Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.833335
Write A Review
June 14, 2014

more

June 14, 2014

I have worked with AFAM for over 8 years doing back to school health fairs for young women and children. It was a pleasure working with such a strong independent, leader and outspoken person of AFAM I hope her and her organization for helping young women with children reach the highest milestone for years to come...May god bless

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

My name is Dorsey Smith. I and several of the girls from my own group have had the pleasure of serving as volunteers for AFAM. I am always impressed with Lillian's dedication and commitment to the young women that she serves. We have volunteered during the back to school drive and most recently during her Christmas wrapping drive. Lillian has also been so gracious as to offer us tickets to see the Chicago Sky games. The services that AFAM provide are desperately needed and so is the impassioned leadership that Lillian has proven to supply. I look forward to many endeavors with them in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 1, 2014

more

June 1, 2014

As a volunteer with Advocates for Adolescent Mothers I have found that the organization to be focused and authentic in it's advocacy for, education of, and service to adolescent moms. It has been rewarding to work with AFAM because they have afforded me the opportunity to serve in an area that I am extremely passionate about.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help them build the relationships required for a more substance financial base with the objective of extending their outreach and service to more adolescent mothers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I have had the pleasure of working with AFAM during last years Toy Drive!! The energy was amazing, and the work even more amazing. Lillian pushes her Board members and volunteers to reach the goal for the organization. She expects so much from the people on her team because she knows that together we can work to provide for the mothers and children the organization services. This organization will continue to do great things in the lives of young mothers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I have had the distinct privileged of knowing Lillian personally since high school. I have had the amazing opportunity to watch her success story as she overcame the struggles of being a teen mom and has made it her life mission to help others facing the same situation. I have been fortunate enough to have volunteer for Advocates for Adolescent Mothers in the finance realm and have attended numerous events. I have watched the events, as well as the organization, grow and have seen the impact the organization has had firsthand. The Holiday Toy Drive and Skylight Luncheon are two of my favorite annual events. It is so rewarding to see the impact Lillian and the organization have made as young women tell their story and explain how they battled adversity to achieve educational success which will help them provide a better life for their child. I have enjoyed contributing to the organization because it is so evident how necessary such an organization is today. I have found Lillian and the organization to be inspirational and uplifting. It is so refreshing to see an organization that prides itself on empowerment and a positive attitude. I fully endorse AFAM as a wonderful organization that affords wonderful opportunities to mothers and children who might otherwise not achieve such success.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

I have volunteered for Advocates for Adolescent Mothers off and on for a few years now and I think that this program is one of the best in it's kind. It gives young woman hope, reliable resources, and mentorship that will allow them to be most effective in there journey as young parents and in continuing there education. We need more programs like this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that it was more publicized, so that more young women can benefit from it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

AFAM founder Lillian Harris identifies with her clients because she has been where they are. Her dedication and commitment to helping her clients is genuine and sincere. This organization mentors, guides, motivates, and cultivates an environment of achievement and self-determination. Lillian is an kind, passionate, and professional leader. I endorse this organization without any reservation!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 26, 2012

Advocates for Adolecent Mothers is a wonderful organization helping teens moms from all walks of life. I'm a former teen mom myself and I didn't have many resources at the time that would help you fin... more

October 17, 2012

It is a privilege to work with an organization who genuinely cares about making a change in society. Especially when it comes to our youth...after all the youth are the future snd AFAM is making sure that young parents are well equipped and empowered to take on the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012

Advocates for Adolecent Mothers is a wonderful organization helping teens moms from all walks of life. I'm a former teen mom myself and I didn't have many resources at the time that would help you find housing, encourage you to continue school and even share their own real life experiences to let you know people care and you can make it despite all odds. The founder Lillian Harris even took the time to talk to my daughter about her options for college,financial aid and my daughter isn't a teen mom. Ms. Harris genuinely has a heart for the youth. In this time and day, we really need more people like the ones at Advocates for Adolecent Mothers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

The emotional support, monetary help , and knowledge that AFAM provides is like no other I have seen. Lillian Harris's vision is unprecedented and relentless. The adolescent girls of today are in dire need for this type of organization. Lillian leads by example and first hand knowledge and with this being said the girls are in super hands.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I have volunteered twice for Advocates for Adolescent Mothers, and both times i volunteered it was amazing. i feel that Advocates for Adolescent Mothers is great because it is helping young moms get out of poverty, and it helps the young moms take care of their children. My mom created Advocates for Adolescent Mothers and she is a great mom to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist the organization with outreach, planning, marketing, and/or provide admin support; become a mentor, assist with event coordination and fundraising campaigns; and/or volunteer at the annual Holiday Drive. The volunteer opportunities are limitless!