Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.864865
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 26, 2012

Advocates for Adolecent Mothers is a wonderful organization helping teens moms from all walks of life. I'm a former teen mom myself and I didn't have many resources at the time that would help you fin... more

October 17, 2012

It is a privilege to work with an organization who genuinely cares about making a change in society. Especially when it comes to our youth...after all the youth are the future snd AFAM is making sure that young parents are well equipped and empowered to take on the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012

Advocates for Adolecent Mothers is a wonderful organization helping teens moms from all walks of life. I'm a former teen mom myself and I didn't have many resources at the time that would help you find housing, encourage you to continue school and even share their own real life experiences to let you know people care and you can make it despite all odds. The founder Lillian Harris even took the time to talk to my daughter about her options for college,financial aid and my daughter isn't a teen mom. Ms. Harris genuinely has a heart for the youth. In this time and day, we really need more people like the ones at Advocates for Adolecent Mothers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

I am pleased to support AFAM because of the passion and dedication of the founder, Lillian Harris. The same drive and determination that catapulted Lillian from a struggling and sometimes homeless adolescent mother to a social worker with a master's degree from one of the world's most renowned universities is what propels this organization forward. Consistently. Lillian gives openly and generously from her heart. She's walked in the shoes of the teens in her program. And she is laser-focused on empowering and inspiring them to be great mothers, and supporting them against any obstacles that could impede them from continuing their education.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

There are so many amazing reviews of AFAM as an organization (all of which I agree with 100%) that I want to take a minute and talk about its founder - Lillian Harris. I met Ms. Harris at a conference earlier this year and was blown away by her passion, courage, and determination. She is as wonderful a person as she is a leader. There are a lot of great non-profits out there but it is rare that you find an organization with a great mission, great services, AND an awe-inspiring leader! Kudos to AFAM. I wish them continued success in all that they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

Advocates for Adolescent Mothers is a wonderful resource for teenage moms to excel in their futures! I love the fact that they have a scholarship program, which can truly impact the direction in which a teen mom will take when considering how she will pursue a higher education. I am excited to see how this organization will grow long-term!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

Advocates for Adolescent Mothers is a breath of fresh air for teen moms! I was blessed to have lunch with the founder Ms. Lillian Harris & she is God sent! Her compassion & positive enegy is contaigious. I left wanting to be apart of AFAM. I believe that same spirit that flows through the founder is flowing through AFAM. I give this organization an easy 5 stars. I stand behind the mission of Empowering Teen Moms. I look forward to volunteering in the very near future!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

AFM is a breathe of fresh air to a subject that is in great need. In a day were teen pregenancy is at an all time high as well as being indorsed by through networks and their shows, an organization which attacks the issue in the way it is needed to the community is God sent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

AFAM is an outstanding organization with demonstrated commitment to young mothers and the challenges they face. The programs and fundraising events sponsored by AFAM are truly wonderful. I donated to this organization because I believe in the work that they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

The emotional support, monetary help , and knowledge that AFAM provides is like no other I have seen. Lillian Harris's vision is unprecedented and relentless. The adolescent girls of today are in dire need for this type of organization. Lillian leads by example and first hand knowledge and with this being said the girls are in super hands.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

AFAM is a great nonprofit organization for teen mothers. Teen pregnancy can be a burden both mentally and socially. Words can’t begin to express the guidance and support that is offered through the leaders of this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I wanted to take this time to thank Advocates for Adolescent Mothers for choosing me to receive this award. With the money I have received, my daughter and I have been able to visit our family in Chicago. This is extremely important to me because I want my daughter to know her family, and I believe that family should stay connected. Also, it means a lot that my mom can see her granddaughter grow up. Besides immediate family, we have other supportive loved ones in Chicago, and it good to see them as well. When we visit, I am motivated even more to continue my educational and personal goals. So I thank all of my supporters who are survivors and know, just as I do, that there is no other option but success. I thank those who advocate for teen parents continuing in college and know the significance of their fights in a teen’s life. As a teen mother, I know that many other teen parents will benefit from this program. Furthermore, based on the impact this organization has had on my family so far, I definitely believe there should be more agencies like it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist the organization with outreach, planning, marketing, and/or provide admin support; become a mentor, assist with event coordination and fundraising campaigns; and/or volunteer at the annual Holiday Drive. The volunteer opportunities are limitless!