting involved with the Buddy Walk. It is refreshing to see such a large, enthusiastic turnout for this wonderful
event. While this event is continually a success in raising money for research, services and advocacy for people with Down Syndrome, it is especially noteworthy how much Alexander's Angels is devoted to truly highlighting the unique talents and abilities of people with Down Syndrome. It focuses on their wonderful ABILITIES rather than focusing on their disabilities.

This is so important to me because when I look at this small child, I don't see a child with disabilities. Max is only five years old, but he is a caring, funny, energetic and extremely charming child. I love watching him grow and know he will do exceptional things. Of course, you hope this for every child, but knowing what Max will eventually excel with is more of a guessing game.

Another program Alexander's Angels provides, which I have a particular love for as a photography enthusiast, is 'DOWNrightART,' which is an exhibition of the creative works of artists with Down syndrome. Seeing some of the pieces on display at the Buddy Walk led me to peruse the internet looking at photography by people with Down Syndrome and what I found was incredible. My point here is that it was stand-alone, wonderful photography and became irrelevant that the artist had a 'disability,' because of their wonderful ABILITY. I don't know what sort of interests and talents Max will consider or develop as a young man; perhaps photography or another medium of art won't be his thing…but he will find something and I have no doubt he will be incredible at it.

That is what Alexander's Angels is all about -- looking past the surface and embracing the individual.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

My daughter has Mosaic Down Syndrome and the annual buddy walk and Friendly's fundraiser events are some of the activities we always are involved in. Our newest location for the buddy walk, Tanner Park, was recently damaged by hurricane Sandy. I am hopeful the site that was on the beautiful Great South Bay can become more gorgeous than ever. It was my favorite location thus far. The amount of money this organization has given to research for those with Down Syndrome is extraordinary. The walks are very well organized and have gtown quite popular on Long Island.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers