Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

Our middle school library has been involved with the African Library Project for 9 years. This is my third year helping with the annual book drive. The organization is great because it provides plenty of information on what kind of school you are helping and supports us throughout our book drive. The website provides flyers, photos, fact sheets on African countries, and examples of presentations to advertise your book drive. African Library Project works because it is focused on building libraries and training teacher librarians. They are well organized and make helping easy. Chris Bradshaw has always been available to talk to and is ALWAYS enthusiastic about what she is doing. She inspires me to want to do all that I can to get the kids in Africa to read, to learn, and to grow.
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Our experience with ALP has been great on so many levels. First, the projects provide real, tangible results. We're paired with a specific school in a specific country, which really motivates donors to get involved.

Second, ALP provides so many resources and support mechanisms, it feels
easy to get things up and running and to know what to do at each step. The organization is clearly well run, and the loyalty of their staff and volunteers really adds to the credibility of our project.

Finally, our ALP project has provided so many learning opportunities for my kids. We've done research on the country we're sending the books to, have planned logistics like storing and packing boxes of books, and did lots of creative work making flyers, videos, and our website to market the project.

All of these things combined have made this an experience we would highly recommend and do again in the future!
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

The African Library Project is an extremely well-run organization that provides an avenue for our secondary school students to engage in philanthropy on a global level. Participating in the ALP helps to create a culture of compassion and encourages students to think about how they can make a difference in the world.

I highly recommend this nonprofit!
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our middle school has been involved with the African Library Project for eight years, and we have started thirteen libraries. What's great about ALP is that the model is really easy to implement. Not only is it a truly rewarding cause, but all participants benefit greatly from the experience. It's been a great way to develop a community of service-learners at our school site. Many teachers, students and parents get involved in the collection of books, and historically we have covered the shipping costs by holding a student-run garage sale. We love this organization and will vigorously continue our support!
August 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 3, 2013

I love being able to declutter my book shelves and know that my donations will be valued and appreciated. Does it get any better that creating libraries for people that don't have them and really wa... more

August 16, 2014

I am a book drive organizer for the African Library Project. ALP partners me with communities or schools that really wants the books we are collecting. This is a win-win volunteer project. You can save books from going into landfills here at home (yes our culture throws away good stuff) and give those books a new life where they will really be valued.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2013

I love being able to declutter my book shelves and know that my donations will be valued and appreciated. Does it get any better that creating libraries for people that don't have them and really want them? I am so impressed with this all volunteer group. This is a real win-win all the way around.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Our middle school has been associated with the ALP for a few years now. Last year was the 5th school that we helped get their own library. Our students see this as an opportunity to serve others. They willingly donate books that they have outgrown, count them, sort them and package them. They also raise the funds needed for shipping.
The African Library Project has a great organization, with helpful staff. Everything is completely explained up-front AND they also provide the opportunity to personalize their website so that we can advertise our book drive and show our progress. Our students also like knowing where the books are going and what school and grade levels they serve.
This is a great way to connect students to the world and to serve others. It also helps them to feel a part of something bigger than themselves. We are happy to be a part of such a wonderful organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

For several years my family has been collecting gently used children's books to support the African Library Project (ALP). I love how easy it is to connect with local groups doing book drives and how accessible the ALP staff are. This model of giving is so simple and the impact is so powerful! It's a great way for young children in America to learn about the power and importance of giving and helping others less fortunate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2014

more

May 16, 2014

I joined the African Library Project after a bicycle trip in South Africa, which made very visible the need for books and educational materials, particularly in rural areas. This nonprofit is a win-win for everyone -- African schools get books and training for librarians to sustain the libraries, U.S. volunteers get to learn about African countries, while they are recycling used children's books that otherwise would likely end up in a landfill. It's one of the few organizations which has a role for young people in the philanthropic efforts. It's a simple idea that works and changes lives one book at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

We were so successful in our fund-raising efforts for the library books we shipped to Ghana this year that we have excess funds we would like to donate to your organization. It has been such a pleasure to work with the African Library Project, the whole process is so organized and the results gratifying. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

I've done six book drives now, with my most recent soon to be on its way to Ghana. This is a project that connects children, communities, and people in the US and in Africa with one another. I typically solicit donations from people at work, from schools, and from my community. I always meet new people and am able to spread the joy that comes from making a real difference in the world with this project. Being a hardcore bookworm, it is by far my favorite, and the most impactful work I do. The best part is the light on people's faces when they bring me their book selections; those who love to read love to share that with others, and knowing these may well be the first books children receive is all the more precious.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to spread the word. It is easier and more fulfilling than you might think to start a book drive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

well, actually it takes more like 20-30 hours to do a book drive, but then you would have helped start a library in Africa! Volunteer