Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

African Vision of Hope believes in empowering some of the poorest and most hopeless people in the world. It is amazing to see how this organization has grown and truly changed and saved lives in Zambia.
This organization is also changing the lives of people in this country. Being a part of
this organization and volunteering is a great experience. Surrounding yourself with like minded Christians who want to make a difference is definitely a great way to serve!
September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2013

I have known about AVOH for about 7 years, but in the past year became involved as a volunteer and a mission team member to Zambia. It is 100% "the real deal." Everyone involved is passionate about ... more

September 19, 2014

AVOH truly is living out the mission of "doing something" about poverty in Zambia. It is amazing to see all the work that goes into the mission here on this side of the world and then go there (which I've been twice now) and see how it is truly changing lives on the other side of the world. The enthusiasm in the children who now get to go to school, have medical care and know that they are loved is amazing. With some organizations you wonder if your donation is really getting to where it is supposed to go. I can tell you that is not a problem with AVOH.
October 17, 2013

I have known about AVOH for about 7 years, but in the past year became involved as a volunteer and a mission team member to Zambia. It is 100% "the real deal." Everyone involved is passionate about serving those in need. I have never met so many truly Christian people involved in one organization ever! The children who are being educated, fed and have the word of Jesus brought to them in Zambia are the most grateful, joyful people I have ever met. AVOH has helped the people of Zambia not only become much healthier physically, but also emotionally and spiritually. It was been truly a blessing to be involved with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

My grand-daughter and I participated in a mission trip to Zambia this year with AVOH. It is truly amazing the work they are doing. Changing the lives of children and the face of Zambia.
September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
December 13, 2013

I was introduced to AVOH through our church Life Group and joined the volunteer ranks. It's been said you will never be the same after taking a mission trip. Simply put...YEP! You can not truly appr... more

September 19, 2014

African Vision of Hope is a ministry of Love to the orphans and widows in Zambia. Aids has devastated the continent leaving kids with NO parents or support groups. AVOH is trying to fill the gap with food, clothing, shelter, education and spiritual guidance to the poorest of the poor. Jesus said " do this to the least of these and you have done it unto me.' Supporting AVOH is responding to the call to Love and Help "the least of these". AVOH also supports the Baptist Theological Seminary with funds to train new pastors. Pastors who have a personal relationship with Christ and share it everywhere.
Three generations of our family have visited and ministered to these kids. First hand, up close.... it's real. AVOH is making a difference, one kid at a time. Thank you Lord for touching the hearts that serve.
December 13, 2013

I was introduced to AVOH through our church Life Group and joined the volunteer ranks. It's been said you will never be the same after taking a mission trip. Simply put...YEP! You can not truly appreciate the conditions the orphans of Zambia live in. Pictures alone can not tell the story. Your heart is touched differently when you personally visit and touch kids with no food, little water, sparse clothing living in unsanitary conditions in tiny shacks. You see desperate kids with little or no Hope. AVOH helps change these lives with Christian Love. They provide food, clothing, shelter, education.... but most importantly, Hope. Hope for today, Hope for he future and Hope for eternity with a loving God. In 6 years I have witnessed this effort triple in size and it continues to grow serving more and more vulnerable children. Our Life Group sponsors a child who graduates from High School in 2014. What a blessing for her. What an even bigger blessing for us. Yes, there are a lot of orphans in the vast sea called sub-Sahara Africa. AVOH helps one at a time. That one helps another, who helps another.... It's a biblical vision. Jesus called it The Great Commission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

Our daughter has participated in a mission trip to Zambia through AVOH and has seen first hand how important their ministry is and how our contributions are changing lives.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

My name is Kent Schuette and I am a pastor. Our church, Praise Community Fellowship has been involved with African Vision of Hope for the past three years. One way I can simply describe AVOH is that God obviously has His hand on this mission and ministry. There is no other way to account for the hundreds of lives being changed daily. The AVOH campus teach the hope and saving grace of Jesus to the people and Children of Zambia and that hope is tangible and working. Children and adults are being saved, fed, educated, loved, clothed, sheltered, and given "hope!" This is an amazing ministry that God is blessing. If you are looking for a place to give to or get involved with, this would definitely be a ministry to look into. All I know is God brought Bob and Judi, founders of AVOH, into my life and ministry for a reason! We have had a couple of our members go to Zambia on a mission trip and both of them have gone back again because their lives were changed. AVOH, a God blessed ministry of light and hope! Sincerely, pastor kent
September 19, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 15, 2013

After having previous experience with small NGO's operating in Zambia as well as Kenya, I have been blown away by what AVOH is doing in Zambia. Bob and Judi Bertels have hearts of gold, they have sho... more

September 19, 2014

My wife and I donate a fairly large amount each month to AVOH. We do that because I have been in Zambia several times to participate in their projects and have visited their schools, and have saw firsthand the way they operate. Along with helping young people get an education, and helping adults learn skills that will help them earn a living, and providing micro loans or their "Pay-it-Forward" program of providing families with a goat, who in turn provide offspring to other families, AVOH does more. They provide spiritual guidance to young and old, and lastly, they truly love those that they serve. Love is the basis for all that they do, and it shows in the way they care for people, and it shows in the faces of those who are being served. I will also say that they are very careful with the funds they receive and then spend in Zambia. I assure you that you will get a lot of bang for your buck with AVOH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

After having previous experience with small NGO's operating in Zambia as well as Kenya, I have been blown away by what AVOH is doing in Zambia. Bob and Judi Bertels have hearts of gold, they have shown consistently that they get things done in Africa. I am very well acquainted with all of their staff in Zambia, and those people are the salt of the earth. If you want to help people in Zambia, you will not find a better way than by supporting AVOH. They get things done. They do not waste. And they truly love those they are serving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If possible, I would just duplicate it without the top-heaviness that we usually see in larger organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2011

My wife and I have donated to and volunteered for a different non-profit operating in Zambia. After finding AVOH and meeting their directors in Zambia and in the US, and after visiting their schools in Zambia, we stopped supporting the other group and have given full support to AVOH since. The Founder, board members, and Country Director in Zambia are all excellent people, who do a very professional job, but also have so much compassion. Just one example of the fine works they do, is that they provide two decent measl each day for the vulnerable and orphaned kids who attend their schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Zambia and in the US.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just encourage more people to support this fine organization

September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 15, 2013

I LOVE to donate to African Vision of Hope because I know nearly 100% of my dollar is going to help feed and educate orphans in Zambia. Most other charities have a LARGE overhead. NOT SO with AVOH. ... more

September 19, 2014

I feel very good about donating to African Vision of Hope because I KNOW that nearly every penny of every dollar goes directly to help the orphans. AVOH does NOT have a large overhead at all. They run the ministry on a shoestring. I have also SEEN the effects of my donations by going on several mission trips with the team. I know the kids first hand and SEE the great work that AVOH is doing. African Vision of Hope is the ONLY ministry that I can confidently donate my time and money to and be ASSURED it is truly making a difference in the lives of 1500 orphans!!!
October 15, 2013

I LOVE to donate to African Vision of Hope because I know nearly 100% of my dollar is going to help feed and educate orphans in Zambia. Most other charities have a LARGE overhead. NOT SO with AVOH. AVOH is an all volunteer ministry. I feel good about donating to them. I have also been to their schools in Zambia 4 times! I have seen how well run AVOH is. And how much of an impact they are making in 1500 lives of children and widows. Folks should seriously consider sponsoring a child with AVOH and donating!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing. It VERY well run!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My husband, daughter and myself were blessed to go to lusaka, Africa about 3 years ago. We plan to go again, hopefully next year. It was a totally life changing experience. Wonderful group to be with!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 18, 2014

In 13 days, I will be on three continents in one day, on my way to Zambia with the great organization, AVOH. When I was twelve, I was introduced to Zambia and African Vision Of Hope through a dear friend who had been there before. I said, CAN I GO?! Of course, I was too young, but now that I am old enough, I am able to go on this journey that is already changing lives, including mine. God is working through AVOH. That is a fact. Lives are being changed and souls are being saved on both the North American and African continents through the Holy Spirit that is working through AVOH and its volunteers. It is truly awesome and amazing and humbling to be a part of such a Spirit-filled, Christian organization that truly lives the Great Commission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers