Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.833335
Write A Review
June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I am very pleased to introduce myself as one of the founding Board members of AFAM. It has been very rewarding to work with Ms. Lillian and Advocates for Adolescent Mothers. I strongly believe in AFAM’s mission and vision, which is why I have made significant contributions in the areas of fundraising and planning, and by hosting Board and committee meetings, as well as providing moral support in every way that I can. I joined AFAM’s Board because I want to help the organization accomplish its vision, which includes the creation of an evidence based supportive housing model which will be replicated nationally. The organization has made great accomplishments since 2009, including the Back to School Celebration, the Holiday Drive program, and the Educational Empowerment Grant. Advocates for Adolescent Mothers mission is very important to me because I to was a teen parent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would work to help it grow and make significant changes in the lives of these young ladies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I have had the privilege of working with the founder, and other board members within AFAM, over the past few months. In this time, I have been consistently inspired by the vision and desire that this team holds. At each meeting, I am motivated by the broad potential that this organization possesses towards reaching the goal of empowering young parents by providing them with the resources that they need to break the cycle of poverty. I am confident in the future success of this organization, and proud to be able to contribute to it regularly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I am working with AFAM as of September, 2013 and I can honestly say I've never seen any leader work with such focus, resilience and overall passion as Lillian. Her story is one that really touches your heart and makes you want to work harder because you can really feel how she's trying to impact others that are currently teen mothers through her work. There are many great things to come from AFAM and I am honored to be a part of the movement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I began working with AFAM (Advocates for Adolescent Mothers) recently after learning about the organization's founder and mission. AFAM's founder, Lillian Harris, is passionate about the organization she started and committed to helping young parents in Chicago. The organization interacts with the community on so many different levels and seeks to continue growing and helping young mothers even further. It's an honor to be involved with such an outstanding group.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

AFAM is a wonderful nonprofit organization committed to supporting young parents, helping them break the cycle of poverty and gain prosperity. It is a pleasure to work alongside the founder, Lillian Harris, whose experiences created this vision of support for teen parents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 4, 2011

The odds are against young men and women who have children at early ages. Many fail to realize that these young men and women are very resilient, and with proper support from the community and others ... more

March 26, 2012

Advocates for Adolescent Mothers exceeded all expectations in 2011, not only through the Back to School Celebration, advocating for young parents to return to school, but also through the Educational Empowerment Grant Initiative, an innovative and promising program providing financial and social support to young moms entering their first year of college, and also through our toy drive, providing toys to the children of homeless young mothers in Chicago at Christmas time.

Advocates for Adolescent Mothers has a targeted and strategic approach to accomplishing their mission of providing young parents with the tools, resources, and support needed to break the cycle of poverty. Although the Board is still growing, we are a very congealed team of professionals passionate about empowering young parents, and improving the welfare of their children: We have been able to accomplish much although we are small in number. In 2011, our accomplishments included the offering of 7 event experiences to our supporters, 4 successful fundraising campaigns, and the forging of 13 new partnerships.

Advocates for Adolescent Mothers embraces our identity as a social enterprise, in that all of the initiatives offered through the organization are funded by contributions from private donors and fundraising events/campaigns. Over the years, Advocates for Adolescent Mothers will continue to prove that we are more than a mere nonprofit organization and social enterprise, but Advocates for Adolescent Mothers is a MOVEMENT!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 4, 2011

The odds are against young men and women who have children at early ages. Many fail to realize that these young men and women are very resilient, and with proper support from the community and others who care, these young people can go on to become productive, well-rounded citizens.

At
Advocates for Adolescent Mothers, we firmly believe that young parents are not doomed to failure because they had a child at an early age. We are committed to empowering young parents, and providing them with the resources needed to break the cycle of poverty.

Education is one of the most effective weapons against poverty. Unfortunately, only 2 percent of teen mothers earn a college degree before 30. There are many barriers that inhibit young parents from returning to school, and/or completing and furthering their educations. Advocates for Adolescent Mothers continues to explore and implement strategies to address and conquer these barriers.

Although still in it's infancy, Advocates for Adolescent Mothers has a Board of Directors who are committed to the mission and vision of the Organization. Though they are few, AFAM's Board of Directors are effective, extremely productive, and genuinely concerned about the population of young parents and their children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their outreach, fundraising, and service to the community, especially through the Back to School Celebration.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

begin the housing program sooner rather than later.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist the organization with outreach, planning, marketing, and/or provide admin support; become a mentor, assist with event coordination and fundraising campaigns; and/or volunteer at the annual Holiday Drive. The volunteer opportunities are limitless!