Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

Working as a volunteer, intern and later staff member at ACE, I was fortunate to become part of the African Community Education (ACE) family. At ACE all volunteers, staff, community members and families work together as a tight-knit team to help with the specific needs and dreams of each African refugee youth served at the organization. In my time at the program, it was truly inspiring to witness how ACE students were able to excel academically and socially through their participation in ACE's educational and mentor programs. If I could describe how I feel about ACE in three words I would have to say it is an innovative, change-making and integral non-profit organization in the Worcester community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have starting with the African Community Education Program (ACE) in the Summer of this year. It was initially suppose to be a summer internship but with time I discovered that I did not want my involvement with the organization to stop just then. I became attached to the children and the program. Its amazing what they do for the children, the sheer dedication involved in this organization is remarkable! I plan continuing to show my support to ACE in the following year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

ACE is a good program for students in grade 5-12, who have emigrated to the U.S. from various countries in Africa. Many are refugees and come from tough situations and for many this is their first encounter with the English language. With after-school and Saturday sessions, ACE helps the students both academically and socially during their adjustment to a new language and culture. ACE also runs a summer reading program that I was able to help with as a TA. Good things are happening at ACE!!! Ed W.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering with ACE in 2009 and I haven't been able to stop since. The people and the mission are what keep me here. I love all of the staff and students at ACE, it really is like a family. Many of the kids see ACE as a second home and I am so happy to be part of such a positive part of their lives. I really value the fact that ACE is not only here to help students academically, but also socially and psychologically--both equally as important. I have learned so much about myself as a person through my interactions with the kids at ACE. I recommend anyone looking for a meaningful volunteer experience where you can truly make an impact to come join the ACE family!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

African Community Education is a wonderful program that reaches out to immigrant and refugee youth and their families in the Worcester area. The positive impact of the program is shown by the students' achievements and the enthusiasm of both the students and the staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The African Community Education Program has had such an incredible impact on my life, where can I even begin? I started volunteering with ACE my freshman year of college and literally could not stop until I moved to a different city. That is the effect that the organization's enthusiastic staff and incredibly dedicated, inspiring, and endearing students have on those they come into contact with. Even after relocating I still have a strong connection with ACE and feel it's impact every day. I can confidently say that had I not been a member of such a welcoming, supportive, and all around amazing community, I would not be where I am today. ACE helped me to become much more culturally competent, compassionate, and understanding. The organization, staff, and students also enabled me to become a better volunteer, leader, teacher, and role model to all students I may come into contact with in the future. I strongly and actively encourage people to volunteer with ACE or to get involved in whatever way possible because of the profound gifts that the program has given me. The staff is incredibly supportive, enthusiastic, and open, the students are unbelievably eager to learn, inspiring, and hard-working, and the program is a blast. The stories I have from volunteering with ACE are stories I will never forget and have had an impact that will last a lifetime. I can only hope that I have positively impacted students even a fraction of how much they have positively impacted me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

tutor after school, be a teaching assistant in our Saturday program or in our upcoming ESL or Citizenship classes, or be a mentor. Volunteer