Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.333335
Write A Review
November 10, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 10, 2014

These guys are great and are a tremendous benefit to our community. Bartow County is very fortunate to have this organization.
November 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 6, 2014

Advocates gives kids a great atmosphere to transition from unhealthy to healthy homes. I whole heartily support them with my time and money.
November 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 6, 2014

This is an organization full of people who live to serve the children and families who need us most in our community. The staff and volunteers are selfless individuals who provide education, support, shelter and resources to those in need. Great organization, great cause, great people!
November 6, 2014

more

November 6, 2014

Is there a more noble profession than caring for GOD's children. Advocates care 24/7 for the beautiful children that need love, care and guidance. These guys have been serving this need for over 30 years! Way to go!
November 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 6, 2014

As a volunteer at Advocates for Children I felt that my roles, though small, were meaningful. The staff was dedicated and helpful.
November 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 6, 2014

Advocates is a wonderful organization providing much needed services to youth in our community.
November 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Such a great organization that goes above and beyond for the children of this community. Advocates For Children truly put the well being of children FIRST!! Thank you Advocates for all of your hard work and dedication to children and families.
June 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I will not be giving any more money to this organization until there are changes made at the Flowering Branch Children's Center. Yes, they have done incredible work in the community, but the problems with the center could be the apple that spoils the whole bunch. What bothers me is that I have been expecting a formal statement for a while now regarding all the news reports about a child being molested by another older child at the center, and they have been very tight-lipped. There are so many questions as to why they accepted a child that according to news reports many other homes would not accept and even though they were warned about how he could be a danger to others and himself, they did not protect the other children from him and the unthinkable happened. The biggest question is when this was reported to management at the center, why did they call the DFCS social worker and not the police? The news reports state that when the victim's mother was told by her son what happened over a phone call, she called the police.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Although it is a state law that they can call either the police or DFCS. I would like to see them make it a policy at Flowering Branch and other homes that when accusations of abuse are reported, the police are always called immediately. The DFCS social worker can also be called, but only after the report has been given to the police.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 12, 2014

We are truly blessed to have an organization that is dedicated to serving both children, and families, in Bartow County. Advocates' helps our community on all levels, whether it is educating new parents, housing children in their shelter, or counseling children who are grieving the loss of a parent or family member. This organization is vital to Bartow, because it serves as a platform in providing our youth with the necessary skills and resources to be the best that they can be, despite questionable and unfortunate circumstances that they may have experienced in their own upbringing. Advocates has been a staple in this community for 30 years now because of the extraordinary support that they have provided to our youth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful if this organization had the financial ability to expand and serve more children. It would also be a welcomed addition if they were to open up a transitional facility that could house children who have "aged-out" of the system.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been very concerned about this organization for a while now, but so much more so recently. There have been multiple news articles in regard to negligence of this organization - especially in reference to the unethical practices of Flowering Branch Childrens Home. It has been extremely concerning to hear and read what has been going on at Flowering Branch Childrens Home and the lack of medical care, general watchful oversight and proper care for these children there. I cannot help but wonder if something as serious as alleged child molestation is so easily covered up and swept under the rug by this organization then, what else is being covered up as well? It is just extremely concerning on multiple levels.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would think there needs to be some serious reorganizing and reassessing of this organization and it's staff on multiple levels.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers do dozens of things for us, from being CASA volunteers, mentoring kids at the shelter, bringing meals, fixing things, raising money, inviting us to speak about Child Abuse-- and on and on.