Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

When a friend asked me to entertain her during her temple’s community service day, I had no idea what I was getting myself into; what I thought was a day of good deeds turned into four years of dedicated involvement with an inspiring organization. While I cannot tell you the difference between a laryngoscope and an ophthalmoscope because my knowledge of medicine is limited to a single year of biology, I know they are both important to struggling communities all over the world. My modest understanding of medicine, however, has never prevented me from sorting and packaging a box filled with miscellaneous medical supplies whenever I go to the AFYA warehouse. Helping out at AFYA has primarily taught me that no contribution is too small for an organization that believes in small, yet powerful change. As someone who plans to engage in non-profit work for the rest of my life, my experience at AFYA has provided me with a foundation for contributing on an international level while working locally. Struggling communities and the way they function fascinate me—how they either rebuild or collapse in the aftermath of conflict or disaster. I am passionate about understanding how governments and non-profit organizations, both domestic and foreign, impact individuals’ lives and well-being; I want to help end the suffering and dislocations these communities and governments face, and volunteering at AFYA has given me more perspective and foundation than any class I could have taken in high school. While I am fascinated by discussions in school about the political and humanitarian consequences of disasters, like the earthquake in Haiti or the typhoon in the Philippines, working at AFYA has helped me recognize that there is a difference between understanding and doing when it comes to improving individuals’ lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

Reading and hearing about the various problems surrounding global health and women in our modernizing world inspired me to want to make a difference. I could no longer sit on my couch and read the news stories without feeling the need to get up and do something about it. Before discovering AFYA, I was struggling to find somewhere to start. Ever since I became interested in international issues, global health, and language learning, I developed the passion required to want to get involved in changing people’s lives overseas. Interning at the AFYA Foundation has taught me that it is important to start somewhere, and the small things that are carried out at local non-profit organizations can go so far. To someone who desperately needs these supplies, AFYA makes a world of a difference. AFYA opened my eyes to the very real problems that are still facing people in rural villages in third-world countries, such as women who are not getting the medical attention they deserve during childbirth. AFYA has also solidified in my mind why global health is still a pressing issue. The problem is far from fixed, but I feel that AFYA is making a significant dent. “The people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.”~Steve Jobs

Ashley Grund- Intern

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

In a day and age where “voluntourism” has become a mainstream phenomenon, I was convinced that there had to be a way to better the world while also bettering, and remaining within, my own community. When I learned about a possible internship at Afya Foundation, located only 15 minutes away from my own home, it was a perfect fit. Not only am I able to make a difference by shipping much-needed medical supplies across the world, I am also able to reduce waste in my surrounding area, and take no-longer-needed items off the hands of neighbors and local companies. During my days sorting and cataloguing at the Afya warehouse, being able to see the tangible progress of sorted boxes filling up is an extremely rewarding feeling. As someone who already intends to major in international development, this experience at Afya has only further encouraged me to pursue this career: I have learned that enormous change begins on a small scale, that local and global change can be harmonious, and that simply because a task is daunting does not mean it should not be undertaken.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

In the summer of 2006, my older brother passed away in front of my own eyes. Soon after, I was diagnosed with a hereditary heart condition that explained the true reason behind my brother’s death. First hand, I understand the importance of healthcare access, as my brother’s life could have been saved with more medical knowledge and testing.

As a teenager with genuine interest in health and volunteer work, I was immediately intrigued when I discovered that Afya was a non-profit organization that was centered on global healthcare. I have developed more of a personal connection to Afya beyond community service hours. Considering I was the frightened and confused child who was forced to spend much of my youth in hospitals, I’ve learned how important it is to have people fight for you and your health. Through utilizing medical equipment that would have otherwise been discarded, I truly believe that Afya has the power to create a global movement that can save the lives of many underprivileged adults and children in rural areas around the world. Afya has formed a community, whether it is interns packing and organizing boxes of supplies, doctors providing their assistance abroad, or groups of volunteers willing to do whatever to help, each individual has the same mission-to make a difference in the health of people in developing countries.

Although many would believe that spending endless hours in hospitals and doctors offices would steer any child away from this profession, these experiences have forged my desire to endeavor into the medical field as a pediatric cardiologist. As an intern at this foundation, not only have I had the privilege of meeting different groups of people who all share my passion, but also Afya has introduced to me the endless possibilities that can come of working together to create a healthier and happier world.



Siena, AFYA Intern

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

I like doing the work. I feel good helping other people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

I like helping people overseas, bringing the stuff that people need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

I like to help other people. I like this [work] better than working at another place. A lot of people helped me when I had an accident. Just like that, here, people help each other.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

more

April 29, 2013

Coming here and being able to work here is fun. Meeting new people is great. I like helping people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

more

April 29, 2013

I like coming to volunteer at Afya. I do a lot of work, and there are happy and nice people here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

What a privilege to have met Daniel Butin, Founder of the Afya Foundation. She is an inspiration to many who work in the non-profit sector. Listening to her and hearing her stories makes me want to replicate the work she does in my country, Sri Lanka.
Sharadha de Saram
Founder Trustee - The
Sunshine Charity, Sri Lanka

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help Afya sort medical supplies in their Yonkers, NY warehouse; start an Afya Club in your community; help Afya with the collection of medical and/or humanitarian supplies. Volunteer