Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.15
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I will not be giving any more money to this organization until there are changes made at the Flowering Branch Children's Center. Yes, they have done incredible work in the community, but the problems with the center could be the apple that spoils the whole bunch. What bothers me is that I have been expecting a formal statement for a while now regarding all the news reports about a child being molested by another older child at the center, and they have been very tight-lipped. There are so many questions as to why they accepted a child that according to news reports many other homes would not accept and even though they were warned about how he could be a danger to others and himself, they did not protect the other children from him and the unthinkable happened. The biggest question is when this was reported to management at the center, why did they call the DFCS social worker and not the police? The news reports state that when the victim's mother was told by her son what happened over a phone call, she called the police.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Although it is a state law that they can call either the police or DFCS. I would like to see them make it a policy at Flowering Branch and other homes that when accusations of abuse are reported, the police are always called immediately. The DFCS social worker can also be called, but only after the report has been given to the police.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 12, 2014

We are truly blessed to have an organization that is dedicated to serving both children, and families, in Bartow County. Advocates' helps our community on all levels, whether it is educating new parents, housing children in their shelter, or counseling children who are grieving the loss of a parent or family member. This organization is vital to Bartow, because it serves as a platform in providing our youth with the necessary skills and resources to be the best that they can be, despite questionable and unfortunate circumstances that they may have experienced in their own upbringing. Advocates has been a staple in this community for 30 years now because of the extraordinary support that they have provided to our youth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful if this organization had the financial ability to expand and serve more children. It would also be a welcomed addition if they were to open up a transitional facility that could house children who have "aged-out" of the system.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been very concerned about this organization for a while now, but so much more so recently. There have been multiple news articles in regard to negligence of this organization - especially in reference to the unethical practices of Flowering Branch Childrens Home. It has been extremely concerning to hear and read what has been going on at Flowering Branch Childrens Home and the lack of medical care, general watchful oversight and proper care for these children there. I cannot help but wonder if something as serious as alleged child molestation is so easily covered up and swept under the rug by this organization then, what else is being covered up as well? It is just extremely concerning on multiple levels.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would think there needs to be some serious reorganizing and reassessing of this organization and it's staff on multiple levels.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Advocates is a wonderful organization that the citizens of Bartow County are fortunate to have. The services they provide to the children and families of our community are invaluable. The staff always has the children's best interest in mind and strives for excellence. I enjoy being a part of this organization and my family will continue to be supporters of Advocates for years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic organization that has positively impacted and changed the lives of thousands of troubled children throughout its existence. They have an impeccable reputation and a dedicated staff committed to improving the lives of children who find themselves in need of help. The negative reviews on this site are clearly based out of ignorance and some sort of personal vendetta against the director or the way the staff are compensated (Possibly a disgruntled former employee?) It is shameful that these individuals would seek to damage an organization that has played such a critical role in the lives of so many children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Advocates for Bartow's Children serves an amazing need in our community. In their 30+ years of existence, they have given thousands of children hope, love and protection. From helping new mothers, to offering support to children dealing with grief, a children's shelter, CASA, and SO MUCH MORE, this organization does more for children than any other group in Cartersville-Bartow County. We are so fortunate to have such dedicated staff, volunteers, and board members who want nothing more than to provide safety, security and comfort to children in need. I feel lucky to have volunteered for this great organization, and to support them financially. We need more organizations like Adovcates across the US to help even more children in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

I have found Advocates for Children to be a strong organization that puts the children's interests first. They care deeply in protecting and nurturing children who have come from negative home life experiences. They create a safe and stable environment and are dedicated to improving these children's lives in any way they can. I will continue to donate and support such a worthy cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This organization has some serious and extremely concerning issues and practices starting at the top with the director. It has become more and more apparent these past few months how much more important money and self recognition is to the director of this organization, than the safety and assistance of children and families. I have been appalled at the lack of morals and basic decency of this director and this organization as a whole. The fact that an alleged molestation occurred right under the roof of this organizations Flowering Branch Childrens Home and no law enforcement was notified, it was hidden and the child this alleged crime happened to was not even given medical treatment or care is absolutely appalling. There are way too many questionable activities within this organization, laundry list really, to be able to support them in good conscience. I do believe there are some great volunteers within this organization and I applaud them for their kindness and service to our community. But, as far as the directors of this organization go, they are blatantly more concerned with making money and meeting quotas than helping children and families. That kind of immoral and inappropriate mindset and behavior tends to start at the top and trickle down. You know, the employees tend to emulate the behavior of those people who are higher up that are supposed to be pillars of leadership and ethics in any organization. In this organization, you have "higher ups" less concerned with children and families and more concerned with money and appearances so you have an extreme lack in leadership for the things that matter most and it shows all the way through the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start at the top with an immediate removal/replacement of the top paid employees - who make exceptionaly good pay for a non-profit. A cleaning of the house, so to speak, needs to happen with the employees of this organization and should have already taken place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 6, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

I am sorry, but this is not a top notch facility. Please read the following articles and educate yourself before you donate to this organization.

http://www.daily-tribune.com/view/full_story/25218150/article-Parents--System-failed-defendant-in-molestation-case?

Also, read
comments from the parents involved and find out what they are trying to cover up - it is ridiculous!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Justice-for-the-Flowering-Branch-Victim/719553288067603?ref=br_tf

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of the upper crust of this organization. They have covered up crimes and put multiple children in danger, and then state that they protect children. I have no doubt there are some amazing volunteers there, but the gals at the top need to go.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 15, 2012

The shelter is a place where there are always needs to be met and if you sit and listen for a few minutes you can find out what they are, and if you watch the kids and how they are cared for, if you have any heart for kids at all you will want to meet some of those needs; It does not have to be big, just what you have the heart to do. Ive learned how to fix a screen door, hang pictures on the wall without having to find a stud in the wall just because it needed to be done and I had to ask how, and all the staff are glad to answer questions about what can and can not be done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers do dozens of things for us, from being CASA volunteers, mentoring kids at the shelter, bringing meals, fixing things, raising money, inviting us to speak about Child Abuse-- and on and on.