Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Write A Review
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

My daughter has made huge gains by being a part if their literacy program. She started when she was 3 1/2 and now that she just turned 4, she is already working on phonics. The staff there is nice, and they have a small student to teacher ratio which makes the program very effective.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

We supported AAMAN do to their Youth Services. Their Pre-k Literacy services for 3-5 year old children is an excellent early childhood education program and their Next Step Program that services 9th to 12th graders is designed to assist these youth to choose a career and/or secure gainful employment.

Because of the organization's low cost and target populations, I was moved to donate funding and supplies to help further their cause, goals and purpose.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Their literature class for my 3 year old daughter has greatly helped her improve her expression and communication skills.. There has never been a moment of regret but appreciation for the team. My little princess always looks forward to going daily.. And the affordability is a little fraction of what we receive.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have three children, two of which are in middle school, and I wish this organization was around for them. I am happy I have a small child that I was able to enroll into the program. I was referred by a close friend who's child graduated the program recently. I was just amazed at how advanced their child was and needed to know where their child went. I drove right down to their office and enrolled my child that day. My daughter loves both Mr. & Mrs. Adams and can't wait to go learn, sing songs and have fun. They are truly a blessing!!!!!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Cecil and Valjean Adams do a wonderful job teaching young children how to red. The classes are outstanding and a child will learn to read at a very high level in a short period of time. My only issue - I wish they continued the program through 1-2 grades in the summer. I want more of their classes for my child.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Wow! There are so many wonderful things to say about Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Adams. They are a pillar in the community and love helping children advance. Needless to say, I have spread the word to all family and friends as I believe the Clara Fields Multicultural Literacy Program needs to be the foundation to every childs education.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

African American Mutual Assistnace Network is an outstanding organization that provides educational, and social needs for those in need in our community. I am energized by their energy and contributions that they provide to the community and I am so proud and blessed to be a volunteer with the organization.
The agency provides endless hours to help those in need. Only positive outcomes for the community with their hard work and love for others.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Cecil and Valjean Adams are outstanding leaders in our community, ensuring that young children are well prepared to enter school and that older kids receive mentorship opportunities. As we know, providing a great base for young children is imperative for later school success; through their Clara Fields reading program, young children are given tools needed to ensure that they are great students, which not only helps the students, but insures that the served-communities also benefit. I have seen first hand the great success stories they have fostered, and we are very lucky to have AAMAN here in Western Wisconsin.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

The work they do with the very young is profound. My children have become readers at 4 1/2 years old and their confidence is over flowing. My daughter said her favorite part of the day was being able to read the most difficult Dick and Jane (blue) book. She went on to express how proud she was to be reading on her own. The caring adult volunteers are equally proud of her.

That confidence makes school a breeze and they can focus on more advanced work. This would not have been possible without this early learning.

Donations are needed to keep this going to keep this important work going.
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

For the past 2 years, I was a volunteer at a public school, 8 hours a week with 2 kindergarten classes. I was able to see what the teachers had to contend with: 16 students in a class, each with varying degrees of reading skills. These were 5-year olds, some of whom didn't even know "the ABC song!" When I volunteered at the Clara Fields Literacy Program this past summer, I could see a world of difference. I helped 3-year olds learn to recognize and write the capital letters, then progress to lower-case letters -- always making sure that they could write those letters. It is a step-by-step process, but before long those 3 and 4 year old children were able to read words -- and then BOOKS! What an amazing and dedicated group of people!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them the financial help needed to expand their project. As it is, Cecil Adams even has to provide transportation for some of the children using his own "vintage" automobile.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers