Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 25, 2012

My participation in the African Library Project has been one of my most rewarding and joyful life experiences. I have often seen a need, but found little I could offer beyond giving money. To be abl... more

April 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have never been able to have the direct, positive impact on others that I have experienced with the African Library Project. Being able to create school libraries, where there are none, and, thereby, improve the standard of living and quality of life of children has been extremely rewarding for me. We can personally make the world a better place. Additionally, all the staff for the African Library Project is volunteers. So any funds raised go directly to creating libraries and helping children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My participation in the African Library Project has been one of my most rewarding and joyful life experiences. I have often seen a need, but found little I could offer beyond giving money. To be able to directly help make a difference in the world, make a difference in the lives of children, is a rare and wonderful opportunity. The gift in personal satisfaction is far greater than any contribution I could make. Count me in to be with the African Library Project as long as there are kids who need book.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

African Library Project has made such an impact in my life. I am an immigrant from Kenya, Africa and when I came to America, I stepped into a library for the first time. In Africa I had never been exposed to any books besides the textbooks we got in school. My grandmother who raised me was illiterate so there were no books around the house. Since I stepped into the library for the first time, I fell in love with libraries. I began to dream of building libraries in Africa to help other Africans get the opportunity to step into a library like I did. African Library Project helped me accomplish this dream of mine at 16 years old. I got to reach out to my whole community for gently used books. I set up barrels at church and at school. It was just amazing how people I did not even know brought books to me.The organization requires you to collect a 10000 books. When I first saw this number I thought that it would be extremely hard to raise this many books but, it was not. People are extremely generous, I collected about 5000 books. Through out this whole project the organization was great in supporting me. I would email them and immediately receive answers. I am really grateful for this organization and the wonderful work they are doing. I now know that children in Africa who are just like my childhood self will receive the books that I never had growing up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I began volunteering for the African Library Project (ALP) in January 2012. For the last several years, I have worked with a variety of non-profits to raise awareness on human rights and literacy. ALP by far is one of the most organized non-profits I have worked with, which is made even more impressive by the fact that the organization is driven solely by volunteers. For a business model like this to operate successfully, it takes incredible dedication and passion from each individual.

ALP impacts not only those throughout Africa, but also our book drive organizers and their communities. ALP offers volunteers a concrete opportunity to make a real, significant, and lasting difference in the lives of children and adults in African villages. Many of these regions never before had libraries, and had limited--or no--access to books. I love that instead of used books winding up in the trash, they are saved and given to people who truly cherish them.

My time with ALP has been very rewarding. It has been a pleasure getting to know our board members, our book drive organizers, and our partners in Africa. I am very much looking forward to watching ALP grow in the coming years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

African Library Project has given us such a wonderful opportunity to change the lives of many people. My class of 1st graders have gone out to collect money and books to make a library in Botswana. Many of them still in process of learning how to read were very excited with the idea of helping children whom they never met in another continent to learn how to read. Chris from ALP came to the classroom for a presentation. Within a short period of time, the whole school was involved in collecting the books. A little girl had gone around knocking door to door to collect the shipping money for the books. Mothers have come to help packing, and fathers have come to take the boxes to the post office. Everyone got involved and in everyone's heart there was warmth serving a community. It became an unforgettable life learning event for the 1st graders.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

As a special gift to honor my wife's retirement from her elementary teaching career, I contacted Chris at ALP to ask her thoughts on the idea. Her excitement matched mine, as Pam (my spouse)had been her school-bus seatmate some 48+ yrs ago in rural Indiana! Chris then guided me through the starting process, partnered us with Laura Hill (terrific) and set us up with our two ALP schools in Swaziland. With book donations from community members, friends, and neighbors, as well as, our own two girls libraries, and our fabulous support from city government leaders and the entire elementary school staff/students, we met our goal of 2000+ books in time for a road trip over Spring-break to New Orleans. With a van loaded with 28+ boxes, we delivered our ALP to the warehouse for shipment to Africa. No words can really express the feeling of accomplishment we had upon unloading our cargo. The entire experience working with Chris and Co. was nothing short of magical. To see how happy this gift made Pam, how special it made me feel, and how encouraged we are for the future of these libraries is simply incredible. Already have a big start on the next ALP for our elementary school this next year!! If this group of dedicated people were an Olympic-judged event, they would clearly receive perfect 10's across the board.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with ALP for over a year now and I have been impressed with their energy, efficiency and dedication on every project that I have been a part of. Chris started this non-profit with a blank slate and where she has taken it over the last 7 years is quite astounding. With true grass roots efforts, African Library Project brings generations and cultures together to truly make the world a better place. I hope to be a part of this wonderful organization for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

ALP has done such an amazing job changing lives in African villages. Education and knowledge are the gateways to understanding and respect.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My school district has started 18 libraries in the last 5 years by partnering with the African Library Project. It has become a passion for many of us to get books in the hands of school children. We began by just getting 1000 books, but the longer we collect, the more specific we have become. For instance, now we always make sure there are at least 10-12 books about African children. We like to include a box that has educational games and flashcards. Then there is a book of over 500 children's poems that has newer poems and some old classics, like, "Grandpa dropped his glasses in a pot of dye" and "Once there was an elephant who tried to use the telephant" that we like to include. Of course, no children's library is complete without Dr. Seuss. When we get feedback from a library that we start in Africa that the teacher stays late at the school because the people of the town want to come and check out books from the school, our hearts almost burst. What a wonderful way to share from our plenty!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My sister and I started with a goal of collecting 1000 books to start one library with the African Library Project. We had a team of neighborhood 5th grade girls, retired teachers and community volunteers. We were having so much fun and collecting so many books that we were able to start 3 libraries in Africa. We like the organization and believe in the work so much that my sister and I decided to go to Zimbabwe last Fall to attend the bi-annual conference with other volunteers. The experience was fabulous. We met librarians, students and administrators who are so appreciative to have books in their schools and communities to help the learning process. Sending our gently used books to areas that have no or few books opens a whole new world for children to read, learn and explore. The African Library Project is a GREAT Nonprofit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My middle school library has been holding an annual book drive for the African Library Project since it started. Chris devised a user-friendly process that makes it easy for those running the book drives. That is why this organization is so successful at what it does -- because of her great organizational skills!!! And because it is such a worthwhile goal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

well, actually it takes more like 20-30 hours to do a book drive, but then you would have helped start a library in Africa! Volunteer