Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

Airport Marina Counseling Service epitomizes what it means to serve its community. The staff and clinicians are professional and caring. The number of success stories speak about individuals who have gone on to lead lives of meaning and fulfillment. Since the early 1960s, the Clinic has offered a warm and inviting place for people of all ages to come for help and healing. It is strongly supported by the community it serves and continues to expand its programs as needs become apparent. The clinicians are invited to the local schools, to the Boys and Girls Club of Venice, to the Family YMCA and other community locations to offer counseling and therapy. It has an outstanding reputation in recruiting outstanding clinicians and for its training programs for those completing their professional licensing and doctoral programs. At the recent Open House, every clinician who spoke was inspiring, smart and very knowledgeable. The Clinic is a jewel in the array of services that it provides and welcomes all who seek counseling.
April 12, 2014

more

April 12, 2014

There are few places for a troubled person- who is likely also struggling financially - to go for the mental health support critically needed. Airport Martina Counseling Service has been offering ability-to-pay fees to such people for over 50 years. It started with the need expressed at a Westchester Community Meeting back in 1961. With no government support - only private donor support - it opened its doors in 1962 and has grown by leaps and bounds since then, responding to expanding needs. It continues to be supported first by private financial donors from an ever widening service community, and second by funding grants from Foundations. Airport Marina Counseling Service presents an unusual success story: a highly professional non-profit mental health clinic, using both volunteer and paid clinicians at every level, giving direct service to clients and also teaching and training new M.A. and Ph.D therapists, and still - after more than 50 years - a source of expanding service.
MEC

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change, but find more ways to tell the story and widen the basis of financial support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 4, 2014

more

February 4, 2014

AMCS is also a teaching facility. Our students have master degrees and PH.d's and come to us to intern from many local universities. Our students, under supervision, focus on a specialty and work very closely with the patients.

On one of the ocasions when our interns make presentations to
the Board, I was particularly impressed with the methodology and positive outcome from an Art Therapy session. There are many programs and disciplines in which the interns participate. These presentations offer me insight into the tremendous service the clinic provides to the community. I am proud to support this organization.



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We hope to expand our facility to accomodate more people in the surrounding communities when we have the funds to proceed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Airport Marina Counseling Service is in its 51st year serving the local community. Its services include help for all ages addressing anything from a simple phobia to prescribed medication. Individual counseling and group counseling is offered .... all on sliding scale fees. AMCS is also unique for being open 7 days a week with evening hours Monday - Thursday. Doors are closed only on a few holidays during the year with crises support always available. AMCS is also a 1st choice for learning. Interns at all levels and from all locations choose AMCS as "the place" for acquiring their required hours of internship and learning from the clinics great staff. Funding supporting the clinic's success is all from private donations ... grants, fund raisers and generous donors. Your support is also welcomed!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add a 2nd story ... add more off-site locations in addition to the 3 schools and Venice Boys & Girls Club off-site programs presently in place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Airport Marina Counseling Service has been providing individual and group, counseling service for over forty-five years. They are engaging students at several schools and the Venice Boys & Girls Club changing the attitudes of our young who are often hostile and searching for themselves. Some of the students want to extend their counseling. Way to go AMCS!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing clients who seem pleasant and smile while in the waiting lobby area. I am certain they have troubling issues; however, they seem to be pleased to have the service to assist them with traversing their issures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

allow for patients being referred by physicians in Inglewood to be serviced although they have Medicare and Medical Insurance, because AMCS does accept insurance from other carriers. This would provide more revenue.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I enjoy working with all the board members who contribute so much to the organization. I especially like the Westchester Mental Health Guild who has volunteers that operate the Guilded Cage Gift Shop and contribute their funds to AMCS.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The staff and volunteers are all dedicated to the services. The interns who are training at AMCS are so pleased to be providing their expertise and warm and directed therapy that it makes me pleased to be a volunteer there.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

expand its work to more communities throughout Los Angeles with more satellite sites and build onto the building it owns by placing a second floor onto the building. This would provide more counseling rooms and the opportunity to assist more clients.

Ways to make it better...

AMCS focused more on extending service to Inglewood, CA which is why I was asked to become a board member.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

not having enough operating funds due to the economic environment and the mindset not to accept government funds because of the massive paperwork required. Acceptance of patients, especially those with Medicare, even though it's government, would help.

One thing I'd also say is that...

The organization has done excellent work with adults as well as children. Even with the change in staff AMCS still operates with effectiveness helping those in the surrounding communities.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers