Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 3, 2013

I love being able to declutter my book shelves and know that my donations will be valued and appreciated. Does it get any better that creating libraries for people that don't have them and really wa... more

August 16, 2014

I am a book drive organizer for the African Library Project. ALP partners me with communities or schools that really wants the books we are collecting. This is a win-win volunteer project. You can save books from going into landfills here at home (yes our culture throws away good stuff) and give those books a new life where they will really be valued.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2013

I love being able to declutter my book shelves and know that my donations will be valued and appreciated. Does it get any better that creating libraries for people that don't have them and really want them? I am so impressed with this all volunteer group. This is a real win-win all the way around.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Our middle school has been associated with the ALP for a few years now. Last year was the 5th school that we helped get their own library. Our students see this as an opportunity to serve others. They willingly donate books that they have outgrown, count them, sort them and package them. They also raise the funds needed for shipping.
The African Library Project has a great organization, with helpful staff. Everything is completely explained up-front AND they also provide the opportunity to personalize their website so that we can advertise our book drive and show our progress. Our students also like knowing where the books are going and what school and grade levels they serve.
This is a great way to connect students to the world and to serve others. It also helps them to feel a part of something bigger than themselves. We are happy to be a part of such a wonderful organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

For several years my family has been collecting gently used children's books to support the African Library Project (ALP). I love how easy it is to connect with local groups doing book drives and how accessible the ALP staff are. This model of giving is so simple and the impact is so powerful! It's a great way for young children in America to learn about the power and importance of giving and helping others less fortunate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2014

more

May 16, 2014

I joined the African Library Project after a bicycle trip in South Africa, which made very visible the need for books and educational materials, particularly in rural areas. This nonprofit is a win-win for everyone -- African schools get books and training for librarians to sustain the libraries, U.S. volunteers get to learn about African countries, while they are recycling used children's books that otherwise would likely end up in a landfill. It's one of the few organizations which has a role for young people in the philanthropic efforts. It's a simple idea that works and changes lives one book at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

We were so successful in our fund-raising efforts for the library books we shipped to Ghana this year that we have excess funds we would like to donate to your organization. It has been such a pleasure to work with the African Library Project, the whole process is so organized and the results gratifying. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

I've done six book drives now, with my most recent soon to be on its way to Ghana. This is a project that connects children, communities, and people in the US and in Africa with one another. I typically solicit donations from people at work, from schools, and from my community. I always meet new people and am able to spread the joy that comes from making a real difference in the world with this project. Being a hardcore bookworm, it is by far my favorite, and the most impactful work I do. The best part is the light on people's faces when they bring me their book selections; those who love to read love to share that with others, and knowing these may well be the first books children receive is all the more precious.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to spread the word. It is easier and more fulfilling than you might think to start a book drive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Running a book drive for African Library Project was one of the most rewarding experiences I have ever had as a volunteer. I received letters from teachers, librarians, and the school principal about how excited they were to receive the books I would be sending. African Library Project does a fantastic job at finding people and schools who will really appreciate the effort of volunteers and will put the books to good use. The fact that African Library Project is completely volunteer-run never ceases to amaze me. Anyone who has the time and the resources should hold a book drive!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

The African Library Project is an amazing group of volunteers working tireleslly to promote education and literacy in some of the most remote regions in Africa. They are professional courteous and we are thrilled to have discovered them and be able to work with them. Without their hard work we would not have been able to make as much as an impact. There knowledge and experience is a beacon of light and it is an honor to work with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They have clear and understandable policies, but it would be nice if they worked in more countries and serviced higher education institutions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2013

more

July 4, 2013

The African Library Project has a unique and tremendously effective relationship with African partners in six (and counting!) countries. It is this partnership, along with model of organizing book drives in the U.S. to supply beautiful, gently used books to rural schools and communities in Africa that led me to be on the ALP board for six years and continue involvement as a volunteer and donor. Can you imagine an all-volunteer organization that can establish over 1,000 libraries in just seven years -- with lots of book-drive organizers thanking ALP for the privilege of collecting books and funds for shipping them? And wanting to do another book drive? This happens often because the process is fun and rewarding, and it works.

ALP's African partners are dedicated in receiving the book shipping containers, delivering them to the new school and community libraries, training the teacher-librarians, and following up. I have visited dozens of the libraries with ALP-donated books and seen the pleasure and learning the books bring to African children and adults.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word even more about the joy of giving books a second life in Africa and promote more messages/videos from ALP's African partners and post them on ALP's website and Facebook pages.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

The African Library Project stands out in a crowded field of non-profits:

- It provides real, working libraries where they are needed most. ALP never sends money, just books and a bit of technical assistance to turn gently used books into working libraries that are available to
communities where books are truly scarce.

- It puts quality ahead of quantity. ALP has clear criteria to send books that are most wanted and needed to improve literacy and develop a reading culture in traditional African settings. They place a huge emphasis on working with local partner organizations that will follow-up to make sure libraries are well used.

- It attracts enthusiastic volunteers to run book drives from all over the USA, and most want to do it again! Children and adults love to give their beloved books to those who need them most.

- It is all volunteer (no paid staff.) The founder/director works full time for no pay, and she sets the tone for the volunteer Board of Directors to roll up its sleeves to get all the work done with an open heart and a warm smile.

- It is well-run. Its inspiring track record (over 1,000,000 books shipped) has attracted talented Board members who understand the problems and opportunities of providing development assistance to Africa.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let more people know about ALP and its book drives. It is so easy and so powerful to start a library in Africa! ALP has grown from 0 to over 1,000 libraries through (mostly) word of mouth. ALP is positioned to scale rapidly to increase its impact in Africa.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

well, actually it takes more like 20-30 hours to do a book drive, but then you would have helped start a library in Africa! Volunteer