Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Alexander's Angels is a leading community based association advocating for persons with Down syndrome. This organization aims to raise awareness outside the Down syndrome community by continuing working with local colleges and with Down syndrome organizations in a collaborative effort to promote a better understanding of people with Down syndrome, including a commitment to support research aimed at improving lives for persons with Down syndrome. Alexander's Angels consistently meets a goal within its mission by supporting Down syndrome cognitive research, which is targeted to develop drug therapies that will enhance life opportunities for persons with Down syndrome through improving memory, learning and communication. Research Down Syndrome's interaction with Alexander's Angels has been a consistently positive experience.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

Life is a daily struggle for alot of people, but more so for those living with Down Syndrome and their families. Since the inception of the L.I. Buddy walk in 2007 my family and I have been showing ou... more

October 7, 2013

Seven years ago my niece Allie was born with Down Syndrome. Alexander's angels has helped us meet others going through the same things. It is a family, one that I am proud to be a member of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, it is terrific

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

Life is a daily struggle for alot of people, but more so for those living with Down Syndrome and their families. Since the inception of the L.I. Buddy walk in 2007 my family and I have been showing our support by walking, donating and volunteering our time for this terrific organanization. Esther Gomez and her team (Alexander's Angel's) do a fantastic job every year. Not only are they raising money and awareness for this cause, Alexander's Angel's help bring together families that are going through the same issues. It allows them to bond and share there problems and concerns with each other, it is a family of sorts and I am happy to be a part of it. Maria Polizzi

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I am happy to be a part of Alexander's Angels. I have been a co chair for the Fundraising committee for 7 years and I am happy making a difference each year raising money for adults and children with Down Syndrome. My daughter Alexandra is seven years old and has Down Syndrome she is an active spunky girl and I wouldn't change her at all. Thank you to everyone for helping make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Alexander's Angels is a non-profit organization that helps raise awareness and acceptance with people with Down Syndrome. When I had my daughter that's when I found out she has Down Syndrome. With Alexander angels I feel like it is a day where we can celebrate everything that our children have accomplished. It is a day where the community can all be together celebrating our sons and daughters. I honestly feel like this group really brings people closer together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Thank goodness for Alexander's Angels! When we moved to Long Island 8 years ago, it was very difficult to find a support organization for children with Down Syndrome. Through Alexander's Angels, their fundraising efforts, newsletters, emails etc., we have been able to find so many programs available to us for our son who is now 13 years old because of their information. They also helps sponser the yearly Buddywalk for Down Syndrome which we find so important as a family to celebrate the community of parents, siblings, educators, advocates, and the people themselves involved in bettering the lives of those we love. Alexander's Angel's always focuses on the positives with their support of the arts, films, recreational options, research information etc. Alexander's Angels is an organization that is a grounding point for me and my family when it comes to needing support or information related in the many different areas touched by that extra special chromosome. We are so excited to see how Alexander's Angels has grown each year to be able to provided more information and support and look forward to what is in store for the future through this fine organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

Alexanders Angels is an organization that provides support and raises awareness for those individuals with Down syndrome and their families. Esther Gomez-Nieto, President of the organization is a tireless worker. Her main focus is on helping individuals with Down Syndrome and their families lead productive, inclusive lives. Alexanders Angels through it's fundraising efforts provides support to organizations that are actively involved in providing support and research relating to Down Syndrome.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

Alexander's Angels is an all volunteer organization that is focused solely on promoting the well-being of those diagnosed with Down syndrome. This is accomplished through its sponsorship of various events that increase awareness of the capabilities and invaluable contributions of those with Down syndrome. Proceeds raised at these events are used to support research and service delivery in support of those with Down Syndrome.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

As President and Co-Founder of Alexander's Angels, Inc., I am proud of the achievements of our all volunteer, not-for-profit organization. What began as a project to start a Buddy Walk in Long Island... more

