Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I am a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, Tau Beta Omega Graduate Chapter (Marina del Rey, CA) and my chapter works with the middle school girls at the center for our national organization program, Emerging Young Leaders (EYL). When I'm at the center, I'm consistently impressed by the passion and dedication of those who work there and the excitement of their students to be there. The center staff truly LOVES the kids they serve and are unwavering in their commitment to advocate for their educational enrichment. The work being done at the Al Wooten Jr. Heritage Center positively impacts the local community and changes the lives of all who attend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

My child has been apart of the center for about four years now and this is the best afterschool/summer program she has attended! During a presentation a couple of years ago the children had to describe how they felt about the Center and my daughter Shaylee's word was 'Love'. This is what Shaylee said "I feel loved when I'm at the Center, like I'm apart of a family when I'm here". I cried hearing her speak about the Center, because as a mother you need to know forsure you made the right choice of who is watching over your child. There is so much more I could say, like the learning experiences, home work help so thats finsih when we get home, college prep , the great field trips and allowing my daughter to be a Teen Helpler during the summer. She was so very proud, she said it felt like she had a real job. I would like to thank The Al Wooten Center, the staff, the Founder, the Board and Ms. Namoi for all they do. Sharee Alexander

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012

I have been volunteering with the Al Wooten, Jr. Center for 6 years now and count it amongst the most rewarding experiences in my life. The children are bright, engaging, funny & sweet. Cliff & the rest of the staff continually impress me with their passion & energy. They are doing wonderful work. I feel blessed to have the chance to spend time with these kids and this amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 30, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 30, 2012

I have been volunteering with the Wooten Ctr for over 15 years. The kids are great and Cliff running the place is a true Miracle Worker. He has earned the respect of the kids and it's clear that the children have benefited from not just attending the Wooten Ctr but have become great kids due to their direct relationship with Cliff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 28, 2012

My name is Charles and I've been volunteering my time with the Al Wooten Jr Center for almost 8 years. I have found it to be a rewarding experience for me and the kids that I've come to know.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

My name is Carmie and i have been volunteering for about 10 years with the center. It has been a very rewarding experience. Specially, if a child comes up to you, years later and tells you what you have share with them,has changed their lives for the better. Wooten Center has helped so many kids and I hope they will be able to help more in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 9, 2012

My name is Scott Miller and I am a Finance Professor at Pepperdine University. I have been actively involved with the Al Wooten Jr. Heritage Center for almost a year. My experience has been truly amazing in every single capacity. The patience, dedication and love shown by the staff is unparalleled. They work hard to keep the kids involved in a variety of activities and events and always do so with a warm smile. The positive impact of the Wooten Center’s work with the children is almost immediately visible. It is very rewarding to watch each of the kids grow and improve in almost every aspect of their lives. Naomi McSwain is a very talented and effective leader. Very few organizations can match the compassionate and effective environment that the Wooten Center has to offer. I enjoy volunteering my time at this organization on a regular basis because I know my time will be spent efficiently and it will have a large, lasting impact on the lives of many kids in the Los Angeles community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 9, 2012

My name is Fengyi Zhang. I am a international student at the Laguage Academy of USC. I am a 24-year-old Chinese. I am very glad to share my pleasent time in Al Wooten Jr. Heritage Center as a volunteer. This January, after viewing the home page of Al Wooten Jr. Heritage Center on Facebook, my husband, Haoyang Wen and I found that it is such a good place where we can spend time with children, make some contribution to them, and can also improve our English. With a little anxiety about our lack of English ability and work experience, we went to the Center and mentioned about our willing of being volunteers to Mrs. McSwain. Her kindness and the warm Al Wooden family relieve our nerves immediately. In the past three monthes, we have worked with so much fun whether as athletic assistant or as homework tutor. Nowadays, Mrs. McSwain will offer us a wonderful chance to give Chinese lessons to the students in the center. We are so looking foward to propagandize our own culture to all the children here. Thank for all the staff and children in Al Wooden family . You guys make our lives so colorful. We love you so much!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
January 9, 2012

My name is Oralia Pacheco I had the honor to work with one special member; Vanessa Rojo. She constanly came to my high school during my eleventh and twelve grade, to help us prepair for the SAT. I had an amazing time learning a variety of techniques that I knew were going to benefit me. The knowledge she provided my peers and I was inmense because coming from a low income family I knew I was not able to afford a course with such strength. I wanted to do well in the SAT and taking part of this program I was able to raise my score aproximately 300 points. Later I took part of one on one counselor guidence in order to make successful decisions when applying to Universities. I really apreciate all the help, I recieved and I know other students benefited from this course and guidence. Thank you Al Wooten Center for helping me obtain acceptance to Universities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers are needed to assist teachers and students with homework assistance, and our reading, writing, math and science tutorials, in addition to tutorials for high school students preparing for the SAT. We also seek professionals to visit classes to present their career choices and to help guide students in projects in fields such as aviation, robotics, literature, accounting, etc. Our monthly College Days also features college-related activities presented by college students, fraternal organizations, etc. Volunteer