Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.833335
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

This organization has not only helped me financially but also personally. After winning the scholarship from AFAM, I realized how lucky I am to be part of them. The workshops that I have to attend for my scholarship don't feel like any other workshop, I feel a personal connection with other moms and realize that I'm not the only one and I don't stand alone. AFAM has helped me become a better mom and a better person with all the information I receive in the workshops.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stick to a specific location that is in the middle of everyone attending the workshop.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I have had the pleasure of working with AFAM during last years Toy Drive!! The energy was amazing, and the work even more amazing. Lillian pushes her Board members and volunteers to reach the goal for the organization. She expects so much from the people on her team because she knows that together we can work to provide for the mothers and children the organization services. This organization will continue to do great things in the lives of young mothers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I have had the privilege of working with the founder, and other board members within AFAM, over the past few months. In this time, I have been consistently inspired by the vision and desire that this team holds. At each meeting, I am motivated by the broad potential that this organization possesses towards reaching the goal of empowering young parents by providing them with the resources that they need to break the cycle of poverty. I am confident in the future success of this organization, and proud to be able to contribute to it regularly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I am working with AFAM as of September, 2013 and I can honestly say I've never seen any leader work with such focus, resilience and overall passion as Lillian. Her story is one that really touches your heart and makes you want to work harder because you can really feel how she's trying to impact others that are currently teen mothers through her work. There are many great things to come from AFAM and I am honored to be a part of the movement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I began working with AFAM (Advocates for Adolescent Mothers) recently after learning about the organization's founder and mission. AFAM's founder, Lillian Harris, is passionate about the organization she started and committed to helping young parents in Chicago. The organization interacts with the community on so many different levels and seeks to continue growing and helping young mothers even further. It's an honor to be involved with such an outstanding group.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I have had the distinct privileged of knowing Lillian personally since high school. I have had the amazing opportunity to watch her success story as she overcame the struggles of being a teen mom and has made it her life mission to help others facing the same situation. I have been fortunate enough to have volunteer for Advocates for Adolescent Mothers in the finance realm and have attended numerous events. I have watched the events, as well as the organization, grow and have seen the impact the organization has had firsthand. The Holiday Toy Drive and Skylight Luncheon are two of my favorite annual events. It is so rewarding to see the impact Lillian and the organization have made as young women tell their story and explain how they battled adversity to achieve educational success which will help them provide a better life for their child. I have enjoyed contributing to the organization because it is so evident how necessary such an organization is today. I have found Lillian and the organization to be inspirational and uplifting. It is so refreshing to see an organization that prides itself on empowerment and a positive attitude. I fully endorse AFAM as a wonderful organization that affords wonderful opportunities to mothers and children who might otherwise not achieve such success.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

AFAM is a wonderful nonprofit organization committed to supporting young parents, helping them break the cycle of poverty and gain prosperity. It is a pleasure to work alongside the founder, Lillian Harris, whose experiences created this vision of support for teen parents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

Advocates for Adolescent Mothers is an organization dedicated to providing mentor-ship and resources to young mothers. I find it greatly encouraging that this organization seeks to uplift those parents, and through counseling and workshop help prevent the incursion of debt that seems to inhibit young parents from succeeding. AMFAM helps break down the barriers that would impede the progression of these valuable young minds and instigates potential, something that is DESPERATELY needed in today's society.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

I have volunteered for Advocates for Adolescent Mothers off and on for a few years now and I think that this program is one of the best in it's kind. It gives young woman hope, reliable resources, and mentorship that will allow them to be most effective in there journey as young parents and in continuing there education. We need more programs like this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that it was more publicized, so that more young women can benefit from it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

AFAM founder Lillian Harris identifies with her clients because she has been where they are. Her dedication and commitment to helping her clients is genuine and sincere. This organization mentors, guides, motivates, and cultivates an environment of achievement and self-determination. Lillian is an kind, passionate, and professional leader. I endorse this organization without any reservation!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist the organization with outreach, planning, marketing, and/or provide admin support; become a mentor, assist with event coordination and fundraising campaigns; and/or volunteer at the annual Holiday Drive. The volunteer opportunities are limitless!