April 8, 2013

As I stated last year, as President and Co-Founder of Alexander's Angels, Inc., I am proud of the achievements of our all volunteer, not-for-profit organization. What began as a project to start a Buddy Walk® in Long Island has blossomed into a full-fledged not-for profit organization. To address awareness issues in and outside the Down syndrome community--in addition to being the organizer of the annual Buddy Walk® an activity established by the National Down Syndrome Society (NDSS) in 1995--Alexander’s Angels, Inc. established two successful programs, the exhibition series DOWNrightART (see http://www.alexandersangels.org/id25.html) that showcases the works of artists with Down syndrome, and the symposium The Up of Down: An Insight Into the World of Down Syndrome(see http://www.alexandersangels.org/id38.html) that includes at least one self-advocate. By highlighting abilities of individuals with Down syndrome, Alexander’s Angels, Inc. aims to improve the way society perceives and defines individuals, that is, by their intrinsic value, not by their disabilities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As President and Co-Founder of Alexander's Angels, Inc., I am proud of the achievements of our all volunteer, not-for-profit organization. What began as a project to start a Buddy Walk in Long Island has blossomed into a full-fledged not-for profit organization.
Our family and friends met in
January of 2007 after having received a contract to start a Buddy Walk in Long Island from the National Down Syndrome Society (NDSS). The Buddy Walk is a trademarked event of NDSS. With the support of the Association for Children with Down Syndrome (ACDS), the Down Syndrome Advocacy Foundation (DSAF), and the Down Syndrome Research and Treatment Foundation (DSRTF), our project was quickly underway. On October 27, 2007, 560 people met at Eisenhower Park in East Meadow under deplorable weather conditions. Armed with umbrellas, covered strollers, and sheer determination, we defied the heavy downpours and windy condition and made history by walking for Down syndrome for the first time in Long Island. We incorporated in 2008 and received 501(c)(3) status in 2010.
To address awareness issues in and outside the Down syndrome community, Alexander’s Angels, Inc. established two successful programs, the exhibition series DOWNrightART and the symposium The Up of Down: An Insight Into the World of Down Syndrome. Consolidation of these projects in March 2012 generated DOWNrightART: Abilities and Possibilities, A Celebration of World Down Syndrome Day, an unprecedented event that attracted world-wide attention and participation in New York City. For nine consecutive days eighty pieces by 23 artists from around the world were on display at 28on27 in New York City. The exhibition, supported by the American Folk Art Museum in NYC, included paintings, ceramics, photographs, weaving, embroidery, and a sculpture on load by the American Visionary Museum in Baltimore. Not only did Alexander’s Angels attract international artists from around the nation and abroad, but it also gave a voice to a panel of self advocates who asserted their individual aspirations for their future; hosted a diverse panel of siblings who shared their hopes and concerns for their brothers and sisters; and facilitated a symposium on the latest advances of cognitive research. A film festival by Sprout that included award winning acting, and a concert by celebrity Chris Burke completed a two-day conference that covered a wide range of topics.
The broad scope of the program brought together, among others, people from Australia, Canada, the UK, Puerto Rico, Alaska, Connecticut, Long Island, and many other states. This group of people with different backgrounds and interests genuinely enjoyed and admired each other. While Dr. Michael Harpold kept the audience up-to-date on the progress of cognitive research, his admiration for the artists and the significance of the art exhibition was evident in his comment, “It was tremendous to speak with the artists and have an opportunity to be close-and-personal with their works.”
By highlighting abilities of individuals with Down syndrome, Alexander’s Angels, Inc. aims to improve the way society perceives and defines individuals: by their intrinsic value, not by their disabilities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

Alexanders Angels is an organization of wonderful, caring people who provide support and raise awareness for those individuals and families living with Down syndrome. Our organizational founder and President, Esther Gomez-Nieto is a tireless worker and continues to strive to help these families lead inclusive, productive and fulfilling lives and achieve their potential that is with all of us. Alexanders Angels is a great gift to the world of Down syndrome!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

Alexander's Angels has evolved through grass-roots organizing and the dedication of its founders. I first met Esther Gomez-Nieto as a result of being asked to help coordinate a panel presentation seve... more

April 8, 2013

I am so proud to have been named to the Board of Directors this year. Alexander's Angels is truly a grass roots organization born of the love and lack of information found by a grandmother of a child with Down syndrome. Esther Gomez-Nieto and her family are inspirational in their dedication to education and advocacy as well as fundraising for research.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

Alexander's Angels has evolved through grass-roots organizing and the dedication of its founders. I first met Esther Gomez-Nieto as a result of being asked to help coordinate a panel presentation several years ago regarding Down syndrome advocacy and research at Briarcliffe College. I found her to be friendly and light-hearted while knowing how to get things done; a rare combination that I have always appreciated. Since then I have continued to work with the organization to promote and sponsor the annual Buddy Walk, host panel presentations, and contribute to other events developed by Alexander's Angels. It is wonderful to see how an organization born from a grandmother's love could blossom into a community for advocacy and encouragement. While we may not be "blood," the leaders of Alexander's Angels are family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers