Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
December 13, 2013

more

December 13, 2013

I was introduced to AVOH through our church Life Group and joined the volunteer ranks. It's been said you will never be the same after taking a mission trip. Simply put...YEP! You can not truly appreciate the conditions the orphans of Zambia live in. Pictures alone can not tell the story. Your heart is touched differently when you personally visit and touch kids with no food, little water, sparse clothing living in unsanitary conditions in tiny shacks. You see desperate kids with little or no Hope. AVOH helps change these lives with Christian Love. They provide food, clothing, shelter, education.... but most importantly, Hope. Hope for today, Hope for he future and Hope for eternity with a loving God. In 6 years I have witnessed this effort triple in size and it continues to grow serving more and more vulnerable children. Our Life Group sponsors a child who graduates from High School in 2014. What a blessing for her. What an even bigger blessing for us. Yes, there are a lot of orphans in the vast sea called sub-Sahara Africa. AVOH helps one at a time. That one helps another, who helps another.... It's a biblical vision. Jesus called it The Great Commission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

The amazing transformation of children is the most fruitful life changing attribute that a person will see in the African Vision of Hope schools . In 2003 ,on a dirt floor in a rented beat up building ,with 43 children that were in rags and hungry, a dream and a burden for the children was set into place. Seeing them prosper throught the 10 years that have followed encourages all of us to continue to surrender to the path that God has laid before us . Serving "the least of these" will be a life changing act of service.These children have the ability to change your heart and to brake your heart . Make the choice of sponsoring a child today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have known about AVOH for about 7 years, but in the past year became involved as a volunteer and a mission team member to Zambia. It is 100% "the real deal." Everyone involved is passionate about serving those in need. I have never met so many truly Christian people involved in one organization ever! The children who are being educated, fed and have the word of Jesus brought to them in Zambia are the most grateful, joyful people I have ever met. AVOH has helped the people of Zambia not only become much healthier physically, but also emotionally and spiritually. It was been truly a blessing to be involved with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I've been associated with AVOH for about 6 years now, and can say that I am proud to be a small part of its vision. The work they do is Godly and critical. They have a handful (at most) of paid staff in Africa, all US staff are solely volunteers. They are saving lives on a daily basis in Zambia, and greatly enhancing those they touch. Have known of other Zambian missions that had leadership and logistic issues, fortunately AVOH is well managed, and as efficient as it is visionary. Thanks be to God for showing his will to Bob and Judi, and to them for accepting and embracing it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I am very impressed AVOH. Almost all of the money that is donated to this organization goes directly to support the children. Every month they serve over 30,000 meals to the children. There are 5 schools in 5 different villages of Zambia that provide an education to children who otherwise would not be able to attend school because of not having shoes and not being able to pay the school fees. I have been to Zambia twice as part of the medical team. I was able to see how much the health of the children had improved at one of our remote schools in just one year. By providing education, food, basic medical care, and spiritual guidance, we give the children HOPE. If you were to look into the eyes of most of the children in Zambia, you would see nothing but hopelessness. But the children that this organization touches have a brilliant hope in there eyes. They know that someone cares about them. This is one organization that makes a world of differences in the outcome of a child's future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to make the transition from high school to living independently a little easier.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

A V of H is directly educating and caring for children in extreme poverty who otherwise would have no real hope for the future. It is accurate that virtually all of the money raised by this organization goes directly to benefit these children. I have been to Zambia five times and have seen the obvious improvement in the children, their living conditions. Their educational progress is pretty amazing. This organization builds schools, built an orphanage and provides basic medical care while clothing and feeding over 1000 kids at its schools, which are located in 5 different places. In addition, A V of H provides financial assistance to seminary students and employs numerous teachers at its schools, also providing adult education in agriculture and seamstress activities. It's a pretty incredible accomplishment for a couple from Edwardsville, Illinois, in only 6-7 years. This organization has proven that it is really worthy of the donations it receives and deserves the continued funding of charitably minded folks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

African Vision Of Hope is a life-changing organization!!!

For the past six years, we have donated to African Vision of Hope and will continue to do so for as many years as possible. Almost 100 percent of the dollars donated provide 2 meals a day, clothing, education and medical services
to over 1400 children in desperate conditions in 5 areas of Zambia. Being part of a mission team, we were able to experience this organization in action. We visited the villages and schools, met the staff, the educators and children first hand and see the results of this great organization's tireless efforts to reach out and pour out from their hearts to make a difference in the lives of children.

AVOH has changed the lives of many, many children and has changed our lives as well. We consider it a privilege to donate and serve this great organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I LOVE to donate to African Vision of Hope because I know nearly 100% of my dollar is going to help feed and educate orphans in Zambia. Most other charities have a LARGE overhead. NOT SO with AVOH. AVOH is an all volunteer ministry. I feel good about donating to them. I have also been to their schools in Zambia 4 times! I have seen how well run AVOH is. And how much of an impact they are making in 1500 lives of children and widows. Folks should seriously consider sponsoring a child with AVOH and donating!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing. It VERY well run!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

I have been a part of African Vision of Hope since I can remember. From the time I was 11 years old I have made the trip to Zambia and the transformation and progress is unbelievable. Not only are the... more

October 15, 2013

Words could not describe the impact African Vision of Hope has made on my life and the lives of countless others. AVOH is non-profit that is not so affiliated with the numbers or statistics of who they are helping but the actual individual: as a result, the transformation of the students has literally been taken from death to life. Just by being around the volunteers of AVOH, anyone could tell how passionate they are about the children and schools this organization exists to serve. One important aspect of this organization that many overlook is the person running it. I know the CEO of AVOH on a personal level and her heart could not be more pure. A genuine compassion she has for the people makes this non-profit soar above all others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

I have been a part of African Vision of Hope since I can remember. From the time I was 11 years old I have made the trip to Zambia and the transformation and progress is unbelievable. Not only are these children healthier in appearance but smarter, happier, and each one having hope and a plan for their future to change the community around them for the better. AVOH doesn't look for the easiest people to serve or the closest, but the ones with the biggest needs. By going there or even just volunteering you can see everything is done for the children and their well being. It has continued to share faith for the present and hope for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 6, 2011

My wife and I have donated to and volunteered for a different non-profit operating in Zambia. After finding AVOH and meeting their directors in Zambia and in the US, and after visiting their schools ... more

October 15, 2013

After having previous experience with small NGO's operating in Zambia as well as Kenya, I have been blown away by what AVOH is doing in Zambia. Bob and Judi Bertels have hearts of gold, they have shown consistently that they get things done in Africa. I am very well acquainted with all of their staff in Zambia, and those people are the salt of the earth. If you want to help people in Zambia, you will not find a better way than by supporting AVOH. They get things done. They do not waste. And they truly love those they are serving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If possible, I would just duplicate it without the top-heaviness that we usually see in larger organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2011

My wife and I have donated to and volunteered for a different non-profit operating in Zambia. After finding AVOH and meeting their directors in Zambia and in the US, and after visiting their schools in Zambia, we stopped supporting the other group and have given full support to AVOH since. The Founder, board members, and Country Director in Zambia are all excellent people, who do a very professional job, but also have so much compassion. Just one example of the fine works they do, is that they provide two decent measl each day for the vulnerable and orphaned kids who attend their schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Zambia and in the US.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just encourage more people to support this fine organization

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers