Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My school district has started 18 libraries in the last 5 years by partnering with the African Library Project. It has become a passion for many of us to get books in the hands of school children. We began by just getting 1000 books, but the longer we collect, the more specific we have become. For instance, now we always make sure there are at least 10-12 books about African children. We like to include a box that has educational games and flashcards. Then there is a book of over 500 children's poems that has newer poems and some old classics, like, "Grandpa dropped his glasses in a pot of dye" and "Once there was an elephant who tried to use the telephant" that we like to include. Of course, no children's library is complete without Dr. Seuss. When we get feedback from a library that we start in Africa that the teacher stays late at the school because the people of the town want to come and check out books from the school, our hearts almost burst. What a wonderful way to share from our plenty!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My sister and I started with a goal of collecting 1000 books to start one library with the African Library Project. We had a team of neighborhood 5th grade girls, retired teachers and community volunteers. We were having so much fun and collecting so many books that we were able to start 3 libraries in Africa. We like the organization and believe in the work so much that my sister and I decided to go to Zimbabwe last Fall to attend the bi-annual conference with other volunteers. The experience was fabulous. We met librarians, students and administrators who are so appreciative to have books in their schools and communities to help the learning process. Sending our gently used books to areas that have no or few books opens a whole new world for children to read, learn and explore. The African Library Project is a GREAT Nonprofit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My middle school library has been holding an annual book drive for the African Library Project since it started. Chris devised a user-friendly process that makes it easy for those running the book drives. That is why this organization is so successful at what it does -- because of her great organizational skills!!! And because it is such a worthwhile goal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been on the board since 2010 and look forward to serving another term when this one is complete. I feel great about the time I spend knowing that the libraries we send are such a valued and precious resource. I have also done a book drive and loved the experience of collecting and packing up the books. I only planned to collect 1,000 but they came pouring in and I was able to collect 3,000 books--enough for 3 libraries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

well, actually it takes more like 20-30 hours to do a book drive, but then you would have helped start a library in Africa! Volunteer