Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
December 13, 2013

more

December 13, 2013

I was introduced to AVOH through our church Life Group and joined the volunteer ranks. It's been said you will never be the same after taking a mission trip. Simply put...YEP! You can not truly appreciate the conditions the orphans of Zambia live in. Pictures alone can not tell the story. Your heart is touched differently when you personally visit and touch kids with no food, little water, sparse clothing living in unsanitary conditions in tiny shacks. You see desperate kids with little or no Hope. AVOH helps change these lives with Christian Love. They provide food, clothing, shelter, education.... but most importantly, Hope. Hope for today, Hope for he future and Hope for eternity with a loving God. In 6 years I have witnessed this effort triple in size and it continues to grow serving more and more vulnerable children. Our Life Group sponsors a child who graduates from High School in 2014. What a blessing for her. What an even bigger blessing for us. Yes, there are a lot of orphans in the vast sea called sub-Sahara Africa. AVOH helps one at a time. That one helps another, who helps another.... It's a biblical vision. Jesus called it The Great Commission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have known about AVOH for about 7 years, but in the past year became involved as a volunteer and a mission team member to Zambia. It is 100% "the real deal." Everyone involved is passionate about serving those in need. I have never met so many truly Christian people involved in one organization ever! The children who are being educated, fed and have the word of Jesus brought to them in Zambia are the most grateful, joyful people I have ever met. AVOH has helped the people of Zambia not only become much healthier physically, but also emotionally and spiritually. It was been truly a blessing to be involved with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I am very impressed AVOH. Almost all of the money that is donated to this organization goes directly to support the children. Every month they serve over 30,000 meals to the children. There are 5 schools in 5 different villages of Zambia that provide an education to children who otherwise would not be able to attend school because of not having shoes and not being able to pay the school fees. I have been to Zambia twice as part of the medical team. I was able to see how much the health of the children had improved at one of our remote schools in just one year. By providing education, food, basic medical care, and spiritual guidance, we give the children HOPE. If you were to look into the eyes of most of the children in Zambia, you would see nothing but hopelessness. But the children that this organization touches have a brilliant hope in there eyes. They know that someone cares about them. This is one organization that makes a world of differences in the outcome of a child's future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to make the transition from high school to living independently a little easier.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

A V of H is directly educating and caring for children in extreme poverty who otherwise would have no real hope for the future. It is accurate that virtually all of the money raised by this organization goes directly to benefit these children. I have been to Zambia five times and have seen the obvious improvement in the children, their living conditions. Their educational progress is pretty amazing. This organization builds schools, built an orphanage and provides basic medical care while clothing and feeding over 1000 kids at its schools, which are located in 5 different places. In addition, A V of H provides financial assistance to seminary students and employs numerous teachers at its schools, also providing adult education in agriculture and seamstress activities. It's a pretty incredible accomplishment for a couple from Edwardsville, Illinois, in only 6-7 years. This organization has proven that it is really worthy of the donations it receives and deserves the continued funding of charitably minded folks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

I have been a part of African Vision of Hope since I can remember. From the time I was 11 years old I have made the trip to Zambia and the transformation and progress is unbelievable. Not only are the... more

October 15, 2013

Words could not describe the impact African Vision of Hope has made on my life and the lives of countless others. AVOH is non-profit that is not so affiliated with the numbers or statistics of who they are helping but the actual individual: as a result, the transformation of the students has literally been taken from death to life. Just by being around the volunteers of AVOH, anyone could tell how passionate they are about the children and schools this organization exists to serve. One important aspect of this organization that many overlook is the person running it. I know the CEO of AVOH on a personal level and her heart could not be more pure. A genuine compassion she has for the people makes this non-profit soar above all others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

I have been a part of African Vision of Hope since I can remember. From the time I was 11 years old I have made the trip to Zambia and the transformation and progress is unbelievable. Not only are these children healthier in appearance but smarter, happier, and each one having hope and a plan for their future to change the community around them for the better. AVOH doesn't look for the easiest people to serve or the closest, but the ones with the biggest needs. By going there or even just volunteering you can see everything is done for the children and their well being. It has continued to share faith for the present and hope for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 6, 2011

My wife and I have donated to and volunteered for a different non-profit operating in Zambia. After finding AVOH and meeting their directors in Zambia and in the US, and after visiting their schools ... more

October 15, 2013

After having previous experience with small NGO's operating in Zambia as well as Kenya, I have been blown away by what AVOH is doing in Zambia. Bob and Judi Bertels have hearts of gold, they have shown consistently that they get things done in Africa. I am very well acquainted with all of their staff in Zambia, and those people are the salt of the earth. If you want to help people in Zambia, you will not find a better way than by supporting AVOH. They get things done. They do not waste. And they truly love those they are serving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If possible, I would just duplicate it without the top-heaviness that we usually see in larger organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2011

