Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

Our daughter has participated in a mission trip to Zambia through AVOH and has seen first hand how important their ministry is and how our contributions are changing lives.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

My name is Kent Schuette and I am a pastor. Our church, Praise Community Fellowship has been involved with African Vision of Hope for the past three years. One way I can simply describe AVOH is that God obviously has His hand on this mission and ministry. There is no other way to account for the hundreds of lives being changed daily. The AVOH campus teach the hope and saving grace of Jesus to the people and Children of Zambia and that hope is tangible and working. Children and adults are being saved, fed, educated, loved, clothed, sheltered, and given "hope!" This is an amazing ministry that God is blessing. If you are looking for a place to give to or get involved with, this would definitely be a ministry to look into. All I know is God brought Bob and Judi, founders of AVOH, into my life and ministry for a reason! We have had a couple of our members go to Zambia on a mission trip and both of them have gone back again because their lives were changed. AVOH, a God blessed ministry of light and hope! Sincerely, pastor kent
September 19, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 15, 2013

After having previous experience with small NGO's operating in Zambia as well as Kenya, I have been blown away by what AVOH is doing in Zambia. Bob and Judi Bertels have hearts of gold, they have sho... more

September 19, 2014

My wife and I donate a fairly large amount each month to AVOH. We do that because I have been in Zambia several times to participate in their projects and have visited their schools, and have saw firsthand the way they operate. Along with helping young people get an education, and helping adults learn skills that will help them earn a living, and providing micro loans or their "Pay-it-Forward" program of providing families with a goat, who in turn provide offspring to other families, AVOH does more. They provide spiritual guidance to young and old, and lastly, they truly love those that they serve. Love is the basis for all that they do, and it shows in the way they care for people, and it shows in the faces of those who are being served. I will also say that they are very careful with the funds they receive and then spend in Zambia. I assure you that you will get a lot of bang for your buck with AVOH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

After having previous experience with small NGO's operating in Zambia as well as Kenya, I have been blown away by what AVOH is doing in Zambia. Bob and Judi Bertels have hearts of gold, they have shown consistently that they get things done in Africa. I am very well acquainted with all of their staff in Zambia, and those people are the salt of the earth. If you want to help people in Zambia, you will not find a better way than by supporting AVOH. They get things done. They do not waste. And they truly love those they are serving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If possible, I would just duplicate it without the top-heaviness that we usually see in larger organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2011

My wife and I have donated to and volunteered for a different non-profit operating in Zambia. After finding AVOH and meeting their directors in Zambia and in the US, and after visiting their schools in Zambia, we stopped supporting the other group and have given full support to AVOH since. The Founder, board members, and Country Director in Zambia are all excellent people, who do a very professional job, but also have so much compassion. Just one example of the fine works they do, is that they provide two decent measl each day for the vulnerable and orphaned kids who attend their schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Zambia and in the US.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just encourage more people to support this fine organization

September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 15, 2013

I LOVE to donate to African Vision of Hope because I know nearly 100% of my dollar is going to help feed and educate orphans in Zambia. Most other charities have a LARGE overhead. NOT SO with AVOH. ... more

September 19, 2014

I feel very good about donating to African Vision of Hope because I KNOW that nearly every penny of every dollar goes directly to help the orphans. AVOH does NOT have a large overhead at all. They run the ministry on a shoestring. I have also SEEN the effects of my donations by going on several mission trips with the team. I know the kids first hand and SEE the great work that AVOH is doing. African Vision of Hope is the ONLY ministry that I can confidently donate my time and money to and be ASSURED it is truly making a difference in the lives of 1500 orphans!!!
October 15, 2013

I LOVE to donate to African Vision of Hope because I know nearly 100% of my dollar is going to help feed and educate orphans in Zambia. Most other charities have a LARGE overhead. NOT SO with AVOH. AVOH is an all volunteer ministry. I feel good about donating to them. I have also been to their schools in Zambia 4 times! I have seen how well run AVOH is. And how much of an impact they are making in 1500 lives of children and widows. Folks should seriously consider sponsoring a child with AVOH and donating!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing. It VERY well run!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My husband, daughter and myself were blessed to go to lusaka, Africa about 3 years ago. We plan to go again, hopefully next year. It was a totally life changing experience. Wonderful group to be with!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 18, 2014

In 13 days, I will be on three continents in one day, on my way to Zambia with the great organization, AVOH. When I was twelve, I was introduced to Zambia and African Vision Of Hope through a dear friend who had been there before. I said, CAN I GO?! Of course, I was too young, but now that I am old enough, I am able to go on this journey that is already changing lives, including mine. God is working through AVOH. That is a fact. Lives are being changed and souls are being saved on both the North American and African continents through the Holy Spirit that is working through AVOH and its volunteers. It is truly awesome and amazing and humbling to be a part of such a Spirit-filled, Christian organization that truly lives the Great Commission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

This organization is making an earnest effor to bring aid to the peoe f Zambia. They are honest with their finances, giving of their time, and passionate about the gospel of Jesus Christ. African Vision of Hope is a wonderful organization run by wonderful people with a heart for what God is doing in Zambia.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus short term mission trips more on strengthening the natives doing ministry already than on the people in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

After praying and thinking about going to Zambia with African Vision of Hope, I officially decided to last fall. It wasn't until I had actually step foot into their office had I realized the hard work and dedication the Bertels, Kasi, and all the volunteers had put into this organization. Throughout this past summer, I have been volunteering, helping with various projects that needed to be done. As I've spent time at the office, I've gotten to know the character AVOH has. As a human, it is easy to get frustrated and impatient with situations you cannot control. AVOH doesn't let that human aspect sway them in their work, rather they let God in to give them what they need to transform lives over in Zambia. That's what I admire most - they rely on Christ to be enough. I am so excited to join this organization this month to travel to Zambia and let God work. African Vision of Hope is one of the most top notch, loving, intentional organizations I have ever worked with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 31, 2014

I met the Bertels about 2007, and learned of their ministry. My assumption was that they were volunteers in a large organization, imagine my surprise when I learned they FOUNDED African Vision of Hope. I've been a proud donor ever since, have seen AVOH grow in scope, in vision, and in results. It's an honor to know people of faith who don't just profess it, they live it daily. The organization completely obliterates the attitude that "I'm just one person, what can I do?" Obviously, the answer is "as much as you want to." It's a lesson we all need to learn, and Judi and Bob (and their many volunteers as well) live that lesson.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to gain more exposure nationally and via internet. Their work is so vital, much more could be done if a larger audience were aware of it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I've been associated with AVOH for about 6 years now, and can say that I am proud to be a small part of its vision. The work they do is Godly and critical. They have a handful (at most) of paid staff in Africa, all US staff are solely volunteers. They are saving lives on a daily basis in Zambia, and greatly enhancing those they touch. Have known of other Zambian missions that had leadership and logistic issues, fortunately AVOH is well managed, and as efficient as it is visionary. Thanks be to God for showing his will to Bob and Judi, and to them for accepting and embracing it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers