Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have been associated with AVOH for more than 5 years. The team is able to provide so much for so many with so little. If the corporate world could grasp the vision of this great nonprofit, no telling what kind of products could be produced. I will continue to volunteer with this group, regardless of my location. Thank you for helping me appreciate life in a whole new way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

If there is a one "non-profit" that can label themselves as such, African Vision of Hope is it. This is one of the few organizations I have been involved in that does not get distracted and only ever works to pursue the cause of charity. Every second of every minute is spent for the advancement of well-being and education of the under privileged in one of the poorest nations in the world. If you would like to find a community that will help you pursue your philanthropic goals, look no further. Your time, energy, and financial resources could not be better allocated than with the people of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 13, 2012

I had been looking for a place of service that I could make a difference in the lives of people that needed help. The mission trips I had previously been on were all "feel good" trips. Go to the area... more

August 21, 2013

I am so impressed by the AVOH team, not only have they given their all, but almost all funding is given back into the program to help the children of Zambia succeed by helping them to stay in school, graduate, learn a trade and be productive people in their communities. African Vision of Hope (AVOH) allowed me and my husband to experience the love of the Zambian people and to give back what little we had to offer. These mission trips have changed our lives! AVOH has been able to provide food, water, school supplies, medicine, a school nurse, housing through the orphanage, jobs for local teachers, teaching farming so everyone can provide for their families and much more. I am impressed what they can do on so little. AVOH is to be commended in their dedication to their child sponsor program. Only $30 a month and they can provide so much, WOW

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2012

I had been looking for a place of service that I could make a difference in the lives of people that needed help. The mission trips I had previously been on were all "feel good" trips. Go to the area once and never see the people again, no bonds were formed, no committments made. I wanted more, I wanted to feel connected and really make a difference. My friend invited me in 2011 to go with her to Zambia, Africa and the team she had been involved with (AVOH) I am amazed at African Vision of Hope and their accomplishments. The children are first priority in all things. The amount of dedication by the AVOH staff, volunteers, teachers, medical staff, pastors and seminary students is amazing! The students love going to school, they love their teachers and want to give back to AVOH when they complete their schooling. The director of operations there in Zambia, Andrew Phiri is a gentle and godly man, seeking to bring the best level of education and meet daily needs at each school. Not only do the children get an education they are fed two meals a day, school uniforms are given to each child, school supplies and medical attention as needed by the staff nurse. One of the schools also has an orphanage with 52 boarders staying there. There are a set of house parents that attend to the children and their needs. After my first trip I was hooked! This year was my second year and I will go back as many times as I can. AVOH has a sponsorship program to help with cost of food, clothing, schools supplies, buildings etc. There are ruffly 1000 students at this time in four schools, there are about 300 children that have sponsors. At only $30 a month these children get so much! Another thing I was impressed with is, AVOH has purchased ground to grow their own food, they will teach farming to help feed the schools and help the people sustain themselves. I am very impressed by the level of committment and love that AVOH has for the people of Zambia. If you are looking to serve in a place of great need, African Vision of Hope is where you need to be, they ARE making a difference. African Vision of Hope helps transform the lives of Africa's poorest children and families. They focus on spiritual, physical, economic and social needs. They extend assistance regardless of religious beliefs, gender, race or ethnic background.
I will volunteer as long as I can, I believe in AVOH!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I found it hard to believe AVOH was able to provide food, water, medical care and education for over 1000 children, supply AIDS widows with sewing machines and vocational training, start a farm, and financially assist seminary students - until I traveled with the group to Zambia this year. I met and worked with the staff and volunteers, visited 3 of the AVOH schools and witnessed the impact of the mission on the people they serve. The practical care and education for these children and women have given them hope for a future in a nation where most people have none. I have seen the incredible integrity of the men and women of AVOH on both sides of the Atlantic, and now understand how God is able to bless and multiply the efforts of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I AM SO IMPRESSED WITH THIS GROUP BECAUSE ALMOST ALL OF THE FUNDS THAT ARE COLLECTED GO DIRECTLY TO THE CHILDREN IN AFRICAN VISION OF HOPE AS THERE IS NOT A BIG PAID STAFF. MOST OF THE WORK IS DONE BY VOLUNTEERS DUE TO THE EFFORTS OF JUDY AND BOB BERTELS WHO HAVE DONE A MAGNIFICENT JOB OF ORGANIZING AFRICAN VISION OF HOPE. I HAVE HELPED WITH THE GOLF TOURNAMENT AND GALA FOR THE PAST 3 YEARS AND AM FOREVER AMAZED AT THE HOURS OF WORK, TIME, AND MONEY THAT PEOPLE HAVE BEEN MOTIVATED TO HELP WITH AND GIVE IN THIS VENTURE. WHEN YOU WORK WITH AFRICAN VISION OF HOPE, YOU CAN PERSONALLY SEE THE GROWTH AND THE WORK THAT IS BEING DONE IN AFRICA THROUGH PERSONAL CONTACT WITH THE BERTELS, THE WEBSITE, LETTERS RECEIVED FROM THE KIDS, ACTUALPEOPLE IN OUR COMMUNITY WHO HAVE GONE TO AFRICA TO WORK AT THE SCHOOLS, ORPHANAGE, FARM, AND MEDICAL CENTER. THE VOLUNTEER BASE FOR THIS ORGANIZATION IS VERY DEDICATED. EACH YEAR SOMETHING "BIG" SEEMS TO BE ACCOMPLISHED FOR THE AFRICAN VISION OF HOPE CHILDREN. JUDY AND BOB SEEM TO ALWAYS BE PLANNING TO SEE THAT THIS CONTINUES TO GET BIGGER AND BETTER SO THAT MORE CHILDREN CAN BE INCLUDED AND RECEIVE HELP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I remember boys from a Zambia Boys Choir stranded in the USA back in the 1990's. Judi and Bob Bertels brought two into their home, educated and raised them. In Zambia, the boy's families were destitute, plus many widows and children needing food, housing and education . AVOH started schools, built an orphanage with donations. Today I sponsor a highschool girl, praying she will have a chance for a good future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I am a new volunteer with African Vision of Hope, but I have known about this wonderful organization for the past 4 years. The work that they do, as well as the integrity with which they work, is exceptional. They are answering a God-given call to serve and are a great example to anyone who feels led to join in the work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have served on the Board and worked as a volunteer for African Vision of Hope for over five years. I have seen first hand having gone on a mission trip to Zambia three out of the last four years what difference they are making in that country helping widows and orphans. They are making a difference by giving over 1000 orphans a free education, two meals a day, medical care and a chance to be a productive member in their society. One of the principals said a few years ago that they are giving hope to the hopeless. What is so impressive is the fact that only around 5% of their budget is spent on Administrative funds in the US. So you are assured that the money taken in goes directly to help these children and orphans. AVOH has certainly blessed my life. We have a CEO and Director of Operations who work tirelessly both here in the US and Zambia to see that we are making a difference in that country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been involved with African Vision of Hope (AVOH) in various roles over a 6 or 7 year period. I've volunteered, served as a board member and have visited the schools, orphanage and seminary in Zambia, Africa that are supported through AVOH. In the same period, I have been involved with several other non-profit organizations. I can honestly say that AVOH makes a greater impact on the lives of the children, adults and the communities where it serves in Zambia - but also the lives of the volunteers - than any other organization that I have been associated with. Growing from helping to provide aids medicine to building four (4) schools, an orphanage, establishing a farm, and supplying food, water and medical care to over 1000 children in less than 10 years is nothing short of a miracle. If I had not witnessed it and been a part of it for the better part of AVOH's existance, I would have a hard time believing the transformed lives as a result of AVOH. Five Stars.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

God has led me to the international mission field- finally I answered! The first year I went to Zambia, Africa with the AVOH organization, I fwent thinking that the next year I would go somewhere else. I wasn't in Zambia two days until I knew in my heart that this was the work I would continue to do until I can no longer. I am thrilled to say that I have just finished my 4th trip. The people and students we work with at our schools, churches and orphanage have become family to me. I love the fact that AVOH develops relationships within the structure of Zambia- Rotary for example. Farmland has been purchased to help feed the students as well as teach them to sustain themselves once their academic career is finished. AVOH employs adults as teachers, cooks and adminstration. A nurse is now on staff, after AVOH opened a clinic on our largest campus. This month, our first class of seniors will graduate! AVOH does not just go for a couple of weeks and then move on. Work is being done daily to help our Zambian brothers and sisters to improve and sustain their lives. It is my joy and honor to serve AVOH. I pray I will be allowed to do so for a very, very long time to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers