Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
137 Reviews
1234.95625
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have taught with Aim High for 2 summers. The quality of collaboration and investment of teaching and site director staff is outstanding and makes for an empowering and creative teaching environment. The Aim High magic is real and keeps me coming back. Students really get the opportunity to find their creative outlet and explore what inspires them.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Aim High creates an incredible supportive space that helps students and teachers alike learn. As a teaching intern getting my first experience at the front of the classroom, I felt encouraged to share with the community and I certainly got as much out of my summer there as any of the students.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

This was my first summer at aim high. At first I didn't believe in the "AIM HIGH MAGIC" but its true I felt it! Its REAL!!! and This was just a great experience. I loved it I hope I can return
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Aim High has been a part of my heart since 2001 when I began working as a TA. It did not take me long to realize how special of a program it was, one that truly brought "magic" to middle school students' summers. Aim High's fun and challenging classes combined with memorable assemblies and field trips are just a few things that set it apart from traditional summer school. And though academics is a huge focus of the 5-week program, Aim High also realizes the importance of social emotional learning, especially during the formative middle school years. Classes like Issues & Choices help students learn and reflect about themselves and the person they want to become. Graduates who return to volunteer and later teach just goes to show how much of a impact Aim High has had on their lives!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Volunteering at the satellite campus in Tahoe, I am very grateful to see this program in the community where I grew up. The kids that are enroll in the program are very lucky to do so as I wish it had existed when I was younger. The impact that it has made in my community is tremendous and I am excited to see the youth of my community succeed in reaching their academic and career dreams.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

In summer of 2009 our great journey with Aim High started. I did not know the great impact this summer program would have in my kid’s life. Aim High means a lot for our family because it is a program where my child changed her perspective of learning, come to have a fun while learning and had challenging experiences to mention some of the great skills that this program had given her. The extraordinary results were noticed right away. The kid that hardly used to speak soon was standing in front of people giving a science presentation, besides that she improved her math, writing, reading, and improved and grown her love for science. It was amazing to see. After the first summer she used to count the days for the following summers and was ready to learn those skills that would help her succeed during the school year. My little girl is in her last year of high school and she is doing wonderful and now she is ready to put in practice what she learned about the path to college in Aim High! The thrilling experience for my child with Aim High has not yet finished because this past summer she came back to the program as a teacher’s assistant where she continued not only to keep learning but putting in practice the great knowledge that one day was taught to her. Now she is getting ready to come back next summer, still counting the days. In addition, I would like to add that our youngest child is now experiencing the greatness of Aim High. Seeing your children growing, excited, prepare, happy, learning in a program like this one means the world for you as a parent. All I would like to say is: THANK YOU very much Aim High for a great program that help to “Reach for a Dream.”

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Aim High truly makes a difference in the lives of middle school youth from underserved Bay Area communities. At this critical time in personal development, Aim High serves over 1700 students with an engaging, challenging summer school experience. This tuition free program combines rigorous academic coursework in the morning, followed by an afternoon filled by creative, artistic, and athletic activities.
Our Board members each "adopt" one of our 15 campuses, where we get to know the directors and teachers and witness what makes these summer school experiences come alive. With our public schools so financially challenged, Aim High has assumed a key role in the strengthening the fabric of these communities. It's an honor to be involved!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I personally attended Aim High for all three years, and later returned as a teaching intern for 8th grade science this past summer. I can confidently that if it were not for Aim High, I would have never even heard about all the different high schools, let alone colleges, that were available for me to apply to and possibly attend. Aim High really opened up a myriad of doors on how I could possibly go about my life, and therefore allowed me to really explore my passions and interests.

As a student, I remember myself quite literally changing from a very apathetic person into an extremely positive and enthusiastic person. Aim High teachers were always very enthusiastic and very kind to me. Honestly, it felt like the "student-teacher" hierarchy got blurred because the teachers were also people I could confide in. They weren't simply superiors; they learned just as much from and about the students as the students learned from them.

As a teaching intern, teaching at Aim High has been one of the most rewarding jobs I've ever had. I finally got to implement and exude enthusiasm and positivity to students who might have been like me as a middle schooler--and hopefully affect their lives in a positive way. As an intern, I taught alongside an experienced lead teacher who allows me to lead some classes daily. Later into the summer, I also formulated my own lesson plan which I implemented in class on my own--my first time fully teaching a class by myself. Outside of the classroom, I found students sometimes talking to me about what was going on in their lives--making me realize the importance of having interms (typically college students) and TAs (high schoolers), who would be closer in age to the Aim High students.

The design of Aim High, from it's part-academic and part-elective portion, to the staff that is hired, is well thought-out to provide the best experience for middle school students. Aim High not only enhances the educational and academic experience into a fun one while preparing students for the upcoming school year, but also discusses real topics and issues that people face in their daily lives.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I attended Aim High as a student and I can honestly say that the experience shapes who I am as an adult today. The supportive academic and social community that Aim High provides to youth is invaluable. The guidance and opportunities the program provides year round to its students is indispensable. As a 29 year old I still consider myself an Aim High Student, and will forever be a part of the Aim High community.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Aim High has been an amazing experience for my son. The young men and women that taught there were excellent mentors and eventually encouraged my son to volunteer as a TA..something he never saw himself doing. After a summer of full time volunteer work, my son returned the following year as a paid TA and was thrilled to have the opportunity for a meaningful summer job and some income.

The staff is very devoted and challenges and encourages the students to expand their vision of what they are capable of.

The program was also a life saver for me when I was a single mom and didn't want my middle schooler unsupervised during the summer. To know that he had guidance and academic support set my mind at ease while i was at work. The tutoring offered by high schoolers during the school year was also extremely helpful.

This is an outstanding program! Thank you!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers