Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

Working as a volunteer, intern and later staff member at ACE, I was fortunate to become part of the African Community Education (ACE) family. At ACE all volunteers, staff, community members and families work together as a tight-knit team to help with the specific needs and dreams of each African refugee youth served at the organization. In my time at the program, it was truly inspiring to witness how ACE students were able to excel academically and socially through their participation in ACE's educational and mentor programs. If I could describe how I feel about ACE in three words I would have to say it is an innovative, change-making and integral non-profit organization in the Worcester community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I worked at ACE from 2006 to 2010 as a volunteer, a mentor, education coordinator and a teacher. ACE is a wonderful program that is fill with many young ideas willing to put into action. The kids are very respectful, honest and are always full of 360 degree kinetic energy. They have so much power, will, love, care and respect. It was an honored to have served them having been a refugee myself.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have starting with the African Community Education Program (ACE) in the Summer of this year. It was initially suppose to be a summer internship but with time I discovered that I did not want my involvement with the organization to stop just then. I became attached to the children and the program. Its amazing what they do for the children, the sheer dedication involved in this organization is remarkable! I plan continuing to show my support to ACE in the following year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

The work that ACE (African Community Education program) does for Worcester is meaningful. It supports the youth with their schooling in a way that the schools could not keep up with. They provide a place where the students can go to get help with their homework and also support them them emotionally. It gives them a place where they can meet others coming from similar backgrounds. They can learn English with others of their own age in a comfortable surrounding. I enjoy visiting ACE and watching the youth and their teachers interacting.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

The African Community Education Program (ACE) is a great resource for the Worcester, Massachusetts. I would like to nominate them for their fantastic work in keeping the cultural alive in the African community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

This is a great local organization doing meaningful work for the Worcester are community. I encourage you to get involved with them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

The African Community has been helping me with English and my homework too. At the first time I get here at ACE, I didn’t speak English. A few days later, I heard that there is a program that helps a refugee kids do they work, help them learn English and make they dream come true. I stared coming every Saturday and I actually made a lot of friends I never had before. ACE has been helping me with my homework since 7th grader and now I am in 11 grades and I am so happy. I want to help kids that don’t speak English and help them explain words they don’t understand.
Thank you, I couldn’t done all the staff with out ACE

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

ACE is a good program for students in grade 5-12, who have emigrated to the U.S. from various countries in Africa. Many are refugees and come from tough situations and for many this is their first encounter with the English language. With after-school and Saturday sessions, ACE helps the students both academically and socially during their adjustment to a new language and culture. ACE also runs a summer reading program that I was able to help with as a TA. Good things are happening at ACE!!! Ed W.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Ace is good place to be at ..they help so much kids that is new to u.s. which that dont how read or write .. like when i star A.CE i didnt know how read or write and i star coming to after school for help the ..like they help how read and write so .. ACE IS GOOD place ACE LIKE my house . ACE IS COOL ((:

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Over the past few years, I have connected with ACE staff, students and volunteers through soccer. The ACE community contributes immensely our Cultural Exchange through Soccer organization with volunteers at big events, players for scrimmages and testimony & lobbying for more fields in Worcester. Outside of all that they contribute to our organization and our city at large, they are a beautiful, loving family that I am so grateful to be welcomed into.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

tutor after school, be a teaching assistant in our Saturday program or in our upcoming ESL or Citizenship classes, or be a mentor. Volunteer