Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
January 5, 2013

more

January 5, 2013

Alexanders Angel's is a wonderful organization that not only raises money to support individuals with Down syndrome, but also supports, advocates and raises awareness for individuals themselves.

Alexander Angel's has reached out and supported our organization which focuses on individuals
with Down syndrome lending guidance, support and a donation.

When I think of the slogan "We are more alike than different" I think of Alexanders Angel's....Why? They have put on and showed the world that individuals with Down syndrome can in fact do everything that everyone else can do by show casing their talent in art and supporting them. Thank you Alexanders Angel's for being supportive and advocating for our children, showing all the positive things they can do. Your mission is so inspiring to so many who are so often over looked and under estimated. Your hard work and your endless hours of dedication is so very grately appreciated. Thank you Alexanders Angel's for all you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I began volunteering with Alexander's Angels for their 4th Annual Buddy Walk. I am a student at SUNY Old Westbury, majoring in Special Education. As my interest in my field of study grew, I began researching ways to reach out, volunteer, and learn more. I found Alexander's Angels, agreed with their purpose and goals, and instantly became interested in getting involved. I first began behind the scenes, helping out here and there. This past October we held the 6th Annual Buddy Walk, and I am now the Co-Chair of the Events committee. My commitment and interest has only grown with each year I have been involved with this organization. I've watched the fundraisers and events grow year by year, feeling a sense of pride to be involved in such a caring and growing organization. Not only has this organization made great strides and reached many fundraising goals, but being a part of the experiences has provided me with so much knowledge and a sense of fulfillment. Being a part of this organization has given me the feeling of being part of an extended family. Every person involved has been nothing but warm and welcoming to me since day one. I am very honored to be involved in such a great cause with a great team of support. Alexander's Angels has touched so many lives, including my own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

As a museum professional, always looking for new ways of engaging new audiences and displaying art that represents a broad spectrum of artists, cultures and times, Alexander's Angels provided me with the opportunity to learn about and work with Down Syndrome artists and advocates in an inspiring and creative way. The opportunity to display art at museums and galleries, to invite the artists and their families and to sell their artwork is an example of necessary practices that show the world the value of the work of the artists' involved and creates new ways of understanding Down Syndrome. It has been a privilege and pleasure to work with a small organization that works so hard to present to the world in a very professional way the contributions of individual's with Down Syndrome. Examples of the different exhibitions are • Hutchins Gallery, LIU/C.W. Post - January 14 - 31, 2009, Reception, January 18, 2009. • Casa Frela, NYC - March 14 - April 4, 2009. Reception, March 14,2009• Soapbox Gallery, Brooklyn - April 2011 • Community Gallery, Port Washington Library - Sept. 1 - Sept 30, 2011. Reception Sept. 2, 2012 • 28on27, NYC, March 21 to 29, 2012. Reception, March 21, 2012. Article on this exhibition at http://www.stayclassy.org/stories/a-small-all-volunteer-organization-makes-a-difference-for-down-syndrome

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I am a mother to Maximus, a 5 year old boy with Mosaic Down Syndrome. Until I became involved with the Buddy Walk or Alexanders Angels, the only Down Syndrome support we could find was what was written in articles or Doctors. We firts joined the Buddy Walk 3 years ago and fell in love with all the participants and more importantly the Down Syndrome children they were there to support. The Buddy Walk is all about acceptance and just being around people who can relate to some of the issues a family and Down Syndrome participant face. Alexanders Angels brings advocacy groups to the walk where we are able to get tons of resources for Down Syndrome programs, they display artwork made by Down Syndrome individuals and live performances by Down Syndrome children and adults. They create a forum where these individuals don't stand out because of their DISABILITY but stand out because of their incredible ABILITIES!! I have met so many great families through the Buddy Walk and my friends and family look forward to the Buddy Walk every year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have been lucky enough to be involved with Alexanders Angels since the beginning, in once capacity or another. I can truly say that helping, even in such a small way, has made me a better person and helped me to be thankful for all that I have every day. The people, and especially the kids, whom I have met are all wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

what can i say but alexanders angels has been the most amazing thing to us. every year we look forward to the buddy walk. the feeling of support and love is in the air...........and may be one of the only times our family is all together. we look forward to it and always have such an a fun day. my son is now 6. we have walked every year and plan to do it many more.alexanders angels has brought so much awarness to our community. it helps people to see that these kids can do anything! i am honored to be a part of this wonderful organization, and truly think the people that make it happen are selfless blessed people.thank you alexanders angels..for taking us all under your wings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

Alexanders Angels Inc. is a wonderful organization that not only raises money for Down Syndrome but also allows there to be a platform here on Long Island from which we can advocate and educate others about Down Syndrome. My youngest son is 4 years old and was born with Down Syndrome. He is the love of our loves! Without such an organization it would be more difficult to spread the awareness of Down Syndrome and to show other families and the community how "normal' life is. Every year at the Buddy Walk my friends and family always walk away saying what a great day it was! The turn out is spectacular; it is a fun filled day for the kids. So thank you Alexanders Angels for your continuous hard work and dedication; and most importantly for helping make the future for our beautiful kids as great as ever!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

I am so honored to have been a part of Alexander's Angels. I have known its president and founders for several years and I admire them for the dedication and hardwork. This organization does an extraordinary job in furthuring awareness and highlighting the unique talents of individuals with Down Syndrome.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

Being a father of a 33 year son with Down syndrome and a director of Research Down Syndrome (RDS) I can't say enough about the dedication and passion that Alexander's Angels brings to this cause. Understanding the link between Alzheimer's and DS is both exciting and terrifying to me at the same time. Terrifying because by the age of 40 all DS individuals develop the brain changes associated with Alzheimer's but exciting in the sense that the research that Alexander's Ange helps to fund is developing medications to fight this eventuality. I commend Alexander's Angels in educating the public about the positive aspects of Down syndrome and the fact that this world is a better place with Down syndrome people in it. I highly recommend that you join and support Alexander's Angels in its public awareness efforts and it's tireless effort of raising funding for cutting edge research. Jack Dean

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

We have been associated with Alexander's Angels for almost a decade. Being from Long Island, it brings us great pride to see the dedicated and important work that this organization is doing to help build a more loving and inclusive world for people with Down syndrome and other disabilities. They are truly a professional, first class organization and we look forward to our continued association for many years to come! -Chris Burke ("Corky" Life Goes On) with Joe and John DeMasi

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers