Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.925
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

During graduate school I volunteered for the U.N.'s ILO (via The Wharton School) in East Africa, serving Tanzania, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi, and Uganda. I noted then the inefficiencies of so very many disparate Volags/Quangos/Nonprofits working only in silos, and then I learned about Aid For Africa's consortium-like/collaborative-esque approach -- kudos to Aid For Africa and its constituent members (and member donors).
September 12, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 21, 2012

Aid for Africa is an excellent organization that provides over 85 member NGOs with a unique opportunity to collaborate on issues specific to Africa. For example, every year members are brought togethe... more

September 12, 2014

I've had a pleasure of working with Aid for Africa as a representative of a member organization for the past three years, and I could not be more impressed. AFA is a truly innovative coalition with strong, creative leadership at the helm. I'm particularly grateful for the AFA GIrls Education initiative, which benefits nonprofits who are working on the ground, increasing the number of girls enrolled in and completing school. Keep up the good work, AFA!
November 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Aid for Africa is an excellent organization that provides over 85 member NGOs with a unique opportunity to collaborate on issues specific to Africa. For example, every year members are brought together for a day-long workshop with guest speakers, group discussions, and a chance to connect with like-minded nonprofits. Member NGOs like the one that I work for - Maasai Girls Education Fund - also enjoy the benefit of participating in the Combined Federal Campaign (CFC). In every respect, Aid for Africa is an exceptional model for effective and efficient nonprofit work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 4, 2013

The dedication of the team at Aid for Africa is inspiring. I am the Executive Director of a member organization of Aid for Africa and have been working with them for five years. In every communication, meeting, or conference with them, their professionalism and passion for making a real difference is evident. In Africa, a place where a large sum of charity goes, they are making a direct and huge contribution with the work they are doing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I've been aware of Aid for Africa and the work for several years, through one of their member non-profits, African Children's Haven. I have visited or worked with three of ACH's Kenyan-based non-profits, beginning in 2009, and spent a week at a safe house (sponsored by ACH) for Masai girls fleeing early marriage and fgm in 2012. All three of the locally administered organizations in Kenya that I am familiar with are run with heart, compassion, integrity, high energy, and on a shoestring!

I follow the stories and results of the other Aid for Africa member non-profits through their newsletters and facebook posts, and am impressed with the scope, impact, and worth of their projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I feel that the newsletter does an excellent job of illuminating the good work that Aid for Africa does, but a larger audience would always be a plus.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I trust and respect Aid for Africa for its commitment and adherence to its mission.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Aid for Africa is an alliance of U.S.-based nonprofits and their African partners that empowers children, families, and communities throughout Sub Saharan Africa. Its grassroots programs include education, health care, wildlife conservation, agriculture, small business creation and more. Aid for Africa serves as a uniquely effective umbrella organization for a wide variety of amazing organizations, effectively uniting dozens of tremendous groups to maximize visibility, awareness of and support for a variety of important issues. The Aid for Africa Girls Education Fund, a special initiative of Aid for Africa, helps girls go to school and succeed in life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope that Aid for Africa continues to grow and to reach many more people, both in terms of populations served, donor partners and individuals who care about the well-being and future of Africa and it's people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

There are so many unique, independent organizations working to provide services to Africa, and I value the work of Aid For Africa because they help to coordinate efforts, bring training and resources, and leverage the power of an alliance to benefit all service providers. It's wonderful to support a single organization that works to fight poverty, end hunger, combat diseases, educate girls, and care for animals. Aid For Africa is an incredibly important organization that deserves our support!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give more money so they could do more!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

My first experience with Aid For Africa was about two years ago when I started my non-profit organization Hope For Hope and after we reached out to them we were given a chance to meet with Brett, one of the members of their team to discuss our work as an organization. After meeting with Brett in NYC we were invited down to Washington, D.C. to their annual conference and we were given the amazing opportunity to meet people from member organizations. It was a great opportunity. We continued to collaborate and work on ideas together and in the Fall of 2013 we hosted a joint fundraiser to benefit the Girls Education Fund and Hope For Hope's efforts. Working with Aid For Africa has been an amazing experience and the work that they do is some of the best that we have seen in the business. They gave us an amazing chance to work with them and we are forever grateful for that! The impact of their Girls Education Fund, I believe will be substantial.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My nonprofit, Ghanaian Mothers' Hope, became an Aid for Africa member 2 years ago. As one of the smaller nonprofits in the membership, I am grateful for the leadership of Barbara Rose. Dedicated to helping nonprofits whose missions involve solutions to the incredible needs of the people, animals and environments of Africa, Aid for Africa provides exposure, financial support and most of all encouragement and direction for members. Several times a year members are invited to gather for discussions on leading issues surrounding work in Africa. The Girls Education Fund inspires all of us to do more for girls in Africa.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers