Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Education, Scholarships, Scholarships & Student Financial Aid

Mission: The Akash Kuruvilla Memorial Scholarship Fund was formed in the Fall of 2007 to remember the life of Akash Jacob Kuruvilla and to continue his legacy of excellence and generosity posthumously. Having committed to leadership, diversity, integrity and academia, Akash Kuruvilla influenced a multitude that had the honor of being in his presence. The ideal scholarship recipients will embody those same principles and shall be committed to positively affecting the community throughout their collegiate years and beyond.

Results: 9 students have been selected to receive $1000 in college scholarships each.

Target demographics: Students in the United States who have been accepted into a college or university

Direct beneficiaries per year: 3

Community Stories

8 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

As long as I remember Akash he was a selfless and giving man. He would do everything in his power to help others and help them become better individuals. AKMSF is a testament to his legacy and his efforts can be continued on through this fund.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

akmsf 09/30/2010

Thank you for taking the time to review the AKMSF. Akash's willingness to reach out to everyone and anyone is a driving force behind this fund, and we hope that his legacy will live on through this organization's growth.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Akash Kuruvilla was a great leader and dedicated individual. His charisma motivated people and his drive set an example for others. This scholarship is a wonderful opportunity for those who demonstrate these qualities. AKMSF is one of many things that keeps his legacy and impact to this world alive.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

akmsf 09/30/2010

Thank you for taking the time to review the AKMSF. Akash is greatly missed, but we are constantly inspired by his motivation and his gift of touching so many people's lives.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

This organization exemplifies the principles by which Akash lived by. He was a very firm believer in the strengths of unity, diversity, and education. This is truly a great organization!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

akmsf 09/30/2010

Thank you so much for your feedback! We hope to continue to grow and ensure that many lives are impacted by this fund.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Akash was a blunt, strategic, loving person. His dedication to school organizations and the community was inspiring, to say the least. He had a love of diversity and realized the power of bringing groups of people together for a common purpose to help both the individual and group as a whole. He would be happy to know that people are contributing to someone's education in his name.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

akmsf 09/30/2010

Thank you for your review. We hope that the beneficiaries of this fund represent the diversity and unity that Akash was so passionate about promoting.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

This scholarship is an excellent example of the man it was created in the honor of. Akash was the type of individual that did as much as he could and them some more. He was always there to help those who were in need and this scholarship is doing the same by carrying on his values. The short time it has been around, the AKMSF, has helped numerous students to achieve their goals and it will continue to do so for years to come.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

akmsf 09/30/2010

We deeply appreciate you taking your time to review our fund. We hope that we characterize Akash's spirit of generosity through our scholarships.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

The man behind this scholarship is one of those rare types of people that you only hope to come across once in your lifetime. While I have never had the opportunity to meet Akash Kuruvilla, his ideology and beliefs are constantly reaching my ears. This is why this fund is so important. Mr. Kuruvilla believed in the "american Dream" as well as the fact that no man (or woman) was beyond redemption. This fund greatly expresses these two believes because it allows those who try to better themselves despite many obstacles. I was personally at the last award ceremony of this fund and the individuals that received funding were extraordinary people. They all had their own personal differences and situations however they all had the common goal of trying to face adversity through persistence. This idea is something I strongly agree with and is why that this fund is definitely one to help grow in the future.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

akmsf 09/30/2010

Thank you for your review. The board appreciates the way that people who never knew Akash can still be impacted by his legacy and the values that he held with so much conviction.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

After having known Akash Kuruvilla for several years and the amount time and effort he put in to selflessly help others make their lives better, there is no better way to commemorate his life than this scholarship that aims to help others. Although Akash is no longer with us, I am glad to witness his legacy continuing to live on.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

akmsf 09/30/2010

Thank you for taking the time to review this fund. We, too, believe that there is no better way to remember Akash than to give the gift of an education to others.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Akash Kuruvilla selflessly dedicated a great deal of his life to mentoring and molding young minds. He was truly an inspiration and always encouraged people to follow their dreams. This scholarship honors the passion, nobility, and generosity of a great man. Awarding this scholarship not only commemorates the principals and legacy of Akash, but also continues to foster hard-work, character, and leadership amongst our youth.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

akmsf 09/29/2010

Thank you for your review. We are always encouraged by those who have been touched by Akash and hope that this fund continues his legacy of generosity.