Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

A V of H is directly educating and caring for children in extreme poverty who otherwise would have no real hope for the future. It is accurate that virtually all of the money raised by this organization goes directly to benefit these children. I have been to Zambia five times and have seen the obvious improvement in the children, their living conditions. Their educational progress is pretty amazing. This organization builds schools, built an orphanage and provides basic medical care while clothing and feeding over 1000 kids at its schools, which are located in 5 different places. In addition, A V of H provides financial assistance to seminary students and employs numerous teachers at its schools, also providing adult education in agriculture and seamstress activities. It's a pretty incredible accomplishment for a couple from Edwardsville, Illinois, in only 6-7 years. This organization has proven that it is really worthy of the donations it receives and deserves the continued funding of charitably minded folks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

African Vision Of Hope is a life-changing organization!!!

For the past six years, we have donated to African Vision of Hope and will continue to do so for as many years as possible. Almost 100 percent of the dollars donated provide 2 meals a day, clothing, education and medical services
to over 1400 children in desperate conditions in 5 areas of Zambia. Being part of a mission team, we were able to experience this organization in action. We visited the villages and schools, met the staff, the educators and children first hand and see the results of this great organization's tireless efforts to reach out and pour out from their hearts to make a difference in the lives of children.

AVOH has changed the lives of many, many children and has changed our lives as well. We consider it a privilege to donate and serve this great organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I LOVE to donate to African Vision of Hope because I know nearly 100% of my dollar is going to help feed and educate orphans in Zambia. Most other charities have a LARGE overhead. NOT SO with AVOH. AVOH is an all volunteer ministry. I feel good about donating to them. I have also been to their schools in Zambia 4 times! I have seen how well run AVOH is. And how much of an impact they are making in 1500 lives of children and widows. Folks should seriously consider sponsoring a child with AVOH and donating!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing. It VERY well run!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

I have been a part of African Vision of Hope since I can remember. From the time I was 11 years old I have made the trip to Zambia and the transformation and progress is unbelievable. Not only are the... more

October 15, 2013

Words could not describe the impact African Vision of Hope has made on my life and the lives of countless others. AVOH is non-profit that is not so affiliated with the numbers or statistics of who they are helping but the actual individual: as a result, the transformation of the students has literally been taken from death to life. Just by being around the volunteers of AVOH, anyone could tell how passionate they are about the children and schools this organization exists to serve. One important aspect of this organization that many overlook is the person running it. I know the CEO of AVOH on a personal level and her heart could not be more pure. A genuine compassion she has for the people makes this non-profit soar above all others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

I have been a part of African Vision of Hope since I can remember. From the time I was 11 years old I have made the trip to Zambia and the transformation and progress is unbelievable. Not only are these children healthier in appearance but smarter, happier, and each one having hope and a plan for their future to change the community around them for the better. AVOH doesn't look for the easiest people to serve or the closest, but the ones with the biggest needs. By going there or even just volunteering you can see everything is done for the children and their well being. It has continued to share faith for the present and hope for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 6, 2011

My wife and I have donated to and volunteered for a different non-profit operating in Zambia. After finding AVOH and meeting their directors in Zambia and in the US, and after visiting their schools ... more

October 15, 2013

After having previous experience with small NGO's operating in Zambia as well as Kenya, I have been blown away by what AVOH is doing in Zambia. Bob and Judi Bertels have hearts of gold, they have shown consistently that they get things done in Africa. I am very well acquainted with all of their staff in Zambia, and those people are the salt of the earth. If you want to help people in Zambia, you will not find a better way than by supporting AVOH. They get things done. They do not waste. And they truly love those they are serving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If possible, I would just duplicate it without the top-heaviness that we usually see in larger organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2011

My wife and I have donated to and volunteered for a different non-profit operating in Zambia. After finding AVOH and meeting their directors in Zambia and in the US, and after visiting their schools in Zambia, we stopped supporting the other group and have given full support to AVOH since. The Founder, board members, and Country Director in Zambia are all excellent people, who do a very professional job, but also have so much compassion. Just one example of the fine works they do, is that they provide two decent measl each day for the vulnerable and orphaned kids who attend their schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Zambia and in the US.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just encourage more people to support this fine organization

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have been associated with AVOH for more than 5 years. The team is able to provide so much for so many with so little. If the corporate world could grasp the vision of this great nonprofit, no telling what kind of products could be produced. I will continue to volunteer with this group, regardless of my location. Thank you for helping me appreciate life in a whole new way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

If there is a one "non-profit" that can label themselves as such, African Vision of Hope is it. This is one of the few organizations I have been involved in that does not get distracted and only ever works to pursue the cause of charity. Every second of every minute is spent for the advancement of well-being and education of the under privileged in one of the poorest nations in the world. If you would like to find a community that will help you pursue your philanthropic goals, look no further. Your time, energy, and financial resources could not be better allocated than with the people of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 13, 2012

I had been looking for a place of service that I could make a difference in the lives of people that needed help. The mission trips I had previously been on were all "feel good" trips. Go to the area... more

August 21, 2013

I am so impressed by the AVOH team, not only have they given their all, but almost all funding is given back into the program to help the children of Zambia succeed by helping them to stay in school, graduate, learn a trade and be productive people in their communities. African Vision of Hope (AVOH) allowed me and my husband to experience the love of the Zambian people and to give back what little we had to offer. These mission trips have changed our lives! AVOH has been able to provide food, water, school supplies, medicine, a school nurse, housing through the orphanage, jobs for local teachers, teaching farming so everyone can provide for their families and much more. I am impressed what they can do on so little. AVOH is to be commended in their dedication to their child sponsor program. Only $30 a month and they can provide so much, WOW

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2012

I had been looking for a place of service that I could make a difference in the lives of people that needed help. The mission trips I had previously been on were all "feel good" trips. Go to the area once and never see the people again, no bonds were formed, no committments made. I wanted more, I wanted to feel connected and really make a difference. My friend invited me in 2011 to go with her to Zambia, Africa and the team she had been involved with (AVOH) I am amazed at African Vision of Hope and their accomplishments. The children are first priority in all things. The amount of dedication by the AVOH staff, volunteers, teachers, medical staff, pastors and seminary students is amazing! The students love going to school, they love their teachers and want to give back to AVOH when they complete their schooling. The director of operations there in Zambia, Andrew Phiri is a gentle and godly man, seeking to bring the best level of education and meet daily needs at each school. Not only do the children get an education they are fed two meals a day, school uniforms are given to each child, school supplies and medical attention as needed by the staff nurse. One of the schools also has an orphanage with 52 boarders staying there. There are a set of house parents that attend to the children and their needs. After my first trip I was hooked! This year was my second year and I will go back as many times as I can. AVOH has a sponsorship program to help with cost of food, clothing, schools supplies, buildings etc. There are ruffly 1000 students at this time in four schools, there are about 300 children that have sponsors. At only $30 a month these children get so much! Another thing I was impressed with is, AVOH has purchased ground to grow their own food, they will teach farming to help feed the schools and help the people sustain themselves. I am very impressed by the level of committment and love that AVOH has for the people of Zambia. If you are looking to serve in a place of great need, African Vision of Hope is where you need to be, they ARE making a difference. African Vision of Hope helps transform the lives of Africa's poorest children and families. They focus on spiritual, physical, economic and social needs. They extend assistance regardless of religious beliefs, gender, race or ethnic background.
I will volunteer as long as I can, I believe in AVOH!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I found it hard to believe AVOH was able to provide food, water, medical care and education for over 1000 children, supply AIDS widows with sewing machines and vocational training, start a farm, and financially assist seminary students - until I traveled with the group to Zambia this year. I met and worked with the staff and volunteers, visited 3 of the AVOH schools and witnessed the impact of the mission on the people they serve. The practical care and education for these children and women have given them hope for a future in a nation where most people have none. I have seen the incredible integrity of the men and women of AVOH on both sides of the Atlantic, and now understand how God is able to bless and multiply the efforts of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I AM SO IMPRESSED WITH THIS GROUP BECAUSE ALMOST ALL OF THE FUNDS THAT ARE COLLECTED GO DIRECTLY TO THE CHILDREN IN AFRICAN VISION OF HOPE AS THERE IS NOT A BIG PAID STAFF. MOST OF THE WORK IS DONE BY VOLUNTEERS DUE TO THE EFFORTS OF JUDY AND BOB BERTELS WHO HAVE DONE A MAGNIFICENT JOB OF ORGANIZING AFRICAN VISION OF HOPE. I HAVE HELPED WITH THE GOLF TOURNAMENT AND GALA FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS AND AM FOREVER AMAZED AT THE HOURS OF WORK, TIME, AND MONEY THAT PEOPLE HAVE BEEN MOTIVATED TO HELP WITH AND GIVE IN THIS VENTURE. WHEN YOU WORK WITH AFRICAN VISION OF HOPE, YOU CAN PERSONALLY SEE THE GROWTH AND THE WORK THAT IS BEING DONE IN AFRICA THROUGH PERSONAL CONTACT WITH THE BERTELS, THE WEBSITE, LETTERS RECEIVED FROM THE KIDS, ACTUALPEOPLE IN OUR COMMUNITY WHO HAVE GONE TO AFRICA TO WORK AT THE SCHOOLS, ORPHANAGE, FARM, AND MEDICAL CENTER. THE VOLUNTEER BASE FOR THIS ORGANIZATION IS VERY DEDICATED. EACH YEAR SOMETHING "BIG" SEEMS TO BE ACCOMPLISHED FOR THE AFRICAN VISION OF HOPE CHILDREN. JUDY AND BOB SEEM TO ALWAYS BE PLANNING TO SEE THAT THIS CONTINUES TO GET BIGGER AND BETTER SO THAT MORE CHILDREN CAN BE INCLUDED AND RECEIVE HELP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers