Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.925935
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Aid for Africa is a dedicated NGO which supports a number of development organizations on the ground, working in areas such as education, health, water and sanitation, and women's empowerment. They also care deeply about research. As a graduate student, I was fortunate to receive a grant from them which allowed me to conduct field research in South Sudan.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Aid for Africa is a highly efficient organization that provides a unique service to nonprofits working in Sub-Saharan Africa. The organization provides financial support to some 80 different organizations that furnish urgently needed services to tens of thousands of people across the Continent. What makes Aid for Africa particularly effective is its emphasis on science-based development and the links that it provides it members to advanced research institutions. This effort helps ensure that member organizations have easy access to the latest technology in the fields of agriculture, environment and health. Aid for Africa's board, which is fully supportive of this effort, places a high priority on good governance, equity, and financial transparency. The board's work is facilitated by a small, but uniquely qualified and committed staff of development professionals.
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

Aid for Africa is a NGO that I have had the honor of volunteering for and I am pleased to say that, since they are the representative African Aid Organization for many different charity causes in Africa, I feel my time is well spent in helping them with my efforts. Aid for Africa does the hard work of ensuring that other non-profits have the resources to carry forward their individual visions, while being guided by its own clear mission of a united effort of service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

During graduate school I volunteered for the U.N.'s ILO (via The Wharton School) in East Africa, serving Tanzania, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi, and Uganda. I noted then the inefficiencies of so very many disparate Volags/Quangos/Nonprofits working only in silos, and then I learned about Aid For Africa's consortium-like/collaborative-esque approach -- kudos to Aid For Africa and its constituent members (and member donors).
September 12, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 21, 2012

Aid for Africa is an excellent organization that provides over 85 member NGOs with a unique opportunity to collaborate on issues specific to Africa. For example, every year members are brought togethe... more

September 12, 2014

I've had a pleasure of working with Aid for Africa as a representative of a member organization for the past three years, and I could not be more impressed. AFA is a truly innovative coalition with strong, creative leadership at the helm. I'm particularly grateful for the AFA GIrls Education initiative, which benefits nonprofits who are working on the ground, increasing the number of girls enrolled in and completing school. Keep up the good work, AFA!
November 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Aid for Africa is an excellent organization that provides over 85 member NGOs with a unique opportunity to collaborate on issues specific to Africa. For example, every year members are brought together for a day-long workshop with guest speakers, group discussions, and a chance to connect with like-minded nonprofits. Member NGOs like the one that I work for - Maasai Girls Education Fund - also enjoy the benefit of participating in the Combined Federal Campaign (CFC). In every respect, Aid for Africa is an exceptional model for effective and efficient nonprofit work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I had the sincere pleasure of working with Aid For Africa and learning the details of how they support a wide range of great organizations around the continent. AFA's mission is distinct and a significant part of what makes them so valuable for the types of work their member organizations perform. Rather than trying to directly deliver many things for the myriad needs of Africa, AFA directly supports many small, targeted, tactical nonprofits that are on the ground in Africa delivering a range of services and supplies. Some of these members, I suspect, would barely be able to function without the financial and strategic support AFA is able to provide.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 4, 2013

The dedication of the team at Aid for Africa is inspiring. I am the Executive Director of a member organization of Aid for Africa and have been working with them for five years. In every communication, meeting, or conference with them, their professionalism and passion for making a real difference is evident. In Africa, a place where a large sum of charity goes, they are making a direct and huge contribution with the work they are doing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

I attended an extraordinary gallery event hosted by Aid for Africa in partnership with the Firelight Foundation. Cradles of all shapes and sizes that had been created by international artists were exhibited to bring focus to the plight of AIDS orphans worldwide, but most especially in Africa. Embracing art as a means to communicate this narrative was brilliant and moving. The event was attended by numerous supporters of Aid for Africa, which gave me a chance to learn even more about this important organization and its galvanizing efforts to develop support for the work of so many outstanding non-profits that provide such needed service for Africa. Aid for Africa does the hard work of ensuring that other non-profits have the resources to carry forward their individual visions, while being guided by its own clear mission of a united effort of service. I applaud its founder, Barbara Rose, and admire greatly the commitment of all involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish them even greater fiscal support so they can grow their mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I really enjoyed being on the board of this organization that leverages the work of many different organizations to make a larger positive impact in regards to many issues facing those living in Africa. They help support the work of many great organizations doing important work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I've been aware of Aid for Africa and the work for several years, through one of their member non-profits, African Children's Haven. I have visited or worked with three of ACH's Kenyan-based non-profits, beginning in 2009, and spent a week at a safe house (sponsored by ACH) for Masai girls fleeing early marriage and fgm in 2012. All three of the locally administered organizations in Kenya that I am familiar with are run with heart, compassion, integrity, high energy, and on a shoestring!

I follow the stories and results of the other Aid for Africa member non-profits through their newsletters and facebook posts, and am impressed with the scope, impact, and worth of their projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I feel that the newsletter does an excellent job of illuminating the good work that Aid for Africa does, but a larger audience would always be a plus.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers