Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
123.8095245
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We are a group of workers at Lowe's in Columbia MD. Our company helped Aid Our Veterans last summer build some wheel chair ramps for the veterans with physical handicaps. Aid Our Veterans has a home in Baltimore where they help disabled veterans from the Vietnam war up to the Iraq & Afghanistan war. It was so heart warming to volunteer and build these ramps for our injured soldiers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2013

more

December 5, 2013

I worked for AOV from 2009, and shortly before the founder Toms passing this June 2013. Up this point Tom did well in his mission. But some were he started spending all the money by gambling, sending his daughters to college, buying them cars, his own personal boat, but they will claim the only boats and cars they had was donated some yes but not all were. The house in Essex Md. now has been abandon by the new president (Debra Smith), cause it is in foreclosure and in doing so she has left a disable veterans at the house to defend for himself and his wife as well, who has been with the company from the very beginning, what ever happen to leave not man behind? AOV recently held a food drive, supposedly to help veterans, not one bit of the food collected went to veterans like it was meant to do. The new president and her daughter as well as other non veterans took the food for them selves. So you can only image were the rest of the funds may be going. You may ask how do I know these things cause I been around and see and hear very well. Now AOV has pay for some of there employees places to live and in some case still pay there bills and most aren't veterans without DD214s. This company is ran now for the soul purpose to take care of themselves and not veterans like it started out doing. I seen this coming that is why I left, beside mismanagement from the office. This new president couldn't even do the accounting she was hired to do by Tom, he had to hire an employment service to do the books now she runs the company. On top of it all AOV pays her daughter for a full time job that she doesn't even do.. she attends college now as well. Boy they learned from the best didn't they. And if you completed to Tom about this he didn't want to hear it, so what was going on there, makes you wonder? So be careful before giving to this company cause all you are doing is paying for there life style now, them don't help veterans at ALL.. And to but the icing on the for you all, I was paid 30% at first of the money I collected before it was over with I was at 50%, gas and tolls all came out first from the collect bucket, and we even had to pay Tom for the items that are on the table for donations so you do the math. If two thousands dollars was collected and there was three hundred in expenses there is seventeen hundred left, I got half, that is eight hundred and fifty dollars I made as well as AOV.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

close it down for good!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Tom Conlan sadly has passed away, however, Aid Our Veterans, Inc is still very much continuing to operate and help veterans who have fallen on hard times.
Unfortunately, there is always going to be disgruntled ex employees. If you would like more information on what AOV does, please feel
free to call 410-391-8721 Monday through Friday 9am till 5pm.
Thank you to everyone who has expressed their thanks and kind words.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 9, 2012

These crooks use money that they collect to get fast food at every show. Don't waste your hard earned cash, give to the Salvation Army. All of the management at SA are volunteers. All of the AOV peopl... more

August 22, 2013

The President of this organization has passed away and the organization is now a complete shambles. The workers are more than likely doing the shows and pocketing all of the proceeds that are collected from the public. The headquarters in Baltimore is in foreclosure.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2012

These crooks use money that they collect to get fast food at every show. Don't waste your hard earned cash, give to the Salvation Army. All of the management at SA are volunteers. All of the AOV people get a percentage of what they collect not to mention expenses and then there are administrative costs for running the organization. All in all I would say the vets get about 3%, if that. Give them a $5 and immediately $1.50 goes to the person you hand the money to and maybe some vet gets .15 cents. They beg hotel rooms and meals from unsuspecting chains and live high on the hog when they travel. It is one big vacation for the "volunteers"

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012

None of these people are volunteers. They all get 15% of what they take in. The Director of Charitable Contributions, Suzette Steele gets 15% of what all of the workers take in and when she collects at a show she gets 40%. I have witnessed them at countless shows and they are a bunch of derelicts. At a recent show the AOV worker had tattoos on his head and arm for a bail bond company and was singing at the top of his lungs. He was later witnessed outside fishing all of the $5 bills out of the tip bucket and carrying the tip bucket in a bar while he was drinking. AOV supposedly gives beds to homeless vets and rehabs the homes of needy vets. I think the website says none of the collected funds goes to the rehabs. The rehabs happen when AOV gets Grants, oh and the President ,Thomas Conlan owns a remodeling company...hmmmm? Sounds like a good way to get new business for your business. Look up Suzette Steele and Thomas Conlan's records at Maryland Judiciary Case Search before you think of donating to this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Jobless, Disabled and losing hope. The VA social worker got me in touch with Aid Our Veterans. They stopped my eviction and helped me get current. They worked with my VA representative to settle my disability case. Now my bills are current and I have a livable monthly income. These people at Aid Our Veterans really care. Thank You for the help. Tony

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them some big business sponsors so they could help out all the veterans out there in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I am so thankful to Aid Our Veterans for their recent help. I am a veteran who found myself for the first time in my life, unable to pay all my bills. I was injured on the job several months ago and my income was cut down to 1/3rd what I was used to. Well it didn't take long for all my savings to disappear. I'm set to get back to work just before Christmas but the car finance company was ready to repose my car. Aid Our Veterans provided me with enough money to let me keep my truck. Now I can get back to work and get ahead of my bills again. Thank You, Aid Our Veterans and all the generous contributors to their organization. A Grateful Marine, Annapolis MD.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

What a great organization. I had a boat that I donated to Aid Our Veteeans, 36 footer with 2 cabins. The first week Aid Our Veterans was using it for a couple of homeless veterans. The boat is in Annapolis MD. and is being used to help homeless veterans. As a retired marine colonel I couldn't be any prouder. Keep up the great work, Semper Fi.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I am so grateful to Aid Our Veterans. My husband and I have run into some difficult times and we got behind on our bills. Just as the weather turned cold our electric company was getting ready to discontinue our service. The good news is that my husbands disability was finally approved so we will now be able to pay our bills. The GREAT news is that Aid Our Veterans helped us out by getting our electric bill current! Thank You Debra, all the other veterans at Aid Our Veterans. Anna Marie P.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

1st of all, What a God Send!!!! I am a senior citizen who has become homeless and out of work. The past four years have been devastating for me. My husband of 30 years passed away, we met when I was in the Air Force, and all of a sudden my life went out of control. I've lost almost everything, house, cars, all my savings, and was evicted from my apartment. A friend told me to call Aid Our Veterans and I am sure glad I did. With little notice they set up a team of Vets to help me move all my possessions into storage and found a temporary place for me to stay. After a couple of weeks they helped me move again into a longer term place but that fell apart after only two weeks. Well Aid Our Veterans was there again picking me and my stuff up and getting me moved. I'm currently looking for a permanent place with the help of the VA and Aid Our Veterans is storing my stuff until I move again. I don't know what the future will bring me, but I do know that with Aid Our Veterans I don't have to worry about my items or moving. Thank You guys, especially Tom Conlan. An angel sent from heaven. Emma

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

I was attending a gun show last weekend when I came across this organization. The woman, Suzette, was sharing information about their charity and told me about their Hematite program. Hematite is a magnetized stone that they turn into jewelry and wear it to reduce aches and pains. Well Aid Our Veterans program is that every time someone buys a piece of Hematite jewelry for themselves, they, Aid Our Veterans will then give a piece of jewelry out to a recovering Veteran on behave of the customer. I was skeptical so I skipped at buying anything and just made a dollar donation. About 40 minutes later I was in the aisle behind her and watched as she greeted a war wounded Vet in a wheel chair. "Welcome Home Honey" she said, and then got into a long discussion about his service and how his recovery was going. She gave this veteran a necklace, 2 bracelets, 2 rings and a necklace and bracelet to his girl friend. The soldier asked her how much and she said "nothing for you hero. All these fine people around here have donated to our organization so we can provide these to you. It's our way and their way of saying Thank you for your service!" WOW! The crowd cheered this soldier and you could see the emotion in Suzette's eye, a tear of such heartfelt appreciation. Thank You Aid Our Veterans and especially Suzette. And Yes, I went back by and bought a bracelet.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching them change a solider and his girlfriends life with their deeds. Cheers for this wounded warrior.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I will be spreading the word about this group. They do what they say they say they are going to do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Came across them at a gun show here in Fayetteville North Carolina.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Rejuvenated my belief that a small donation from me can make a big difference in someones life. Seeing is believing.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Attend a Stand Down or other Event to assist homeless Veterans. You could do a out reach event at one of our fund raising drives. You could host a fund raising dinner or luncheon to raise funds and awareness. Volunteer