Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 18, 2014

In 13 days, I will be on three continents in one day, on my way to Zambia with the great organization, AVOH. When I was twelve, I was introduced to Zambia and African Vision Of Hope through a dear friend who had been there before. I said, CAN I GO?! Of course, I was too young, but now that I am old enough, I am able to go on this journey that is already changing lives, including mine. God is working through AVOH. That is a fact. Lives are being changed and souls are being saved on both the North American and African continents through the Holy Spirit that is working through AVOH and its volunteers. It is truly awesome and amazing and humbling to be a part of such a Spirit-filled, Christian organization that truly lives the Great Commission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

This organization is making an earnest effor to bring aid to the peoe f Zambia. They are honest with their finances, giving of their time, and passionate about the gospel of Jesus Christ. African Vision of Hope is a wonderful organization run by wonderful people with a heart for what God is doing in Zambia.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus short term mission trips more on strengthening the natives doing ministry already than on the people in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

After praying and thinking about going to Zambia with African Vision of Hope, I officially decided to last fall. It wasn't until I had actually step foot into their office had I realized the hard work and dedication the Bertels, Kasi, and all the volunteers had put into this organization. Throughout this past summer, I have been volunteering, helping with various projects that needed to be done. As I've spent time at the office, I've gotten to know the character AVOH has. As a human, it is easy to get frustrated and impatient with situations you cannot control. AVOH doesn't let that human aspect sway them in their work, rather they let God in to give them what they need to transform lives over in Zambia. That's what I admire most - they rely on Christ to be enough. I am so excited to join this organization this month to travel to Zambia and let God work. African Vision of Hope is one of the most top notch, loving, intentional organizations I have ever worked with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 13, 2013

more

December 13, 2013

I was introduced to AVOH through our church Life Group and joined the volunteer ranks. It's been said you will never be the same after taking a mission trip. Simply put...YEP! You can not truly appreciate the conditions the orphans of Zambia live in. Pictures alone can not tell the story. Your heart is touched differently when you personally visit and touch kids with no food, little water, sparse clothing living in unsanitary conditions in tiny shacks. You see desperate kids with little or no Hope. AVOH helps change these lives with Christian Love. They provide food, clothing, shelter, education.... but most importantly, Hope. Hope for today, Hope for he future and Hope for eternity with a loving God. In 6 years I have witnessed this effort triple in size and it continues to grow serving more and more vulnerable children. Our Life Group sponsors a child who graduates from High School in 2014. What a blessing for her. What an even bigger blessing for us. Yes, there are a lot of orphans in the vast sea called sub-Sahara Africa. AVOH helps one at a time. That one helps another, who helps another.... It's a biblical vision. Jesus called it The Great Commission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have known about AVOH for about 7 years, but in the past year became involved as a volunteer and a mission team member to Zambia. It is 100% "the real deal." Everyone involved is passionate about serving those in need. I have never met so many truly Christian people involved in one organization ever! The children who are being educated, fed and have the word of Jesus brought to them in Zambia are the most grateful, joyful people I have ever met. AVOH has helped the people of Zambia not only become much healthier physically, but also emotionally and spiritually. It was been truly a blessing to be involved with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I am very impressed AVOH. Almost all of the money that is donated to this organization goes directly to support the children. Every month they serve over 30,000 meals to the children. There are 5 schools in 5 different villages of Zambia that provide an education to children who otherwise would not be able to attend school because of not having shoes and not being able to pay the school fees. I have been to Zambia twice as part of the medical team. I was able to see how much the health of the children had improved at one of our remote schools in just one year. By providing education, food, basic medical care, and spiritual guidance, we give the children HOPE. If you were to look into the eyes of most of the children in Zambia, you would see nothing but hopelessness. But the children that this organization touches have a brilliant hope in there eyes. They know that someone cares about them. This is one organization that makes a world of differences in the outcome of a child's future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to make the transition from high school to living independently a little easier.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

A V of H is directly educating and caring for children in extreme poverty who otherwise would have no real hope for the future. It is accurate that virtually all of the money raised by this organization goes directly to benefit these children. I have been to Zambia five times and have seen the obvious improvement in the children, their living conditions. Their educational progress is pretty amazing. This organization builds schools, built an orphanage and provides basic medical care while clothing and feeding over 1000 kids at its schools, which are located in 5 different places. In addition, A V of H provides financial assistance to seminary students and employs numerous teachers at its schools, also providing adult education in agriculture and seamstress activities. It's a pretty incredible accomplishment for a couple from Edwardsville, Illinois, in only 6-7 years. This organization has proven that it is really worthy of the donations it receives and deserves the continued funding of charitably minded folks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

I have been a part of African Vision of Hope since I can remember. From the time I was 11 years old I have made the trip to Zambia and the transformation and progress is unbelievable. Not only are the... more

October 15, 2013

Words could not describe the impact African Vision of Hope has made on my life and the lives of countless others. AVOH is non-profit that is not so affiliated with the numbers or statistics of who they are helping but the actual individual: as a result, the transformation of the students has literally been taken from death to life. Just by being around the volunteers of AVOH, anyone could tell how passionate they are about the children and schools this organization exists to serve. One important aspect of this organization that many overlook is the person running it. I know the CEO of AVOH on a personal level and her heart could not be more pure. A genuine compassion she has for the people makes this non-profit soar above all others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

I have been a part of African Vision of Hope since I can remember. From the time I was 11 years old I have made the trip to Zambia and the transformation and progress is unbelievable. Not only are these children healthier in appearance but smarter, happier, and each one having hope and a plan for their future to change the community around them for the better. AVOH doesn't look for the easiest people to serve or the closest, but the ones with the biggest needs. By going there or even just volunteering you can see everything is done for the children and their well being. It has continued to share faith for the present and hope for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 6, 2011

My wife and I have donated to and volunteered for a different non-profit operating in Zambia. After finding AVOH and meeting their directors in Zambia and in the US, and after visiting their schools ... more

October 15, 2013

After having previous experience with small NGO's operating in Zambia as well as Kenya, I have been blown away by what AVOH is doing in Zambia. Bob and Judi Bertels have hearts of gold, they have shown consistently that they get things done in Africa. I am very well acquainted with all of their staff in Zambia, and those people are the salt of the earth. If you want to help people in Zambia, you will not find a better way than by supporting AVOH. They get things done. They do not waste. And they truly love those they are serving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If possible, I would just duplicate it without the top-heaviness that we usually see in larger organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2011

My wife and I have donated to and volunteered for a different non-profit operating in Zambia. After finding AVOH and meeting their directors in Zambia and in the US, and after visiting their schools in Zambia, we stopped supporting the other group and have given full support to AVOH since. The Founder, board members, and Country Director in Zambia are all excellent people, who do a very professional job, but also have so much compassion. Just one example of the fine works they do, is that they provide two decent measl each day for the vulnerable and orphaned kids who attend their schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Zambia and in the US.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just encourage more people to support this fine organization

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have been associated with AVOH for more than 5 years. The team is able to provide so much for so many with so little. If the corporate world could grasp the vision of this great nonprofit, no telling what kind of products could be produced. I will continue to volunteer with this group, regardless of my location. Thank you for helping me appreciate life in a whole new way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers