Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

I joined Advocates for Adolescent Mothers(AFAM) in the Summer of 2011. Since then I have had multiple opportunities to share my story as a teen mom and student, as well as benefit from multiple opportunities with the organization. AFAM has provided parenting resources, which have helped promote a healthy relationship and development for my daughter and I. Additionally, through fundraising for AFAM and running in the Shamrock Shuffle this year, I was able to give back, increase my health, and complete my goals. Moreover, budgeting, goal setting, and vision board activities have helped me stay focused on my goals and plan for the future. Having another mom join in the workshops this year has given me the opportunity to share and listen to each other's stories; providing a richer experience. Most recently, I utilized a skit to address an issue with effective communication in my current job. As I was prepared, the conversation with my employer went smoothly, and I was able to express my concern effectively. AFAM has provided me with so many enriching opportunities, and I look forward to continuing involvement in AFAM and seeing it grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would provide workshops with more individuals and create more mentoring opportunities with members of the program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

This organization has not only helped me financially but also personally. After winning the scholarship from AFAM, I realized how lucky I am to be part of them. The workshops that I have to attend for my scholarship don't feel like any other workshop, I feel a personal connection with other moms and realize that I'm not the only one and I don't stand alone. AFAM has helped me become a better mom and a better person with all the information I receive in the workshops.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stick to a specific location that is in the middle of everyone attending the workshop.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I wanted to take this time to thank Advocates for Adolescent Mothers for choosing me to receive this award. With the money I have received, my daughter and I have been able to visit our family in Chicago. This is extremely important to me because I want my daughter to know her family, and I believe that family should stay connected. Also, it means a lot that my mom can see her granddaughter grow up. Besides immediate family, we have other supportive loved ones in Chicago, and it good to see them as well. When we visit, I am motivated even more to continue my educational and personal goals. So I thank all of my supporters who are survivors and know, just as I do, that there is no other option but success. I thank those who advocate for teen parents continuing in college and know the significance of their fights in a teen’s life. As a teen mother, I know that many other teen parents will benefit from this program. Furthermore, based on the impact this organization has had on my family so far, I definitely believe there should be more agencies like it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 26, 2012

Advocates for Adolecent Mothers is a wonderful organization helping teens moms from all walks of life. I'm a former teen mom myself and I didn't have many resources at the time that would help you fin... more

October 17, 2012

It is a privilege to work with an organization who genuinely cares about making a change in society. Especially when it comes to our youth...after all the youth are the future snd AFAM is making sure that young parents are well equipped and empowered to take on the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012

Advocates for Adolecent Mothers is a wonderful organization helping teens moms from all walks of life. I'm a former teen mom myself and I didn't have many resources at the time that would help you find housing, encourage you to continue school and even share their own real life experiences to let you know people care and you can make it despite all odds. The founder Lillian Harris even took the time to talk to my daughter about her options for college,financial aid and my daughter isn't a teen mom. Ms. Harris genuinely has a heart for the youth. In this time and day, we really need more people like the ones at Advocates for Adolecent Mothers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist the organization with outreach, planning, marketing, and/or provide admin support; become a mentor, assist with event coordination and fundraising campaigns; and/or volunteer at the annual Holiday Drive. The volunteer opportunities are limitless!