My wife and I have donated to and volunteered for a different non-profit operating in Zambia. After finding AVOH and meeting their directors in Zambia and in the US, and after visiting their schools in Zambia, we stopped supporting the other group and have given full support to AVOH since. The Founder, board members, and Country Director in Zambia are all excellent people, who do a very professional job, but also have so much compassion. Just one example of the fine works they do, is that they provide two decent measl each day for the vulnerable and orphaned kids who attend their schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Zambia and in the US.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just encourage more people to support this fine organization

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have been associated with AVOH for more than 5 years. The team is able to provide so much for so many with so little. If the corporate world could grasp the vision of this great nonprofit, no telling what kind of products could be produced. I will continue to volunteer with this group, regardless of my location. Thank you for helping me appreciate life in a whole new way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

If there is a one "non-profit" that can label themselves as such, African Vision of Hope is it. This is one of the few organizations I have been involved in that does not get distracted and only ever works to pursue the cause of charity. Every second of every minute is spent for the advancement of well-being and education of the under privileged in one of the poorest nations in the world. If you would like to find a community that will help you pursue your philanthropic goals, look no further. Your time, energy, and financial resources could not be better allocated than with the people of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 13, 2012

I had been looking for a place of service that I could make a difference in the lives of people that needed help. The mission trips I had previously been on were all "feel good" trips. Go to the area... more

August 21, 2013

I am so impressed by the AVOH team, not only have they given their all, but almost all funding is given back into the program to help the children of Zambia succeed by helping them to stay in school, graduate, learn a trade and be productive people in their communities. African Vision of Hope (AVOH) allowed me and my husband to experience the love of the Zambian people and to give back what little we had to offer. These mission trips have changed our lives! AVOH has been able to provide food, water, school supplies, medicine, a school nurse, housing through the orphanage, jobs for local teachers, teaching farming so everyone can provide for their families and much more. I am impressed what they can do on so little. AVOH is to be commended in their dedication to their child sponsor program. Only $30 a month and they can provide so much, WOW

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2012

I had been looking for a place of service that I could make a difference in the lives of people that needed help. The mission trips I had previously been on were all "feel good" trips. Go to the area once and never see the people again, no bonds were formed, no committments made. I wanted more, I wanted to feel connected and really make a difference. My friend invited me in 2011 to go with her to Zambia, Africa and the team she had been involved with (AVOH) I am amazed at African Vision of Hope and their accomplishments. The children are first priority in all things. The amount of dedication by the AVOH staff, volunteers, teachers, medical staff, pastors and seminary students is amazing! The students love going to school, they love their teachers and want to give back to AVOH when they complete their schooling. The director of operations there in Zambia, Andrew Phiri is a gentle and godly man, seeking to bring the best level of education and meet daily needs at each school. Not only do the children get an education they are fed two meals a day, school uniforms are given to each child, school supplies and medical attention as needed by the staff nurse. One of the schools also has an orphanage with 52 boarders staying there. There are a set of house parents that attend to the children and their needs. After my first trip I was hooked! This year was my second year and I will go back as many times as I can. AVOH has a sponsorship program to help with cost of food, clothing, schools supplies, buildings etc. There are ruffly 1000 students at this time in four schools, there are about 300 children that have sponsors. At only $30 a month these children get so much! Another thing I was impressed with is, AVOH has purchased ground to grow their own food, they will teach farming to help feed the schools and help the people sustain themselves. I am very impressed by the level of committment and love that AVOH has for the people of Zambia. If you are looking to serve in a place of great need, African Vision of Hope is where you need to be, they ARE making a difference. African Vision of Hope helps transform the lives of Africa's poorest children and families. They focus on spiritual, physical, economic and social needs. They extend assistance regardless of religious beliefs, gender, race or ethnic background.
I will volunteer as long as I can, I believe in AVOH!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I found it hard to believe AVOH was able to provide food, water, medical care and education for over 1000 children, supply AIDS widows with sewing machines and vocational training, start a farm, and financially assist seminary students - until I traveled with the group to Zambia this year. I met and worked with the staff and volunteers, visited 3 of the AVOH schools and witnessed the impact of the mission on the people they serve. The practical care and education for these children and women have given them hope for a future in a nation where most people have none. I have seen the incredible integrity of the men and women of AVOH on both sides of the Atlantic, and now understand how God is able to bless and multiply the efforts of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers