Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
Write A Review
November 5, 2014

more

November 5, 2014

I have known of Aid for Africa's work since 2008 in my capacity as Director of Development for A Glimmer of Hope and Water to Thrive from 2007 through 2013. Aid for Africa differentiates itself by actively supporting knowledge building and partnering with organizations like a Glimmer of Hope that do development from the bottom up, not the top down. More non-profits should follow Aid for Africa's approach to development, which is based on science, research and best practices.
I also have a strong appreciation for Barbara Rose's passionate advocacy for the work of Aid for Africa's partner organizations, as well as her collaborative and inclusive servant leadership style. I can honestly say that both A Glimmer of Hope and Water to Thrive have benefited greatly as a result of being included in the Aid for Africa umbrella.
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Aid For Africa is an organization I am proud to support. Their dedication to women and children among the many others is critical to help solving the issues Africa is facing. The staff of AFA is dedicated and work tirelessly to provide an organization that fights for the needs of others. I support AFA and their mission and I hope many others will as well. The world needs more organizations like Aid for Africa.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

Aid for Africa champions the human rights of girls in Africa, often one of the most overlooked and marginalized sectors of society. Its Girls Education Fund makes sure girls not only enter school but are supported throughout their education. I cannot think of a more critical effort to end the cycle of poverty-- as well as violence against girls and women-- than efforts such as this one supporting girls education.
October 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Aid for Africa came into being when i was working with the World Agroforestry Centre in Nairobi, Kenya. We were approached by them with the idea of raising our profile along with other notable NGOs doing important and worthwhile work on behalf of the poor in Africa...in our case, resource-poor smallholder farmers striving to improve their livelihoods while also improving their natural resource base (soils, water, etc.) by planting high-value trees on their farms.

We found Aid for Africa to be remarkably effective and engaging, especially with respect to its emphasis on science-based agricultural development and the links that it provided us to a variety of organizations that embraced our vision and approach to supporting the rural poor. We found ourselves working with a number of organizations that we may otherwise not have even known about.

As an international research and development centre supported by over 60 donors, we greatly appreciated Aid for Africa's focus on good governance, equity, and financial transparency. It has been a pleasure to watch Aid for Africa grow over the years, broadening its influence and impact, and continuing to increase the visibility of Africa, the plight of many who live there, and showcasing creative and practical solutions to a range of challenges. I give Aid for Africa the strongest endorsement possible.
September 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Aid for Africa is a dedicated NGO which supports a number of development organizations on the ground, working in areas such as education, health, water and sanitation, and women's empowerment. They also care deeply about research. As a graduate student, I was fortunate to receive a grant from them which allowed me to conduct field research in South Sudan.
September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

During graduate school I volunteered for the U.N.'s ILO (via The Wharton School) in East Africa, serving Tanzania, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi, and Uganda. I noted then the inefficiencies of so very many disparate Volags/Quangos/Nonprofits working only in silos, and then I learned about Aid For Africa's consortium-like/collaborative-esque approach -- kudos to Aid For Africa and its constituent members (and member donors).
September 12, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 21, 2012

Aid for Africa is an excellent organization that provides over 85 member NGOs with a unique opportunity to collaborate on issues specific to Africa. For example, every year members are brought togethe... more

September 12, 2014

I've had a pleasure of working with Aid for Africa as a representative of a member organization for the past three years, and I could not be more impressed. AFA is a truly innovative coalition with strong, creative leadership at the helm. I'm particularly grateful for the AFA GIrls Education initiative, which benefits nonprofits who are working on the ground, increasing the number of girls enrolled in and completing school. Keep up the good work, AFA!
November 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Aid for Africa is an excellent organization that provides over 85 member NGOs with a unique opportunity to collaborate on issues specific to Africa. For example, every year members are brought together for a day-long workshop with guest speakers, group discussions, and a chance to connect with like-minded nonprofits. Member NGOs like the one that I work for - Maasai Girls Education Fund - also enjoy the benefit of participating in the Combined Federal Campaign (CFC). In every respect, Aid for Africa is an exceptional model for effective and efficient nonprofit work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 4, 2013

The dedication of the team at Aid for Africa is inspiring. I am the Executive Director of a member organization of Aid for Africa and have been working with them for five years. In every communication, meeting, or conference with them, their professionalism and passion for making a real difference is evident. In Africa, a place where a large sum of charity goes, they are making a direct and huge contribution with the work they are doing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I've been aware of Aid for Africa and the work for several years, through one of their member non-profits, African Children's Haven. I have visited or worked with three of ACH's Kenyan-based non-profits, beginning in 2009, and spent a week at a safe house (sponsored by ACH) for Masai girls fleeing early marriage and fgm in 2012. All three of the locally administered organizations in Kenya that I am familiar with are run with heart, compassion, integrity, high energy, and on a shoestring!

I follow the stories and results of the other Aid for Africa member non-profits through their newsletters and facebook posts, and am impressed with the scope, impact, and worth of their projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I feel that the newsletter does an excellent job of illuminating the good work that Aid for Africa does, but a larger audience would always be a plus.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I trust and respect Aid for Africa for its commitment and adherence to its mission.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers