Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had the sincere pleasure of working with Aid For Africa and learning the details of how they support a wide range of great organizations around the continent. AFA's mission is distinct and a significant part of what makes them so valuable for the types of work their member organizations perform. Rather than trying to directly deliver many things for the myriad needs of Africa, AFA directly supports many small, targeted, tactical nonprofits that are on the ground in Africa delivering a range of services and supplies. Some of these members, I suspect, would barely be able to function without the financial and strategic support AFA is able to provide.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 4, 2013

The dedication of the team at Aid for Africa is inspiring. I am the Executive Director of a member organization of Aid for Africa and have been working with them for five years. In every communication, meeting, or conference with them, their professionalism and passion for making a real difference is evident. In Africa, a place where a large sum of charity goes, they are making a direct and huge contribution with the work they are doing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

I attended an extraordinary gallery event hosted by Aid for Africa in partnership with the Firelight Foundation. Cradles of all shapes and sizes that had been created by international artists were exhibited to bring focus to the plight of AIDS orphans worldwide, but most especially in Africa. Embracing art as a means to communicate this narrative was brilliant and moving. The event was attended by numerous supporters of Aid for Africa, which gave me a chance to learn even more about this important organization and its galvanizing efforts to develop support for the work of so many outstanding non-profits that provide such needed service for Africa. Aid for Africa does the hard work of ensuring that other non-profits have the resources to carry forward their individual visions, while being guided by its own clear mission of a united effort of service. I applaud its founder, Barbara Rose, and admire greatly the commitment of all involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish them even greater fiscal support so they can grow their mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I really enjoyed being on the board of this organization that leverages the work of many different organizations to make a larger positive impact in regards to many issues facing those living in Africa. They help support the work of many great organizations doing important work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I've been aware of Aid for Africa and the work for several years, through one of their member non-profits, African Children's Haven. I have visited or worked with three of ACH's Kenyan-based non-profits, beginning in 2009, and spent a week at a safe house (sponsored by ACH) for Masai girls fleeing early marriage and fgm in 2012. All three of the locally administered organizations in Kenya that I am familiar with are run with heart, compassion, integrity, high energy, and on a shoestring!

I follow the stories and results of the other Aid for Africa member non-profits through their newsletters and facebook posts, and am impressed with the scope, impact, and worth of their projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I feel that the newsletter does an excellent job of illuminating the good work that Aid for Africa does, but a larger audience would always be a plus.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I trust and respect Aid for Africa for its commitment and adherence to its mission.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Aid for Africa is an essential life saving group of workers who empower, inspire and provide opportunities for Africans. Their valuable work includes introducing creative methods for making safe clean drinking water. This eliminates many of the water borne microorganism that cause illnesses that devastate whole populations. Another contribution is the use of fuel for cooking with innovative simple cooking ovens which drastically reduce the need for tree branches and twigs that have to be hauled for miles. ALL KUDOS to Aid to Africa. All the workers do so without financial compensation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Secure all the billionaires worldwide to donate 1/10 of 0.001% of their wealth to Aid for Africa,. Millionaires can donate 1/10 of 0.01 % of their wealth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Aid for Africa is an alliance of U.S.-based nonprofits and their African partners that empowers children, families, and communities throughout Sub Saharan Africa. Its grassroots programs include education, health care, wildlife conservation, agriculture, small business creation and more. Aid for Africa serves as a uniquely effective umbrella organization for a wide variety of amazing organizations, effectively uniting dozens of tremendous groups to maximize visibility, awareness of and support for a variety of important issues. The Aid for Africa Girls Education Fund, a special initiative of Aid for Africa, helps girls go to school and succeed in life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope that Aid for Africa continues to grow and to reach many more people, both in terms of populations served, donor partners and individuals who care about the well-being and future of Africa and it's people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Aid for Africa supports a network of great non-profits that provide life-saving services to tens of thousands of people across Africa. One of its most important objectives is to support girls education. Aid for Africa recognizes and emphasizes that educated women raise educated children and that when women can care of their families everyone benefits. In addition, as a member of Aid of Africa, our small non-profit has benefited not only from the financial support we receive, but from our association with other member groups and the opportunity to collaborate with them in ways that increase the effectiveness and efficiency of our programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn’t change much. Aid for Africa is a huge success story. If I were to make any changes, I would perhaps invest more time and resources in demonstrating to the public that investing small amount of money through the organization provides a high return on investment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

There are so many unique, independent organizations working to provide services to Africa, and I value the work of Aid For Africa because they help to coordinate efforts, bring training and resources, and leverage the power of an alliance to benefit all service providers. It's wonderful to support a single organization that works to fight poverty, end hunger, combat diseases, educate girls, and care for animals. Aid For Africa is an incredibly important organization that deserves our support!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give more money so they could do more!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers