Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

We humans are dependent on water to live, thus our quality of life directly depends on the quality of water available to us. Therefore, by planning and implementing projects to provide clean water to poor communities in my home country Colombia, Aguayuda is indirectly improving my fellow Colombians’ health and well-being. Thanks Aguayuda!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012

more

August 29, 2012

It has been a real pleasure to work in projects with Aguayuda in La Guajira and El Salado (Colombia). They have shown a real knowledge in project preparation, execution and follow up.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Aguayuda has successfully undertaken and implemented many efficient, effective, and sustainable solutions to help the people of Colombia and other developing countries gain access to clean water. They do this with very hard work, dedication, and the limited resources that I and other donors and volunteers have been able to contribute. They are a professional, hard working, and innovative non-profit, and I look forward to their continued success and solutions to the challenges of providing clean drinking water throughout the developing world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2011

more

May 16, 2011

Aguayuda brings water to communities in need and also provides educational support to ensure these water resources are sustainable. I spent one week at the end of June 2010 combining my passion to help with my energy to discover. It was my first time volunteering onsite with Aguayuda and I had my doubts as to how much could be accomplished in my 5 ½ days in La Guajira, Colombia. I had been told that I would be busy but I didn’t know that meant I’d be able to witness the completion of 3 projects, work in 6 communities, collaborate with community members, local governments, multiple indigenous populations, schools, and other non-profit organizations.

After each full day, no matter how dusty we were or how many miles we had covered on back “roads,” Aguayuda’s leaders’ Sabrina & Simón, made it a point to cap each day off with a walk along the beach and a tall glass of fresh "jugo de Maracuya" (a type of passion fruit juice you just can’t find in the US). That to me was the balance of Aguayuda – a tremendous amount of diverse, hard work but always staying connected to what is special and important to life and to each community. Aguayuda’s network was vast and covered hundreds of miles but each community touched was different and had a unique issue with something special to offer. Everywhere we went children played and often helped as community members worked hand with their environment to create a sustainable future.

We did so much, but one of my favorite moments was in Ramonero as the sun was setting. We had made fixes to and cleaned a water storage tank, and were waiting for the cement to dry on structural changes made to a water basin for the community’s goats and pigs. I had a Frisbee with me and for about a half an hour I played Frisbee with the girls and boys and even a few older community members. It was obvious that this was the first time they had ever played Frisbee. We all smiled and laughed with the pride that we had done something good that day.

Thank you Aguayuda for giving me the opportunity to more than exceed my goals. My passion and energy combined in ways I never would have guessed. I look forward to volunteering for Aguayuda as often as I can in the future.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Colombia, South America and the Washington, D.C. area USA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its lines of funding and speed up the opening of a permanent branch in Colombia. I would also love to increase the number of volunteer from within Colombia, too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I have known the founders for over 10 years from our Peace Corps days and working in Ecuador.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Increased funding for select programs in Colombia, South America. Also, having greater world-wide media presence (Twitter - @Aguayuda, or web www.aguayuda.org).

What is its top priority in the long run?

Help change how water resources are brought to communities in need.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers